We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smells like the Fair” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bell's Better Burger

Bell's Better Burger
Ranked #12 of 240 Restaurants in Mesquite
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Mesquite, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Smells like the Fair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

For those in the DFW area remember the smells around the midway with tall the food? We had dinner here tonight and this is what it reminded me of. We have eaten here for years and have never had a bad meal. Tonight's menu was a Texas Burger w/cheese and onion rings, and a Chicken Strip basket with fries. And before anything is said about me being a big my wife and I split the meal. So I had half of what is probably one of my favorite burgers. To quote one of my favorite shows, 'The burger has the perfect bun to cheese to condiments to meat ratio." In other words it is really good. The onion rings are the best around and the fries are good. Oh yea we added fried pickles as well. So so summarize I am full and happy. As noted in other reviews this is an old drive-in that still has carhops, and the staff is wonderful. If you find yourself around Lake June and Peachtree it is well worth the time to stop and eat.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RWLloyd56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    10
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not as good as it use to be”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Not as good as they use to be but if you want a good old fashion burger then bells is the place to go . You have to have a stomach to Handel the chili but it works lol

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“BuRgErS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Love the food here! We have been eating here for years. Never disappointed with them. I remember going when I was a kid and I love taking my kids by when we are in town. Just a nice little drive in for the whole family to enjoy... but nothing fancy!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1234travel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
191 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Over Rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Based on the reviews from TripAdvisor, I decided to try their burgers. It really is an older drive-in with a carhop. I found the reviews very confusing. The onion rings were served cold with no taste at all. The Big Tex Burger was better than McDonalds but way below Whataburger. Tasted like a DQ burger. Very average. Don't seek them out. Not that special!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Impressive Burger!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Nothing fancy here, but the burgers are fantastic. I am a big 5 Guys fan and this may be a tie, if not better in my opinion. If you are in the area do yourself a favor and stop by and get one of the "Texan" burgers with cheese. This is a must do!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tmtrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bell's Better Burger also viewed

 

Been to Bell's Better Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing