We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steak House in Mesquite”

Saltgrass Steak House
Ranked #3 of 245 Restaurants in Mesquite
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Forney, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Steak House in Mesquite”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We go to Saltgrass several times a year and just love the atmosphere and good food, with many offerings for steak, chicken, seafood, etc. The service is wonderful and they put a pitcher of iced tea on the table so you can filler up without having to wait on a server. Their toppings for steak are just great and the baked potatoes are hot and just baked.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KMcKay1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    29
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“1st Timer”
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

This place is not a Mortons or Ruth Chris steakhouse but it beats the tar out of Applebee's or Outback any day. The food was good, service was just as good, and for what we paid it's worth a trip. Nice place for a casual dinner with friends or family.

Helpful?
Thank nawlins1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seagoville, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

My husband and I used to LOVE Saltgrass Steak House. We hadn't been in awhile and thought we would try it again. From the music being too loud for conversation (we asked them to turn it down but they didn't) to the steaks being overcooked, to the waiter who disappeared for half an hour, it was a very disappointing experience. And their food is horribly overpriced. We won't go back to that restaurant.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ih82work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“good food...hurry up waitress...”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

loved the food...but our waitress couldn't wait to get rid of us...we got rolls, salad and entree within a minute of each other!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank mdenning1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Try it, you won't be disappointed”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

After eating at Saltgrass about three years ago, it has become a favorite of mine. During this visit I had ordered the 12oz Pat's Ribeye and my girlfriend ordered the 8oz Cattleman's Prime Rib. We both prefer our temperature to be medium rare and both cuts were cooked perfectly. The ribeye was juicy, tender, and flavorful, as was the prime rib. We have visited many chain steakhouse restaurants and Saltgrass is definitely the best.

We ordered a house margarita and it was tasty, priced fare, and was a decent size for the amount of money. I don't recall how much, but I think it was between $5 - $7.

Anyone who enjoys a great steak, I would recommend to try Saltgrass at least once, you may be hooked just like me.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rynsgr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltgrass Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Saltgrass Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing