We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best croissants in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Metzingen
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best croissants in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

Stayed there for business! Deluxe rooms are ok! Breakfast is excellent

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheZoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    128
    45
    8
    5
See reviews for
56
140
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
208 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Everytime I come in Metzingen the Hotel is always The Schwanen.
The Hotel is perfect with cleaning rooms but It is a pity you cannot find the shampoo and the standard accessories in the bath room. It is a pleasure the bistrot in the evening and the breakfast is fantastic. I would like to reccomend it 100%.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paolo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Service is very customer oriented... hotel is graded 4stars but really rooms are not 4 stars at all. Bar is excellent. small dishes and good quality

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheZoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights. This was my 3rd visit. We had the Junior suite. We asked to change the room as it was very hot and it did not have airconditioning. The staff were wonderful and gave us 2 options of other rooms. We chose the room with the better (but not great) internet wifi. My only complaint is that rooms are too hot in summer and need aircon, and high spped internet, especially for the business traveller. The breakfast was wonderful, the bear garden was fantastic. The service is very attentive. Besides the internet and airconditioning tho only item that I think would give the place 10 out of 10 would be in house movies for when the outlet centre is closed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AR1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

This is a good hotel, with clean rooms, friendly staff and good facilities. The breakfast was outstanding, and very good value for money, and there is a delightful terrace/garden where you can relax and enjoy a drink from the very reasonably priced bar.

You are given a voucher on arrival which entitles you to a free drink in the bar.

The rooms are clean and well furnished, and once I figured out how to turn the AC on, I had a good nights sleep,

My only slight criticism is the lack of free wifi and the cost of obtaining access via wifi in the rooms. This is however a minor issue.

The staff were all exceptionally friendly and welcoming, and I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToscatheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

This hotel has really nice rooms, which have a pretty cool design. Everything was clean and the restaurant was good as well.
It is located in walking distance to the outlet stores and hence it's the perfect basis for shopping in Metzingen.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xabbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

We have visited Metzingen frequently and have tried other hotels in the past, the Schwanen is far superior to anywher else we have tried. This was our third experience of the hotel and if anything it has continued to improve. Truly a friendly and efficient family run hotel and restaurant that provides excellent service, great dining and a welcome that the chain hotels so often claim and rarely provide. Excellent buffet breakfast. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beacongva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Metzingen
3.8 mi away
Achalm Hotel
Achalm Hotel
#1 of 10 in Reutlingen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Bohn
Hotel Restaurant Bohn
#2 of 5 in Metzingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Graf Eberhard
Hotel Graf Eberhard
#1 of 8 in Bad Urach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Am Schlossberg
6.3 mi away
Gasthof Landhotel Hirsch
Gasthof Landhotel Hirsch
#1 of 1 in Sankt Johann
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
6.0 mi away
Flair Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen

Property: Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen
Address: Bei der Martinskirche 10, 72555 Metzingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Metzingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Metzingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotel.de, HRS, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Schwanen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schwanen Hotel Metzingen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing