We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good variety of food and nice location”
Review of Seegartle

Seegartle
Ranked #8 of 117 Restaurants in Boblingen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good variety of food and nice location”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We have had several good meals here over the last couple years and always enjoyed the food. They serve breakfast all day as well as a good variety of local and American style food. The seasonal soups are very good. Schnitzel is one of my favorites as well as the grilled chicken chiabati sandwich. Popular with locals as well as many Americans. Nice outdoor seating in the summer located near the town center and pond.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JFG_JRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    41
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Food, Good Service”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The location is one of the best in Böblingen, right on the edge of the Über See, or Upper Lake. The inside of the restaurant is nicely decorated in the modern German style and feels warm and welcoming. There is no restaurant owned parking.

The food is fresh and generally well prepared. The menu offers traditional German fare with an emphasis on fresh, healthy, options. Unfortunately there is nothing on the everyday menu that really stands out, it's all about average.

There is one exception, particularly for Americans. Seegartle offers a great American/European breakfast menu with optional unlimited coffee refills. The breakfast is spot on, a good value, and always good. By far my favorite big-breakfast spot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Food_Savor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful location with great food and friendly service”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a wonderful little cafe right on the water. The food is great and the staff is very friendly. Lovely spot to enjoy an afternoon or evening outdoors.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bucketlisters202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“People watching, light fare, delicious and welcoming”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Hubby and I were discussing Seegaertle today on our way back to work after a nice lunch in their beer garden. It doesn't appear to be a chain, but has a steady stream of good specials that are well-prepared.
My current (and it's a summer special only) favorite, perhaps addiction is a better word, is the Pastrami Sandwich. It looks as if someone traveled to New York, looked around and decided that they should bring the pastrami sandwich back to BBN. Rye bread, an American-style pile of meat, melted cheese and caesar sauce make this sandwich irresistible to me. Euro 10.xx makes it pricey but the quality makes it worth the money. A big bowl of fries (the bowl and the serving method reminds me of diners in NY) rounds out the dish. I've never been able to finish the sandwich, much less eat many fries.
Today DH had a Huftsteak with pfifferlingen sauce. The meat was a touch overdone, but the chanterelles were lovely and there were enough of them to enjoy the flavor.
The grapefruit schorle and a naturtrueb beer rounded out our meals, and we paid about Eur 28 for all.
Now I just have to wait my self-imposed 2 weeks before I can go back for another sandwich. I'm gonna miss it when it's gone.
We had what seemed to be a rather inexperienced server, but it went ok. She was very nice in any case.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location in downtown BB”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is a local restaurant serving German cuisine. The food is good, but I would not called it traditional German food. While the menu serves traditional German dishes, each dish has a little spin on it. The service is friendly, the prices are reasonable. Serves a nice brunch as well.

The best thing about this restaurant is its location. It is located on one of the lakes and has a very nice outdoor seating that is crowded, yet festive and fun, on nice sunny days. During major German sporting event, the restaurant sets up a big TV outdoor for viewing.

Helpful?
Thank gnftr66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seegartle also viewed

Boblingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
Boblingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Boblingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
Boblingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Seegartle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing