We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For those who like active way of life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fischen im Allgau
Certificate of Excellence
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
529 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“For those who like active way of life”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

(+) The Explorer hotel is an excellent choice for those who like skiing, snowboarding, hiking and mountain biking. It is located not far from Oberstdorf skiing resort. If you like walking, it would take you 20-30 minutes from the center of Oberstdorf to Explorer. If you don't like walking, take a taxi for 10-11 euro. The personnel in the hotel is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is excellent. You can rent a mountain bike in the hotel. I would recommend to go to a canyon that is 1 hour away on foot. The room was cozy and clean. We liked a window in the roof that you can open.

(-) Wi-Fi in the room was not available in most of the cases when I wanted to login. It gave a weird error that too many users are using internet.

Room Tip: 1308 is a good one with a window in the roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shimnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anbieter, Manager at Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hello Dear Guest,

thank you for your positive feedback.

We are very pleased that you like the sports facilities that make our concept for the hotel so special and underline. In addition, we are very happy about the fact that it is possible for us as employees to be able to make your holiday enjoyable. With details in the rooms and around the hotel's we would love to create a feel-good ambience.

Sorry that the internet did not work particularly well. You are welcome to then come to us at the reception and we will help you to login. As soon as too many guests are logged in on the internet, it´s getting slower. For such cases we have to dial
so-called "tickets" to sic on another account into the WLAN.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look
forward to welcoming you back with us soon.


Yours
Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    41
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
42
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed at Explorer Hotel with my ski team when we were in Oberstdorf for the IPC World Cup in January 2014. I will list the pluses and minuses of my stay:

Pluses
-The rooms are fairly spacious with a modern design and comfortable beds. Lot of clothes pegs on the walls where you can hang wet clothes to dry.
-There is a great "spa" offering a sauna, steamroom and infrared sauna, which were kept hot all the time and were great for recovery after a day of racing.
-The hiking/running trails around the hotel were great for walking into town and going for an early morning jog.
-The breakfast offered a lot of choices and good food.
-Good wi-fi included in rooms

Minuses
-Lack of storage - there were no drawers in the room, making it impossible to unpack your bag.
-No restaurant onsite - the only option closeby was McDonald's.
-Our room wasn't cleaned until the last day of our stay.
-Location - outside of town, so nothing in the immediate vecinity except McDonald's.

Overall, our stay was good and the staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to others depending on the purpose of their trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xcskigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anbieter, Manager at Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hello Dear Guest,
thank you for your detailed review of our range on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased that we, in terms of amenities, the spa area
the diversity of recreational opportunities and the breakfast food could score points with you.

It´s possible to drive to Oberstdorf, through our direct bus in front of the house.
There is a wide choice of restaurants with really delicious cuisine. We are happy to advise you in detail at your next stay.

Regarding the non-purified room we would like to apologize very much, of course.
This must not happen naturally. In such events, we would like to ask you, to relate to our reception directly.
We will then failure to clean up as soon as possible.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look
forward to welcoming you back with us soon.

Yours
Alexandra
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Great concept around outdoor sport activity, with the ability to hire lockers for your equipment or some equipment itself. The provision of a spa area with sauna (and gym) is a great way to relax and rewind after a active day. I loved the flexible room design concept and the use of rough wood panels. I believe the building is designed around the passive house concept which is another great plus. Staff were extremely helpful, friendly and more than accommodating. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloud76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anbieter, Manager at Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hello Dear Guest,
thank you for your very positive review on Trip Advisor. We are particularly pleased, that you are so excited of our overall concept.

We have come up with some leave to offer to you through creative tricks a special comfort.
And yes, you are right, the Explorer Hotel is built in passive house style. It can therefore be
not only to save energy, our resources can be used optimally.

This is our contribution to a healthy environment. It is always gratifying that
also the not so obvious things one or the other guest "fall into the eye."

We are already looking forward, to welcome you again soon.

Yours
Alexandra
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pordenone, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is new and nice. The rooms have modern furniture and are comfortable. Staff at the reception very friendly but not the same that at the "restaurant" or snack bar that replaces it, in fact there is no real restaurant at the hotel, and the snack bar has limited offering.
For families the location is really nice and they offer several options, like mountain bikes rental and a nice playground for kids. All in all a nice place if you don't care about going downtown to find a restaurant to have lunch and dinner. Breakfast instead is really varied. Rooms are not exactly very cheap.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sergiobuonanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anbieter, Manager at Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hello dear Guest.
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
Your right, we do not have a restaurant in the hotel. Also you can use the Dine-Around-Pass (3 Dinners in 4 possibility restaurants in Oberstdorf). The receptionist show you the best restaurants in Oberstdorf.
We try to make that you enjoy your days in Oberstdorf.
Best regards
The Explorer Hotels Team
Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

If you think location is important when you choose an hotel, you will want to double check before you choose this one. Fancy hearing every drive-in order repeated on the loudspeaker of the local McDonald's ? You'll get it. Want to be able to count every car entering Obersdorf ? You'll be in a commanding position, less than an hundred from the bridge to town (mind, the railways tracks are not very much farther). Those two feats can be achieved on your 40cm wide balcony (no chair in the room for that matter: just where could you put it ?). Do it yourself is the motto of the place : go and find your tumbler in the sauna room, prepare your own omelette. A rather daring concept when they charge you up to 100 Euros per night at peak dates. And do not trust a bill that waives a charge: you'll get it nethertheless on your credit card before you reach home

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFCJRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anbieter, Manager at Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

The location of the Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf is such that our guests have the bike trails and the hiking trails right from the doorstep.

Too bad that you enjoy our fresh design concept like no budget, in which the guest can try it for yourself as well as times (such as myself fry eggs, potter working on his bike, etc .....). We have deliberately left out some things in the bathroom such as the disposable toothbrush cup - "the environment's sake." On request, glasses at the bar which you can then use as a tumbler.

Our trendy Explorer rooms have plenty of space to relax. The highlight is the cozy window seat with cushions. The rooms are very functional with lots of shelves, hooks, shelves and cabinets - perfect for guests who come with a lot of sports equipment to us.

Our prices in the Explorer Hotel is very simple structure, we differ depending on the season, midweek and weekend. (From € 39.80 you can already book a night with us.) Let me out - reminiscent of advertising!

Thank you for looking at the Explorer Hotel, we wish you continued Happy.

Alexandra and the entire Team Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fischen im Allgau
1.2 mi away
Sonnenbichl Hotel am Rotfischbach
Sonnenbichl Hotel am Rotfischbac...
#6 of 11 in Fischen im Allgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Rosenstock
Hotel Rosenstock
#2 of 11 in Fischen im Allgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.9 mi away
Berghotel Maderhalm
Berghotel Maderhalm
#7 of 11 in Fischen im Allgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Oberstdorf
Hotel Oberstdorf
#11 of 48 in Oberstdorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bergruh
Hotel Bergruh
#1 of 48 in Oberstdorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#5 of 11 in Fischen im Allgau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf

Property: Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf
Address: An der Breitach 3 | bei Oberstdorf, 87538 Fischen im Allgau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fischen im Allgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fischen im Allgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The design hotel Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf is a trendy budget hotel with a casual and relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorer Hotel Oberstdorf Germany/Fischen Im Allgau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing