We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3rd Time at Hotel Du Bourg” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Bourg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Bourg
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Valmorel
Certificate of Excellence
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“3rd Time at Hotel Du Bourg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from Valmorel and stayed at Hotel Du Bourg. This was our 3rd visit, and like the other two times it was fantastic. Bruno the owner makes you very welcome. The rooms are very comfortable and cosy. The hotel is a very short walk to 2 ski lifts. Everything is on your doorstep. A small intermate resort with lots of charm. Will be returning again next year as we have made lots of great friends here, who also choose this lovely hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PatCoppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    107
    25
    15
    2
See reviews for
90
115
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

This was my family's first visit to Valmorel for a ski holiday (April 2012) and we stayed at the Hotel du Bourg which is a good location from which to access the slopes as well as being ideal for the bars and restaurants, all are within a 5-10 min walk. The hotel is clean, comfortable and has a pub and ski/boot room. The breakfast was continental style with possibly the best croissants and coffee we have ever had! Our room had great views of the mountains and came with an LCD television. The bathroom is functional (so not the biggest space) but has a full size bath so ideal for easing aching muscles after a ski session! The room had plenty of storage space (wardrobes) to fit your clothes. However, the best feature of the hotel is the owner (Bruno) who is the most welcoming and friendly hotelier you could ever hope for. Bruno made sure our visit was relaxed and enjoyable and his presence made our holiday even more special - merci Bruno! A great location for both the winter ski season or the summer walking season! We will definitely return to this hotel because Bruno's hospitality made our holiday one of the best we have had.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Niraj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

We have now stayed at the Hotel for the last six years. The hotel is in a brilliant location in the village, easy access to the slopes, bars, restaurants and shops. It has a sauna and good rooms for skiing holidays. Breakfast is good with a large choice of continental fayre. The hotel is very warm, beds are comfortable and some rooms have great views from the balcony. Storage for skiing equipment is excellent. The bar is fantastic, very cosy with a big open fire and the best hot chocolate, good atmosphere too. The owner (Bruno) is a real gentleman and is very helpful in all circumstances. A person who cares about his customers, hence, the fact we will be returning to the hotel again next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

We have stayed at the Du Bourg for the last 4 years and have just booked again for another week in January.
Great central location, clean rooms, excellent breakfast, friendly staff. The owner Bruno always remembers us and is very welcoming.
Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boopboopdedoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel du Bourg through Crystal Holidays on a late deal. It would have been expensive for what it is had we paid full price. The hotel is b&b only and the continental breakfast is good. There was no hot option but that was fine for us. Our room was fairly small but adequate with enough storage space & a comfortable double bed. We had a view overlooking the piste coming into the village. The tv had the BBC World service news channel.
The hotel is right in the centre of a lovely picturesque village and its a short walk to the ski lift in the morning and evening. The hotel manager was friendly enough but I thought the other staff could have smiled a bit more and made us feel more welcome. It is a very French town & some people do not speak any English.
The best restaurant in town was The Marmite - situated below the hotel. We found we needed to book a table. It did get very busy some nights but its worth it for the great food and fab ice cream!
I would say this is a great base to use for a skiing holiday in Valmorel. Beware the restaurant prices in France seem higher than Italy for example and you need to eat out every night.
The ski area is mainly blue runs so could be great for beginners. We didnt have the best skiing conditions but it did snow whilst we were there which vastly improved conditions. The ski run into town remained very bare in places due to it being in the sun most of the day and snow melting.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWPresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

We have just returned from a weeks skiing in Valmorel, based at the Hotel Du Bourg. The hotel is pretty , located in the centre of a very a quaint village. The rooms are in need of a revamp, but they are spacious, lots of storage space for your ski gear, they are warm, ther is a tv (BBC World News), bathroom is small, but adequate, there is no hairdryer, so take your own. Bed was comfortable. The communal areas are nicely done out, lovely breakfast room. Breakfast is continental, fresh croissants and lovely fresh bread, fruit, cereal, juce, tea, coffee , eggs. NIce little bar, with open fire, wonderful Hot Chocolate menu. There is a ski/boot room, not posh, but it is dry and warm. The manager of the hotel is extremely friendly and welcoming. There is nice outside area, with table and chairs, and is quite a sun trap in the afternoon. They do advertise a Sauna and Spa, must admit, I didn't go looking for either. Internet and Wi-Fi is available at a cost. Some lovely restaurants in the Village, in particular, La Marmite , La Table du Berger ,, Ski Roc and a very good Mexican. Plenty of shops, cafes, restaurants and ATM machines along the cobbled street, The 4 man chair is about 50m away, and 50m to your right is a People mover, which takes you to the ESF meeting area, and a gondola. This runs up to 11.30 at night.
The resort is very French, not many English there. Although English was spoken well by the locals. Quite a few mountain restaurants, but not that many towards the ski area of St Francois . Mostly a 'blue' run are, with a reasonable lift system. Only negative was the noise outside late at night. But I wouldn't put anyone off going to this lovely little Hotel, or resort.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WirralLady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

Just returned from a weeks skiing in Valmorel, based at the lovely Hotel Du Bourg. The hotel in itself is quaint and wonderfully located, in the centre of the rather picturesque village. While the rooms are probably in need of updating, they are warm, with balconies overlooking the mountains, a tv with access to the BBC world service, lovely deep baths (perfect after a long days skiing), and comfortable beds. Shutters are provided on the windows to close out both the cold and the noise from outside, and we slept well every night, Breakfast is continental, with wonderful coffee and fresh croissants... a perfect start to a day of exercise. The manager of the hotel is friendly and welcoming, and was more than happy to direct us to a ski hire shop beneath the hotel (with 30% off hire prices for mentioning his name). Beneath the hotel there are two wonderful restaurants- the La Marmite (great duck and steaks) and the fabulous La Table du Berger (service excellent, French cooking even better- the snails are heartily recommended- and the Terre Natale red wine was just lovely). Ski lifts are just 500 yards from the hotel at either end of the village- very conveniently located.

All in all this was a wonderful ski trip, and the Hotel Du Bourg is recommended for anyone who appreciates a quaint and very French hotel in a convenient and lovely setting. For English speakers, Valmorel in general is a French resort, and they appreciate an attempt by you at speaking French before resorting to English (and though most people spoke basic English, there were some shop owners and waiters who did not).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaisieMinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valmorel
35.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet du Crey
Hotel Chalet du Crey
#8 of 11 in Valmorel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Le Mottaret
Hotel Le Mottaret
#1 of 33 in Meribel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
4.9 mi away
Le Lac Bleu 1650
Le Lac Bleu 1650
#1 of 8 in Saint Francois Longchamp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Radiana Hotel La Lechere
Radiana Hotel La Lechere
#1 of 4 in La Lechere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Les Clarines
Hotel Les Clarines
#4 of 4 in La Lechere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
5.9 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#1 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Bourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Bourg

Property: Hotel du Bourg
Address: 22 Bourg Morel, 73260 Valmorel, Les Avanchers-Valmorel, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Avanchers-Valmorel > Valmorel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Valmorel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Bourg 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, HRS, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Bourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing