We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing value for money!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Thabor

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Thabor
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing value for money!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We booked Le Thabor through Snotrex at only £300 per person including ski lift pass (for Valmeinier and Valloire!), ski hire, and flights! We stayed in a self catering apartment advertised for 8 people, but there was only 6 of us.
Our apartment was clean on arrival, with beds sheets and towels set out ready to use (and were actually clean!). The apartment was set on two floors, downstairs had three bedrooms, two doubles and one bunk room, and a bathroom with a bath and shower (in the bath) all were OK in size - with two rooms have loads of wardrobe space! Upstairs is open plan with tiny kitchen area (fine for a week!) with microwave, fridge and dishwasher and loads of cupboard space - there is a table that sits 8 and two sofas (one pulls out into a double bed) - in the hall is your second toilet with a shower cubicle and cupboard for coats. On the upper level there was also a big balcony that looked out onto the pistes!
Don't get me wrong there was a strange musty smell in the apartment, which is cleary due to the amount of sweaty bodies in there week in week out, and small areas needed a good clean (bathroom shower screen/shower curtain etc) but for the price we paid - I could not complain! You get a decent size apartment with comfortable beds/sofas and it was a bargain! A lot better than other skiing accomodation I have been in before that we paid way more for! I would say if you can get a good deal on the price, like we did - then go for it. I am not sure how nice it would have been if there had been 8 instead of 6 of us, but overall we all thought it was good. It was a bit of a trek into the town, or rather a bit of an uphill trek back to the apartment - but i think it seemed worse because we were so knackered from skiing! It was also ski in ski out which was brilliant! To sum up - If you want something posh and fancy then dont go here - if you want somewhere to lay your head between days of skiing then it is the place for you!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harri67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    402
    132
    50
    13
See reviews for
561
97
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
376 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

It's located next to the ski run, a little bit higer than the' village'. The village is very poor, no big shop, only a very expensive little shop. I booked an appartement for 8 person. I expect to have a duplex on the top floor, but it was in the cellar. Its was very nice, kitchen, living area and bedroom on the first floor, and a stair to the groundflour. It was very clean and spacious. The swimmingpool was very nice, but cold.

Room Tip: ask for a duplex
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nathalievb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
241 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2009

Pros: You literally walk out of your appartment and you are on the slopes. Fantastic skiing, lots of lovely routes.

Cons: We stayed in apartment for 2-4 people and there was 3 of us - cramped and the appt needs a lick of paint. Resort is very French , but everyone very friendly. Expensive especially with the exchange rate £6-8 for a large pint. £8 omelette and chips/ pizza, pasta. Food very samey.

I would go back to Valmeinier but I'd want to stay some where else

  • Liked — Location to slopes
  • Disliked — Cramped
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Libran_Lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2007

We have just returned from a stay at the Le Thabor apartments, Valmeiner. The apartment we booked was a 2 bedroom (capable of sleeping 7) but with just 4 adults and a child we found it very cramped. The 2nd bedroom had bunks and was tiny. The so called satellite TV was totally in french and the heated pool was barely warm enough to survive 5 minutes. Dont be fooled by the sauna either, for the amount of guests it is tiny and is 4 euros per person for 20 mins. We departed at 4am and you are expected to clean/hoover/empty bins etc or forfeit a 200 pound deposit. Be under no illusions this is a very french orientated resort and there are no money exchange facilities so be prepared. It is also a very hilly resort and the coach cannot reach the hotel so you have a fair old trek uphill with your luggage. Resort okay but accomadation very average!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank gillynonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valmeinier hotels
1.2 mi away
Residence Les Hauts de Valmeinier
1.0 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle
Hotel L'Aigle
#4 of 14 in Valmeinier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.9 mi away
Residence Odalys Les Lumieres de Neige
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Odalys Le Grand Panorama I
1.0 mi away
VVF Villages "Les Islettes"
VVF Villages "Les Islettes"
#3 of 14 in Valmeinier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Lagrange Confort + Le Grand Panorama II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Thabor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Thabor

Property: Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Thabor
Address: Le Thabor, 73450 Valmeinier, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Valmeinier
Amenities:
Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Valmeinier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Thabor 3*
Number of rooms: 381
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Thabor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre And Vacances Valmeinier Le Thabor
Pierre & Vacances Valmeinier Le Thabor Hotel Valmeinier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing