We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet stay in a chalet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Odalys Le Grand Panorama I
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Valmeinier
Paris, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quiet stay in a chalet”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We (4 adults & 1 kid) stayed in chalet CB2-3 for a week. The chalet was clean, spacious enough and with a really nice view. Not far from the road, it was very quiet nonetheless. It comprised of a balcony, a large living room (but only 1 sofa, which was not convenient to sit 5!), a large double bedroom with view and another one, smaller 2 single beds w/o the view. The location of the residence was a bit remote from the village, walkable w normal shoes though. The shuttle bus were quite rare though (1/half hr) so the morning trips to the slopes were a bit stressfull. The reception opening hours were not convenient at all (closed @ 7pm! Open @ 3pm only on sat!). There is a swimming pool, open only 2:30hrs a day, not ideal for relaxation after a day skiing. Valmeinier itself lacks a bit of charm but the ski domaine was ok.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_from_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    40
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
45
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Basic, but nice accommodation.

We rented one of the "flats" for 8 people, but only had 6 people staying. It is normally my method with ski resort accommodations to book somewhere for 2 more people as they try to suggest you can have 2 people sleep on the sofa bed in the living room which in all honestly would be a logistical nightmare to put away every night, not to mention if said occupants wanted to go to bed earlier than the other housemates, as living room was open plan with the kitchen too.

Have stayed in more homely Snowtrex accommodations, but this wasn't bad. Rooms were divided up as a very small twin on the ground floor, kitchen/dining room and living room on second floor, and double bedroom and small bunkbed room on top floor. The double bedroom was by far the nicest and cosiest.

Not much of a view from the balcony, but it caught the sun in the day time should you wish to have a little sunbathe.

The residence's staff were very helpful, and you could order fresh baguettes and whatnot for collection for breakfast the next day.

Although advertised as having wifi, this is only if you want to sit in reception which isn't very helpful at all.

The flats are pretty close to the pistes, hardly more than a 5 minute walk and in full on snowy season you can ski back to them.

The resort of Valmenier is quite sweet. Not a huge amount going on, but one very nice sandwich bar called La Fabric that DOES have wifi :) and a cinema that only shows films in French in the evening. Only one bar seems to have anything going on in the evening, but then it ensures that you're in the one place where everyone else is!

Not a bad amount of pistes, enough for a week to not get bored for the seasoned skier/snowboarder.

The village doctor was also good as I can vouch for, having broken my arm on the first day!

As with all these places, if you intend on eating at home, you will need to either bring tea towels or buy some as they just don't provide them!

More than enough warmth in the flat and most important of all, a great bath!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdAstra80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We had room for 4 people. There was a sleeping room. Once extra room with two beds, living room with the kitchen together, the hall and the bathroom. More than enough space for 4 people. We had a very nice balcony, but the view was not good. It think you need to pay extra for the mountain view and if you stay longer it might be worth of spending more. The kitchen was very good epuipped so don`t be worry that you will miss something. They even had a disch washer, so bring the cleaning tabletes in case you want to use it. Also bring soap for dish cleaning, soap and shampoo and some toilett paper as once you run out of the paper in your apartment you do not get extra one (maybe you get in case you ask for it at the reception I did not try) Once you check in they give the the bed linen, towels so you have to put in on the bed by yourself. Once you leave the apartment you have to clean it too. Each room has a bucked, rag, broom .. You can pay for the cleaning I think the max they charge is 40 EUR based on type of the apartment. The apartment has a swimming pool. But it closes at 8 pm and it is not open on Saturday. We stayed here Friday and Saturday so we were not able to use it for one day. You can not have shorts in this pool, bring the regular man swimming suit. There is a sauna 5 EUR for half an hour. I also saw the billard. I found this more as a ski resort. We was here is summer so we drove by car to Vanois NP what took about 1 hour drive. There are plenty of hikes you can take. Very close to the hotel is a goat farm. You can see the goats, and you can buy fresh goat cheese here. Try it is was delitious. Also at the hill behind the hotel you can see sheep and you can here theis bells. There are several small supermarkets (e.g. SPAR) walking distance from the hotel, also bowling. There is free parking for hotel guests. In case you want to use garage (covered parking) you have to pay for it. We enjoyed our stay and we would stay here again. But if your destination is Vanoise NP maybe Modane would be better choice. But I did not find so prretty accomodation there as this one. By the way my brother is very tall 1,9 m and he found his bed too short.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

4 adults and 2 children have just had a great skiing trip here.

Chalets are basic but comfortable, warm and well-equipped. Also with a swimming pool as part of the complex, free to residents.

Valmeinier is a family orientated resort and is therefore pretty quiet in the evenings. Although there are a couple of bars (Lebowski bowling bar is about the best) and a few decent restaurants, most people seem to eat in the chalets. For a bit more life stay in nearby Valloir.

Skiing wise there is plenty to do for a week skiing as you can go over the three mountain ski areas.

Nice snow and all in all a great trip. Would come again (but not drive next time as thr French tolls are a b***dy rip off!!! 75 Euros each way!

Helpful?
3 Thank Sparkle08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Valmeinier is such a great place with absolutely stunning scenery and quiet, varied pistes. Grand Panorama is just over 5 min walk to the village centre (in normal shoes) but there is a free ski bus every half hour. 3 of us shared a clean, well equipped, 6 person apartment. It was the perfect size for us, with the 2 bedrooms separate from the living/dining area. Would have been uncomfortable for 6 though. Reception will even arrange for the local bakery to deliver fresh bread, croissants, etc every morning if you can't be bothered to walk. There is a green run just a minute away, from which you can ski down to Valmeinier 1500. Our lift pass included access to Valloire but in 6 days solid skiing, we didn't get time to visit Valloire! I would definately go back to Valmeinier and would stay at Grand Panorama again. The drive from Chambery airport is easy and its probably cheaper to hire a car then mess around with transfers. It's a very French resort (yes, I know it's in France) and even though my French is pretty bad, everyone was willing to help and we had a great time.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IAteAllThePies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valmeinier hotels
0.7 mi away
Residence Les Hauts de Valmeinier
0.0 mi away
Residence Lagrange Confort + Le Grand Panorama II
0.4 mi away
Residence Odalys Les Lumieres de Neige
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle
Hotel L'Aigle
#4 of 14 in Valmeinier
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Odalys L'Ours Blanc
Residence Odalys L'Ours Blanc
#9 of 14 in Valmeinier
15 reviews
0.4 mi away
VVF Villages "Les Islettes"
VVF Villages "Les Islettes"
#3 of 14 in Valmeinier
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Odalys Le Grand Panorama I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Odalys Le Grand Panorama I

Property: Residence Odalys Le Grand Panorama I
Address: Av du Mont Paccard 74170, 73450 Valmeinier, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Valmeinier
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Valmeinier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Odalys Le Grand Panorama I 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Residence Odalys Le Grand Panorama I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Grand Panorama Hotel Valmeinier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing