We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location shocking hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc
Sheffield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic location shocking hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is in one of the most beautiful parts of France if not Europe, yet it is an absolute disgrace. It is dark, dull, dank and dirty. It's obvious no investment in the property has been made for many years, and unless some major investment is made shortly, a ball and chain will be the answer. To be fair the views from the balcony were fantastic. The bed was clean, and the breakfast ok. The receptionist was helpful with giving advise for the route home.
But what a shame, a blot on the landscape.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    104
    36
    23
    14
See reviews for
53
101
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Not the most expensive hotel, but it's not trying to be. It's got it's own character, and delivers everything you'd expect and a bit more.

The rooms are not huge, but sufficient, and have balconies with FANTASTIC views. The beds are a bit on the firm side. Bathroom fine, bath big enough, although not that great for standing up in when using the shower.

TV has a few English (and German) channels, and there are some DVDs in reception that you can borrow (for free).

Breakfast was fine - cereal, yogurt, pastries, bread and jam, and a funky machine you can use to squeeze fresh orange juice with. The only cooked food was boiled eggs (cook yourself to your own preference), and while there was bread and cheese, there were no cold meats.

We had dinner in the hotel one night, and it was probably our second favourite meal of the trip, so well recommended. The menu is different every night, but repeats every week, and is posted up in a few places so you can decide in advance which nights you'd like to eat in.

The jacuzzi and sauna were truly delightful after a hard day's skiing, and surprisingly not much used, we mostly had them to ourselves.

Location is ideal, a very short walk to the cable car to access the mountains and huge ski area. Nerey Glisse is a ski shop right across the road, and is as cheap, and probably as good, as anywhere (use skimium.com to book in advance). 5 minutes walk to the centre of town takes you to a couple of supermarkets, a few souvenir shops, and a decent choice of restaurants - although almost all seem to focus primarily on Savoyarde specialities, which is fine if you like melted cheese (and I do!).

The manager (owner?) has a slightly off-hand manner, but soon turned out to be very helpful and accommodating, and he speaks English plenty well enough. His vast dog often hangs around in reception; he's delightful and playful, but if you don't like dogs just ignore him and he'll completely ignore you, so not a problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great location - close to cable car to snow fields - and great service and help with directions, ski hire etc. Room comfortable with good bathroom. Not a lot of variety regarding Meals but both breakfast and dinner were good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raphael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is an average hotel which is a bit tired and dated but it is very good value for money, the beds are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is very good value for money. The spa is more or less from "Faulty Towers" and the evening food was not too good. The lounge is very friendly and cosy with good value drinks, very nice after an day on the slopes.
However the walk to the lift is less than the advertised 250yds and no problem at all.
I would definitely go back, just go with an open mind and have fun. It is not 5 star but it never said it was.

Room Tip: If you want good value and an easy, convenient walk to the lift this could be the one for you. Book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fatboygto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Liberty Mont Blanc for 3 nights in February 2013 and we had a mixed experience. The positives are- great location, it's about a 4 minute walk to the Bettex lift; The breakfast was good; there is parking; the bed was comfortable and the room was reasonably clean. The not so positives are- breakfast is not included in the room rate, the hotel is shabby and unloved with an unnecessary lack of attention to detail ie broken light and shower fittings and peeling paint and the room was extremely hot with radiators that could not be adjusted. Would we stay there again? On balance, Probably not.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey-at-JU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in February. Having read the reviews we were anxious, but the positives outweigh the negatives.
The positives are the good location, easy access for the Bettex lift, about 3 minutes walk. The breakfast was superb, with a fresh orange machine, croissants, eggs and wonderful views across to the mountains beyond. The bed was comfortable and while the rooms are on the small side, it is only as I would expect of a 2 star hotel.
The negatives are the dog, but this was never seen past the first morning when we arrived, thank goodness. The welcome lacks charm and we were surprised to be berated for not booking directly!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pistebashers84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

we stayed here for a short skiing trip, the location of this hotel in between bettex lift and the centre is excellent, both are within easy walking distance. the owner and rest of the staff were very friendly, our room was basic, but clean and the bed was good. breakfast is not included in the basic price but at €10 p.p. definetely worth it. we know some people complained about the st bernard dog, but we wished we had seen more of him, such a sweet dog, however the owner now is very conscious of keeping the dog away during the busy times. can only recommend this hotel, true value for money!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacomijn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Gervais-les-Bains hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Regina
Le Regina
#3 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Ferme de Cupelin
La Ferme de Cupelin
#1 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Val d'Este
Hotel Restaurant Val d'Este
#6 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le Monte Bianco
Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le ...
#2 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Val Joly
Le Val Joly
#11 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Arbois-Bettex
Hotel Arbois-Bettex
#16 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc

Property: Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc
Address: 734 avenue du Mont D Arbois, 74170, Saint-Gervais-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 3 stars with bar, restaurant, lounge, sauna, swimming pool, garden and private car park. Ideal for skiing, Sites seeing Mountain biking, hiking, Spa vacations and other mountain activities. Located at 250 meters of the hiking footpaths and gondola of the Evasion Mount Blanc (445 km of slopes) and 5 min with foot from the village of St Gervais. The rooms all are equipped with shower or bathroom, LCD TV with satellite and DVD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Mont Blanc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing