We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for a walking holiday”
Review of La Maison Blanche

La Maison Blanche
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison Blanche
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a small family run hotel off the main square of the town. It is tucked away, so hidden from any noise and bustle. The building itself is charming and the rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. Most of them have balconies and some of them have balconies facing both the Chaine d'Aravis over towards Annecy and Mont Blanc the other way. The owners are keen that you get the most out of your holiday and make sure that you get all the relevant brochures etc. Meals are in the newly refurbished dining room, in mountain style. Freshly prepared meals are served by the owners. The whole place is very family orientated with a very pleasant, relaxed atmosphere. Wonderful walks are easily accessible from St Gervais by ski lift and the local tourist office has great information.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. I would be happy to have any room in this hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for La Maison Blanche
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 34 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

We travel a lot in France and often find 2-star hotels there less than adequate, but La Maison Blanche was a pleasant surprise. St. Gervais-les-Bains is a charming town next to Mont Blanc. It's not as expensive as Megeve or Chamonix, which are both nearby. From St. Gervais it's possible to ski over a vast area in winter and hike miles of beautiful trails, as we did for 4 days in late July. La Maison Blanche is right in the center of the town. The owner, Martine, is charming and speaks good English. Our room was not luxurious but was clean and comfortable. We were lucky to have room 26, which is quite large and has two balconies, including one with a view of Mont Blanc. Another plus is wi-fi in all the rooms at no extra charge. The hotel is also very reasonably priced. We were on half board for 58 Euros each per night (wine and evening coffee are extra, but that's usually the case.) The food was not gourmet but was solid French cuisine; we left the table satisfied every evening. Breakfast was the usual French fare of bread, croissants, yogurt and lots of coffee and was perfectly adequate. We've stayed in a number of places in St. Gervais in the past and didn't like any of them, but we're likely to return to this one.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gogogo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

La Maison Blanche is located just off the main square in St Gervais, one minute to the bus stop for both ski bus and the coach to Le Fayet and Les Contamines. Our strongest memory of the hotel is the friendliness and hospitality of the owner - always pleasant and helpful. We did our best to speak French, which we hope was appreciated, (it was certainly politely tolerated!) but Madame helped out with English when necessary. On our last morning we had an early start, but she still served us breakfast at 6.30am. Our room (4) was quite comfortable with a balcony which was in sunshine until late afternoon - very nice after a days skiiing. The bathroom was excellent with a powerfull shower which helped soothe ski-tired muscles! We were on demi-pension and found all the meals excellent, with choices of starter and desert, plus a cheese course on most days, except when the main course was raclette or fondue, in case you might be cheesed out! The local speciality, tartiflette, was the main course one night - a memorable new experience for us. Vegetarians would not be comfortable with the the set menu, though, and should probably opt for the a la carte.
The town of St Gervais has everything needed in the way of way of shops, but it does not have the glamour (nor prices!) of Megeve. Access to the ski area is quick and easy, but it is probably rare that you could ski down to town. The main access point for the ski area is Bettex, about 10 minutes on the gondola from town. We chose to rent our skis at Bettex (from Skiloc - recommended) and use their ski locker facility so we didn't have to carry skis and boots back to the hotel each night. The ski area has something for everyone, but black-run enthusiasts may find it limited. Snow conditions were not very good in early Feb 2011 but pistes were generally well maintained. Mountain restaurants were expensive, and one even charged 0.50 euros for the toilet! Megeve is worth a visit - it is very easy to ski down there - if only to window shop in the very up-marked boutiques!
One day we took the cog railway (TMB) to Col de Vorsaz and walked back down to town via Bionnasay. It's a long walk, but of course you can always take the tram down again.
We are already planning a family trip to St Gervais next year, sowe see you there!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Bertrand L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pierrebar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sevlejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: La chambre n°20 dispose de trois lits individuels dont l'un est séparé des autres par une porte.
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthieuf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Gervais-les-Bains hotels
0.1 mi away
La Feline Blanche
La Feline Blanche
#3 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Regina
Le Regina
#4 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc
Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc
#9 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Val d'Este
Hotel Val d'Este
#6 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
65 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Ferme de Cupelin
La Ferme de Cupelin
#1 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le Monte Bianco
Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le ...
#2 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Blanche

Address: 64, rue du Vieux Pont, 74170, Saint-Gervais-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Price Range: $132 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Maison Blanche 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Maison Blanche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing