We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely stay in the valley of Alps”

Hotel des Deux Gares
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel des Deux Gares
New Delhi
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Homely stay in the valley of Alps”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Located through internet and it surpassed all expectations. It has all types of rooms and lot of space within and outside the hotel to enjoy. Located few minutes from the SNCF station and also from the Tramway de Mont Blanc. Seems to be a family run business and the lady owner is very helpful. A few details were missing presumably due to lack of staff. Rooms with balcony are excellent and also those in the ground floor. Breakfast has nothing to offer and one has the option of going across the street for breakfast at the Café Richard. If one arrives late in the evening getting food may be challenging. It is definitely value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoraDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    32
    15
    11
    6
See reviews for
20
25
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Had a very bad experience at the hotel. I had booked the hotel online and through a mail exchange with the owner I had informed him about my arrival time at about 10 in the night. The owners said it was completely ok.
When we actually reached, the place looked like a barren place. We couldnt see any lighting around the hotel. We knocked several time on the door but no help. Finally after almost 30 mins some guest came out. He woke up the owners who seemed to fast asleep.
Having said that, the hotel location is very close to the station (not even 10 steps from the station).
The rooms were very well maintained, also spacious compared to most hotels in france where there is hardly any place to move around.
The breakfast was ok, nothing too great (that's the problem with entire France) not just this hotel. We had to wait for sometime before breakfast was served.
Finally I was informed the price of room included breakfast but I was charged separately for the breakfast.
Overall, nice location , nice building, nice rooms but with little soul and poor service mindset.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pandegaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint-Gervais-les-Bains hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

I'm a coach driver and took a group here the hotel was verry pleasant and the staff verry nice the pool could do with being a bit warmer tho rooms were ok cant grumble and the hotel is in a nice setting

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazybungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This is a really nice hotel, well furnished, pleasant rooms, completely spoilt by the unfriendly and unwelcoming manner of the hotel owners. In fact, I have never visited a hotel where the owners have displayed such rudeness...... not even a hello or a smile when we arrived, just a surly explanation of breakfast times, how the locks worked in the room etc. Ignored by the owner when he passed us in the bar and same attitude when we checked out. The room rate is very reasonable, however, for good value it stops there - there is a general feeling that the absolute minimum is being provided - no toiletries in the bathroom, only a cheap soap solution from an automatic dispenser, towels provided were small and very thin, and the lights went out two seconds after you removed the key from the lock, hardly allowing you time to cross the room to exit. The hotel has a lovely indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi, but in the overall spirit of meanness experienced elsewhere, both were freezing cold. Basic breakfast at 8 euros per head was not worth it either. Would not stay here again or recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicegirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
179 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

The rooms we saw had recently been refurbished to a high standard - very clean and very comfortable. The room (suite) we stayed in in the annex had a balcony and was huge and amazing value at euros 52/night for the two of us - breakfast was an extra euros 8 each but there was a reasonable continental spread. The scenery in the area is high mountain scenery so this has to be a destination for skiers, hikers and mountaineers. The SNCF train station is metres away, as is the tramway up Mont Blanc ant the train to Chamonix. The hotel restaurant was shut but there are several good eating opportunities in the neighbourhood. Shops etc in walking distance.
This is a family establishment - we reckoned 4 generations from the baby to the great grandma. Organisation could be better but they were friendly and helpful. The public areas would be disappointing to those used to 5 star luxury and high class bars.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnson6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Gervais-les-Bains hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terminus Mont-Blanc
Hotel Terminus Mont-Blanc
#9 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc
Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc
#7 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Ferme de Cupelin
La Ferme de Cupelin
#1 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Val d'Este
Hotel Restaurant Val d'Este
#8 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Val Joly
Le Val Joly
#11 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Regina
Le Regina
#3 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Deux Gares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Deux Gares

Property: Hotel des Deux Gares
Address: 46 impasse des 2 Gares | Le Fayet, 74170, Saint-Gervais-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Deux Gares 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel des Deux Gares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing