We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel des Deux Gares
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

I'm a coach driver and took a group here the hotel was verry pleasant and the staff verry nice the pool could do with being a bit warmer tho rooms were ok cant grumble and the hotel is in a nice setting

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lazybungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 78 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2012

This is a really nice hotel, well furnished, pleasant rooms, completely spoilt by the unfriendly and unwelcoming manner of the hotel owners. In fact, I have never visited a hotel where the owners have displayed such rudeness...... not even a hello or a smile when we arrived, just a surly explanation of breakfast times, how the locks worked in the room etc. Ignored by the owner when he passed us in the bar and same attitude when we checked out. The room rate is very reasonable, however, for good value it stops there - there is a general feeling that the absolute minimum is being provided - no toiletries in the bathroom, only a cheap soap solution from an automatic dispenser, towels provided were small and very thin, and the lights went out two seconds after you removed the key from the lock, hardly allowing you time to cross the room to exit. The hotel has a lovely indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi, but in the overall spirit of meanness experienced elsewhere, both were freezing cold. Basic breakfast at 8 euros per head was not worth it either. Would not stay here again or recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nicegirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

The rooms we saw had recently been refurbished to a high standard - very clean and very comfortable. The room (suite) we stayed in in the annex had a balcony and was huge and amazing value at euros 52/night for the two of us - breakfast was an extra euros 8 each but there was a reasonable continental spread. The scenery in the area is high mountain scenery so this has to be a destination for skiers, hikers and mountaineers. The SNCF train station is metres away, as is the tramway up Mont Blanc ant the train to Chamonix. The hotel restaurant was shut but there are several good eating opportunities in the neighbourhood. Shops etc in walking distance.
This is a family establishment - we reckoned 4 generations from the baby to the great grandma. Organisation could be better but they were friendly and helpful. The public areas would be disappointing to those used to 5 star luxury and high class bars.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnson6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Marie-Carine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmtBourgoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Perugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mathelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Gervais-les-Bains hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terminus Mont-Blanc
Hotel Terminus Mont-Blanc
#9 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
139 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc
Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc
#8 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
248 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Val Joly
Le Val Joly
#15 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
La Feline Blanche
La Feline Blanche
#3 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
80 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le Monte Bianco
Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le ...
#2 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
258 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Arbois-Bettex
Hotel Arbois-Bettex
#16 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Deux Gares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Deux Gares

Address: 46 impasse des 2 Gares | Le Fayet, 74170, Saint-Gervais-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Price Range: $89 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Deux Gares 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel des Deux Gares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing