We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the way to Provence”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Michel Chabran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Michel Chabran
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pont de L'isere
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“On the way to Provence”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

The marketing was very slick and the food was highly touted. Admittedly we took the cheapest menu at 35 Euros, but two drinks added another 22 Euros, and what we got was both mean in quantity and unremarkable in quality. We were on our way from London to Provence, and what was supposed to be a delicious starting taste to France turned into a cramped disappointment, as the room, the last available, was hardly big enough for the bed. We won't be trying this place again.

Room Tip: The last few rooms are tiny, so if you have to go here, book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryandJamesOpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    42
    16
    13
    4
See reviews for
19
69
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Upon arrival we parked in front of the city hall across Michel Chabran on a busy street. We started questioning our choice as we expected a countryside inn. However we quickly changed our mind once we passed the garden gate and being greeted by a pleasant receptionist.
Yes this hotel is located on a national road that was once the main link between Valence and Lyon before the autoroute was created but once inside all is quiet and well maintained. In fact once you settle in one realize that the location is perfect to roam around the countryside and vineyards. Mme Chabran suggested a visit to the site of facteur Cheval about an hour drive from the hotel. Quite unusual construction. Worth a visit.
Breakfast are excellent. The restaurant has a great choice of quality menus.
All in all a pleasant location with helpful staff. Worth a visit

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank germont001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

After visiting charming places in Loire and Burgundy, we were a little disappoitend in the area around the hotel. But at the moment we stepped into the hotel and the lovely garden, we realised this was a very nice place to spend an afternoon and night on our way to the riviera. Our room had a very comfortable bed, and a nice bathroom. There was some fresh fruit in our room on arrival, and the service at reception was also very friendly. Spent the afternoon reading and relaxing in the garden, and then enjoyed a great meal in the restaurant. Food not cheap- but probably the best meal of our holiday this year! Breakfast the next day also delicious! Hotel is quite reasonable priced, so it was ok for us to spend our money on dinner & wine instead. Would definetly stay and eat here again. Pleasant surprise!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDowkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

With a cup of tea costing the earth and located so close to the road with no view this was the worst place you could choose to stop at on your way through France. The food was good but incredibly expensive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Habroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

Booked this hotel for a one night stopover on our way south, mainly because of high expectations about the restaurant. The food was indeed excellent and the service impeccable; but the set menus are expensive. This is essentially a restaurant with rooms, but the hotel staff were exceptionally welcoming. Our room was very comfortable with a good bathroom. There is air conditioning and double glazing, necessary as the hotel is right on the route nationale. However, the traffic is not obvious from the hotel's pretty garden and terrace, where you can sip an aperitif or eat. Having eaten so well the previous evening, we simply ordered coffee in the morning. None of the (few) other overnight guests seemed to be having the full breakfast - perhaps because it is an extortionate €23.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swanaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

The staff, especially the two Antoines, could not have been more helpful. We have an old car and they made sure that it was parked safely. Our room at the front was small, but perfectly ok, but there was a problem with the cold water which ran hot for about 5 minutes before cold came through. The room was hot too and never cooled down. Dinner was good and well served, as was the wine, but at 200 euros plus drinks it was no better than many a meal we've had at a quarter the price. The final insult came when, after paying a more than hefty sum for the ordinary room, I went to settle up only to be stiffed for an additional 46 euros for what was a meagre and mediocre continental breakfast with stale bread. I have done far better in many a 60 euro B&B.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReggieB1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

We arrived by chance at this unpretentious hotel, not knowing quite where we were.

The charming receptioist could not have been more welcoming. As we had not booked, she showed us all available rooms,we chose a larger recently refurbished room, and were very very comfortable indeed. Although the bathroom had not had the same attention as the room, it was very functional, but spotless.

Dinner was a revelation. Never have we had such a surprise. It was fantastic. The choice is not extensive, but all the better for it. The food had a touch of flair that has nearly disappeared from most of the meals we ate in France on this holiday. We will certainly return next year.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pont de L'isere
4.8 mi away
Hotel de la Villeon
Hotel de la Villeon
#1 of 3 in Tournon-sur-Rhone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#3 of 20 in Valence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Club VALENCE Le Domaine du Lac
Residence Club VALENCE Le Domain...
#1 of 3 in Chateauneuf-sur-Isere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#4 of 20 in Valence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel les Amandiers
Hotel les Amandiers
#2 of 3 in Tournon-sur-Rhone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
La Batida
#2 of 2 in Pont de L'isere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michel Chabran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michel Chabran

Property: Michel Chabran
Address: 29 avenue du 45e Parallele, 26600 Pont de L'isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Drome > Pont de L'isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pont de L'isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Michel Chabran 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Michel Chabran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michel Chabran France/Drome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing