We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, cosy and spacious apartment, friendly service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Menuires
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Montagnettes, Le Hameau de la Sapiniere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We have been on many skiing holidays in different countries and Les Montagnettes in Les Menuires is among the best places we've ever stayed in.

We were a group of 7 people – two families of 3 and 4 respectively. We had an 8 person apartment which was perfect for 7 people (8 would have been just fine too). It was a three-storey apartment: The top floor included two bedrooms (two single beds in each) and two bathrooms (one with shower unit). The bottom floor included the main entrance, two bedrooms (one with two single beds and one with a double bed), two bathrooms (one with shower unit, one with bathtub, both with toilets), and a warming rack for ski boots (with room for 4 pairs at a time) under the staircase. The middle floor included the kitchen, living room/dining area, and a small sauna and shower. Just outside the front door there is a locker with ample room for skis and snowboards (one in connection with each apartment).

So in total there were three toilets and four showers (with roasting hot water and great pressure) – with 7 people there was never a queue for either! The apartment had 4 balconies – one in connection with each bedroom except one, and one in connection with the living room.

The kitchen was big enough to cook nice dinners for 7 people (which we did every night). The kitchen utensils were generally fine too. The sauna is only a small one for 2 people but nice and with a shower next to it.

Not only was the apartment spacious – it was also very cosy and homely. While not brand new, the furniture was perfectly fine. It was a nice, homely place to return to every afternoon after skiing. During days of less than perfect weather when we were not skiing the entire day, it was nice to just relax in the apartment.

The location of Les Montagnettes is also very good. It's a bit removed from the centre of Les Menuires (La Croixette), so if you want to walk out the door and be right at the shops, restaurants, etc. it's not the place for you. But it suited us very well. You can walk down to the centre in about 15 minutes – or you can take the bus. We mostly walked. We cooked our own meals and did our shopping in the shopping arcade that includes several nice shops selling cheeses and sausages, bakeries, butchers – and a well-stocked supermarket.

The apartments are basically ski in/ski out. Some of the buildings are right next to the piste – ours was 100 meters' walk in the morning (if even that) – only because it was a very slight incline – but we could ski all the way to the apartment from several of nearby ski lifts.

We used the local ski rental shop which is within the Les Montagnettes complex and thus right across the small road from our apartment. This was extremely handy and the service very friendly. Being quite a small ski rental, their selection was limited mid-week, but we had no problems getting the skis, boots etc. we wanted when we arrived.

The reception provided excellent and very friendly service during our stay. We ordered fresh bread every morning which was left inside our front door between 7 and 8 a.m. and which was very reasonably priced. We got all towels changed mid-week along with more toilet paper and clean tea towels.

As for the wifi – it's true that the connection isn't great – although our teenage daughter was able to connect with her laptop most of the time. There was no way 7 people could all connect at the same time, but it wasn't an issue for us. We were on a skiing holiday… yes, our kids/teenagers would have liked to go on-line a bit more but they survived!

Les Menuires and the whole 3 Vallées area is a fantastic ski area. And there were no lift queues to speak of, even in peak season.

We warmly recommend both the area and Les Montagnettes.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Froggy2Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 174 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

Excellence is the only word i can use for all the thing you can find and desire in LES MONTAGNETTES. This is our 5 time there..... So we love this place and we always talk with friends about. We will return next year!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riccardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMontagnettes, Directeur général at Les Montagnettes, Le Hameau de la Sapiniere, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Riccardo C,

Thank you very much for your nice comment ! We will be delighted to welcome you and your friends for your next ski week.
Best regards,

Marie Pierre Vandoorne
Responsable de résidence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We really enjoyed our week in apartment number 37. This 11-12 person chalet offered ample space for 9 adults and to children in our case. The complex has great facilities on site with a ski rental shop right on site, ski lockers with heating and only a few meters from the main slope into Les Menuires. House was clean and in decent condition. A few downsides: the kitchen tools like pans and knives were abysmal. Also the heating was confusing and parking on the facility was a downright mess. Parking featured back to back spots meaning that if you're behind you're stuck until the front car moves. Unfortunately the reception really did not have an accurate picture of who parked where, especially as the week progressed. Nevertheless i would recommend this place!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMontagnettes, Directeur général at Les Montagnettes, Le Hameau de la Sapiniere, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Mickael F,
It’s nice to hear you and your family had nice holydays in our résidence.
However, we are sorry you found bad kitchten tools. We chose not to have the traditional inventory kitchen tools when people enter the apartment but we ask our guests to tell us is something is broken or missing so that we can replace it in a short delay.
Concerning parking, the spaces are on 2 lines and 1 car is stucked by the other. That’s why one person of our staff is dedicated to the parking on Saturdays to place the cars depending on people request : do they need their car during the week ? how many cars do they have in the apartment…Most of the time, the cars parked on the 2nd line are not supposed to move during the week and people don’t miss their car.
We value your opinion and we shall try to improve our organization to prevent our customer from facing that kind of situation.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Marie Pierre Vandoorne
Responsable de Résidence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed in the Sapiniere area on a ski holiday in late January. We normally stay in Reberty but thought we'd go with Ski Weekend this time instead of Neilson or Ski Olympic.
Although the chalet was perfect for skiing and was situated very close to the slopes there were some problems with the accommodation. Firstly the chalet slept 12. This was over stretching the living arrangements in our opinion. The table was an absolute crush when all 12 guests were sat around it. The living area was too small to comfortably sit and watch the TV, the rugby was on and some of the guests went out to a bar to watch it as there weren't enough seats. The rooms were small but okay but they had some wasted space under the eaves which could have been utilised and the whole place would have been much better if they'd made it sleep 8-10 instead of 12 hence allowing more guests to relax in the communal areas and maybes have en-suite showers and toilets.
The poor chalet girl did an absolutely sterling job cooking for 12 in a kitchen you literally couldn't swing a cat in..a tiny work surface to work on and nowhere to plate things up. The food was brilliant though and she was a dab hand at the cakes. She'd only been working for two weeks when we got there and she was settling in really well..she was a fantastic host but at the end of the day she was on her own trying to maintain a chalet with 12 guests some of whom changed every 3 days..under the beds was thick with dust and the shelves above the beds were also thick.
We had a great holiday but we won't be booking with this company and using this chalet again. We paid the same amount of money the last three years for chalets that have enough facilities for the number of guests and have two chalet hosts working alongside each other. Plus these chalets were as close to the slopes. Ski holidays aren't the cheapest getaways and we all felt that the company had been a little greedy trying to ram 12 people in a chalet that was originally designed to be hired out by a group of family/friends privately.

Room Tip: ask for the room with en-suite on the top floor, it's next to a toilet but it's nice having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melooarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMontagnettes, Directeur général at Les Montagnettes, Le Hameau de la Sapiniere, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Melooarnie,
The company you booked through had rent one of our apartments for whole winter. They take care of their guests and apartment without our help. This apartment is one of the biggest with 115 m2, on 3 levels with 6 bedrooms ,4 bathrooms, and a log-burner in the living room. As you noticed, it is well situated next to the slopes in a peaceful area. We recommend it for 11 people with the opportunity to add one more person in an extra bed. Finally, it had been fully renovated this last summer and now has 2 couches in the living room so that every body can sit. We are sorry that you were not fully satisfied and will transfer your comment to Ski weekends and that despite of that you will keep nice memories of your ski week in our Valley.
Best regards,
Marie Pierre Vandoorne
Responsable de Résidence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

An excellent location for skiing with great access, ski in- out within 10-15 metres of ski room, with good access to a variety of ski lifts from les menuires central pistes.

We have stayed at this location for the last 2 years, and had 2 very enjoyable ski holidays, and find it quite comfortable, and good value for money. We have stayed both times with 2 adults 2 children (3+ 2). The town of Reberty has an excellent swimming pool/ sports centre with children's indoor play area. We will definitely consider staying at the same location next year

The daily bread/ croissants delivery service is excellent, along with free DVD, baby chair and cot. The mid week supply of fresh towels etc is ideal. Have yet to try the sauna. The chalet we stopped in had a child play area / lounge in the ground floor entrance which was ideal for getting out of the apartment with the children. Staff excellent, run very smoothly.

Some minor frustrations around the free wifi which is quite lacking bandwidth in busy times, dropping out and requiring me to repeatedly enter the username and passcode (string of alphanumerics). Also the kitchen can be quite small for evenings where you do want to eat in, lack of worksapce and cupboard storage space (microwave, kettle, toaster and coffee machine take all of the workspace). The bed and bedroom space is small but adequate. This year we booked the underground car parking, but found the low to the ground car (Audi A6) would not fit into the car park due to the steep driveway in. The outdoor covered parking the previous year was ideal.

The apartments are quite remote from Les Menuires accessed via walking down a winding path or catching free shuttle bus. Also remote from other local Reberty facilities, but accessible using bus. Although there is an excellent mountain restaurant (l'etoile) next to the residence on the adjacent ski slope, about 50m walk slightly up/across an adjacent nursery piste slope.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason_claire_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMontagnettes, Directeur général at Les Montagnettes, Le Hameau de la Sapiniere, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Jason & Claire Taylor,

Thank you for your nice comments !
We hope to see you next winter.

Marie Pierre Vandoorne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This was our fourth time in Les Montagnettes. With 6 adults and 6 kids we fit well. Although it was completely booked you hardly hear the other families. Fresh bread every morning. linnen change halfway the week. friendly staff

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Erik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMontagnettes, Directeur général at Les Montagnettes, Le Hameau de la Sapiniere, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Erik V,

Thank you very much for your review !
We look forward to welcoming you next winter !
Best regards,

Marie Pierre Vandoorne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed at the Montagnettes apartments for the second New Year in a row and will be returning there again next year. This is a place that is hard to beat for a family with older (ie skiing age) children. The apartments are ski in ski out, with just a few metres walk to the piste to set out, skiing back practically to your front door, and - a really big plus - the ski rental shop is just a few metres away as well. The Montagnettes team is really friendly and helpful, the apartments are warm and well equipped, with a DVD player available on request and fresh bread and pastries available to be delivered to your door each morning. We parked our car in the underground car park first time but this time decided to use the cheaper covered overground car parking space.

The resort as a whole is an excellent family ski area with enough to please all levels of skier for a week. You can get passes for the other 3 valleys resorts (incl Meribel and Val Thorens) but we have not yet felt the need to venture further afield, given the extensive skiing available with the Les Menuires ski pass. The small well-supplied supermarket at Reberty is just 5 mins walk away. There are also lots of shops and a Carrefour supermarket down the piste in the main Menuires village. There's also a great sports/swimming/jacuzzi/sauna centre down in the village, and a cinema apparently though we haven't tried that yet.

The only really small niggles, for completeness: the kitchen facilities are rather small, especially in the 4 person apartments - but having said that the equipment itself is quite adequate and includes more pots and pans than we have had in many other self catering places. We cooked most meals in the apartment and managed fine including baking a cake! Also the wifi kept going off which meant that you had to keep logging in repeatedly. Probably best to rely on the standard 3G connection which is pretty reliable there. It should also be said that this is not a great place for families with smaller (ie non-skiing) children as the ESF nursery and Piou Piou classes are both in the main Menuires village at the bottom of the piste, which is a bit of a trudge on foot with very small children in tow. For a family with older children, however, this is an excellent place and appears to have a very loyal following of families who (like us) return year after year.

Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank KelBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Menuires hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel les Bruyeres
Hotel les Bruyeres
#3 of 27 in Les Menuires
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaya Chalet Hotel
Kaya Chalet Hotel
#4 of 27 in Les Menuires
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'ours Blanc
Hotel L'ours Blanc
#1 of 27 in Les Menuires
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence LVH Vacances Les Chalets De L'Adonis
0.7 mi away
Les Clarines Residence and Spa
Les Clarines Residence and Spa
#4 of 35 in Les Menuires
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Soleil Vacances Les Menuires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Montagnettes, Le Hameau de la Sapiniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Montagnettes, Le Hameau de la Sapiniere

Address: Quartier de Reberty, 73440 Les Menuires, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Les Menuires
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Les Menuires
Price Range: $216 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed as a real little mountain hamlet, right next to the ski slopes, the “Hameau de la Sapinière” holiday residence comprises large prestigious apartments - spacious, comfortable and cheerful, and with a fireplace in the sitting rooms.Peaceful, restful sunny environment, a place of relaxation with spa (extra charge), 1 sauna, hammam and massage room, sports shop, everything to make your winter sports holiday a memorable one, with the family or with friends. Nestling at the edge of a forest of larch trees, in a peaceful south-facing valley, the hamlet enjoys an exceptional panoramic view of the whole Belleville Valley. An ideal location for family holidays. Little or no traffic in the village, direct access to the slopes, and a small footpath takes you to the Menuires (Croisette) ski resort in just 15 minutes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing