We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Resort , Excellent General Manager”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Aime la Plagne
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We were 6 people staying at Aime La Plagne for a week. It is an easy, compact resort but really 3 stars. Lobby is decorated poorly and fireplace is never on. Personal is great and helpful. Small but functional resort. Ski room, lobby,restaurant,bar are located in the same floor which makes the life easy. General Manager (in French they say Chief de Village) is EXCELLENT, his name is SAID SARH ROUNY..He makes the resort running unbelievable!
He solved the problems as soon as possible. He is experienced and his team loves him!! He is very energic!!! Excellent shows as well at night by him!!! He has a personal touch!!! Unfortunately, he is going to be transferred to Club Med Portugal today...I am not sure how the resort would be run without him..He made the average resort excellent..If I had a hotel business, I would definitely transfer him as a General Manager..He has very good managerial skills which we observed during our stay. Only deficit of the resort is UNEXPECTABLE heating hours! We had a deluxe room and could not rest in our room in the afternoon. Why? Because it was freezing cold! Heating hours are 7:30-9:30 am and 4-11pm only in the room.. The temperature is MINUS -17C. It is not acceptable..The heating is shut off! Why did I take a deluxe room? If I do not ski in the afternoons, then I can enjoy reading a book or watch TV in my private room..I do not recommend Aime La Plagne for this reason.. AMBRO is also a great Food Manager. Ramone from Kids CLub wonderful! We like the people who worked there, but the resort is very old and just okey!

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for a deluxe room, it is not worth it! Old decoration and very small bathroom. just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GunaySen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 848 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2012

The food is good, the staff is great and the ski is excellent. (real ski in ski out).
The decoration is very warm and the ski room/restaurant/lobby are on the same level - very comfortable. The rooms are tiny.

Room Tip: Floor 2 was very good, nice view to the slopes and no need to wait for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ofersan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I recommend this hotel highly, it is located right on the slopes, great skiing opportunities, ski lessons are well-organised. The food in the restaurant is great. Nice atmosphere and great fun in the evenings. The rooms are a tiny little bit small and could do with an upgrade. Not cheap but worth the money, this is a real holiday, you do not have to worry about anything, everything has been arranged for. I've been there two years in a row and would definitely go a third time!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inkietje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I shall start with the positive about La Plagne: the snow conditions were fabulous, the slope variety is the best I have ever skiied (for my level of skiing) and the ski school organisation and instructors were brilliant.

Now onto Club Med itself: We have been to Club Med in Tignes for the past two years and although there will always be bits you don't like, the holidays overall were very good. However, our experience of Club Med in Aime La Plagne means we will not be doing Club Med again, however bargainsome they appear to be!
1. The hotel is in dire need of refurbishment, however our room was always very clean.
2. The cutlery and crockery were frequently dirty. Not once did I get a wine glass at the bar that was clean - they all had lipstick on, thus showing they do not clean their glasses properly.
3. Apart from the desserts, the food selection was average, and unless you charged into dinner as soon as the restaurant opened and ate a breakneck speed, food choices ran out and were not replenished.
4. We frequently had to clear our own plates away at dinner as despite repeatedly asking, nobody seemed to be clearing the tables in our section.
5. I did not find the staff friendly or helpful, I would describe them as rude and arrogant with a large number either unable or unwilling to speak English, however when I then spoke in French, I was treated with disdain as if my efforts were not adequate - I have a degree in French, so can say a bit more than 'hello, my name is..'.
6. The reception area was chaotic, with frequent long waits to be attended to.
7. The bar and entertainment area is horrific - there is nowhere quiet for you to sit and enjoy a drink - wherever you sit, you will be subjected to the appalling 'entertainment'.
8. There is one room off the bar that is slightly less noisey, however nobody seemed to clean this room or clear up glasses - I went in one evening and there were glasses from the night before, with cigarette butts in them - its supposed to be non-smoking!
9. On our final morning, we had an early flight and they offered us an early breakfast - we had to eat in the dark as there was no lighting - surely a health and safety issue!
Overall, apart from our room, it was a dirty hotel, with poor service and average food.

Room Tip: Choose a room with extra access, i.e. one for disabled visitors and you get lots of space - we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jude D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Aime la Plagne, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to put your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your holiday experience in our Aime La Plagne Resort. It is only with very constructive criticism from such as yours that Club Med will be able to monitor and improve if necessary, the standards and quality of services offered in all its Resorts worldwide.

We were very sorry to read that your Club Med experience in our Aime La Plagne did not meet your expectation. We have noted your comments with regards to the overall appearance of the Resort, the crockery, the food, the staff, the reception, the bar and entertainment area, and the breakfast on the morning of your departure. We can assure you that they have been forwarded to the relevant departments in our organisation for their perusal and to the Chef de Village on site for his attention.

For your information, kindly note that, our Aime La Plagne resort is a 3 TRIDENT Resort and that our Tignes Val Claret resort is a 4 TRIDENT Resort and a UK smiley Resort recommended for UK customers.

On behalf of Club Med, please accept our sincerest apologies if your experience did not meet your expectations.

On a more positive note, we were very glad to read that you enjoyed the skiing activities and the ski lessons.

With these positive thoughts in mind, we sincerely hope that despite what you have mentioned in your review, Club Med will still remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company, by welcoming you to another Club Med Resort in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Your Club Med UK team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We travelled as two females and were pleasantly surprised at the smooth arrival at Reception our Pack containing Keys to our room and our Ski Pass was ready for us we arrived around 3pm on Sunday (previous reviews were negative about this)
The room had amazing views across La Plagne although on the small side but with good pre planning around indoor clothing and drying snowboarding clothing and the little time spent in the room we did not find a problem the beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was an ok size. The daily maid service was excellent and bottled water was replaced daily.
Mealtimes at Club Med are exceptional but be aware tables are in all sizes from 4, 6 and bigger to our amusement we watched one couple over three nights take over a table of six and made out they were waiting for friends this was unbelievable behaviour considering how busy the hotel was and they made excuse whenever asked by another guest if the seats were available it was very funny though the effort they put in.
When arriving at the restaurant get a table first as your food can cool quickly and this came within the second day the food selections are vast and making your mind up with all the choices means you do eat warm food. The food experience is something I will talk about for a long time.Through out the week staff come and ate at tables with guests an excellent way to interact with them in a more personal environment
The hotel attracted an International Client base and with that comes very different standards of manners as you try to come out of the lift you are being pushed back in by those waiting, the boot room another place you had to be aware all lessons go out at the same time and it can be just a little overwhelming.
This was a spur of the moment booking with just 8 days before we travelled through Ski Line and for a great price compared to the Club Med Website. We are so greatfull we took the oppertunity and had one of the best week due to great conditions and new snow also.
The Snowboarding lessons were full on and are with all lessons morning and afternoon so get fit as they don't hold back we had experience of boarding and took time out to pace ourselves for the other days.
Great staff who are there to help and nearly always with a smile

Room Tip: Mountain View just amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Aime la Plagne, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Aime La Plagne Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your friend had good time there and you enjoyed the food quality, the daily-made service, the great snow conditions and our staff commitment!

We hope to see you again soon in one of our Resorts.

Best Regards,

Your Club Med UK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We arrived Boxing day 2011 with two 16 year olds , not too sure what to expect. We were impressed. Nadia and her GO team were excellent from the minute we arrived to our departure, they were all there, even at 5.30am to say goodbye - a special mention to Stelios!. The quality of the food in the restaurant was way above our expectations and the variety. Afteroon tea, what a treat, fresh crepes and beautiful french pastries and tarts. We booked one standard twin room and one de luxe. Both were clean and well equipped, we spent very little time in the room so space was not a problem. The power shower, always hot, was unexpected. Ski school/ guiding was flexible and friendly. We have been to this area before seperately booking chalet, ski pass equipment etc, this was a cheaper and excellent value for money option, especially with 2 hungry 16 year olds. We have only one suggestion. It would be nice to have the Bar area ? child free after 8pm? unsupervised small children running around still at 9.30pm became a little irritating. It would be nice to have a larger quieter area for those with older childer or adults only at this time in the evening, whilst enjoying the ambiance of the bar. We understand it is a family resort and this was a family time of year, but the smaller children are already well catered for. We will return, Thank you for a great holiday. Ian, Ann, Toby & Ben

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sloggit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Aime la Plagne, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Aime La Plagne Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had good time there and you enjoyed our staff commitment and availability, the facilities of your rooms and the ski schools.
We will feedback your suggestion about the child-free bar area after 8pm to the Resort!

We hope to see you again soon in one of our Resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

This is a 3 star resort by Club Med and the facilities and price reflects this accordingly. This resort is great for families with young kids up to teenager. There is a good choice of buffet food at all meals times and the waiter service in the restaurant is prompt clearing plates and free flowing wine and drinks. The bar staff and very friendly and service is excellent and always with a smile. The reception staff and other GO's are very helpful and everyone works so hard you actually feel guilty! Most of the staff have a day job in reception or the bar and still find time to work all the cabaret, dancing and other entertainment. The ski service onsite is more expensive than most places but you do not have any hassle lugging gear and the resort is truly ski in/out with lifts on your door step for the nursery slopes. The ESF ski instructors are really keen and dedicated to kids and adults. Remember ski passes & group instruction are included in the package price! Because the drinks are included we had so much hot wine, cocktails, beer, wine and cold drinks which are available anytime. Snacks are laid on all the time in the afternoons and most days I remember being met outside as you came off the slopes with sangria & hot dogs or similar. All the transfers at the airports were perfect.If you don't have kids or you want large hotel rooms this is not the place for you. Families who want to pay once for the package and never put your hand in your pocket during the holiday, this is the place for you! Absolutely one package price and definitely saves you money at the end of the holiday compared to a chalet holiday! My only suggestions are that a hotel information booklet would be nice in the rooms explaining meal time, cabaret details, internet, open hours of ski rental etc etc. We also made lots of new friends at Aime La Plagme as the place is very social! Well done & a big thank you to all the hard working staff who put so much time & effort into making sure the guests have a good stay! We will definately be booking with Club Med for all future holidays!

Room Tip: If you have young kids, request a club room. All rooms are close to the bars & restaurants and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macot-la-Plagne
2.2 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Plagne Montalbert Les Sittelles
Hotel Club mmv Plagne Montalbert...
#4 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Cocoon
Hotel Le Cocoon
#10 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacance...
#5 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Hauts Bois
3.4 mi away
Homtel La Tourmaline
Homtel La Tourmaline
#13 of 33 in Aime
288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Mont Soleil
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le M...
#3 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Aime la Plagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Aime la Plagne

Address: 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range: $424 - $1,186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Med Aime la Plagne 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a mountain-top facing Mont-Blanc, Aime la Plagne looks out over a ring of immaculate ski slopes. The natural setting is complimented by the hotel interior, completely renovated in 2005 : wood, stone and pure lines lend this refuge a comfortable, hospitable feel and stimulate the senses. This Club Village is a real launch pad to the joys of whizzing over the snow, and a paradise for all who love sports and freedom. They'll enjoy perfecting their moves in the snow park or venturing out on skis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Aime la Plagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Aime La Plagne Hotel Macot-La-Plagne
Club Med La Plagne
La Plagne Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing