We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location - slightly dissapointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med La Plagne 2100
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We spent 8 nights a La Plagne with our 4 adult children over Christmas. The snow had arrived just before us so everything was looking good for a great time. Rooms were small but clean with a good size bathroom with a bath which is great after a days skiing. The GO's were helpful yet obviously new, so the girl who showed us to our room really didn't give us any orientation to the club itself. No great problem as we just had to ask and the front desk would do everything they could to help us. As mentioned in other reviews the ski room is crazy before and after each skiing session but you adapt quickly to the chaos. The instructors were fantastic. We were split into three different groups and all couldn't fault them. Rudy was extremely patient and always had a smile on his face, but constantly watching and making sure we were all having a great time. Meals were great, always are if your not cooking them yourself, but at the dinner service it was very difficult to get a table, and whist the waiters tried to help they were extremely busy. At the end of the day you don't want to have to push through people to get a table or wait at length for it to be cleared and reset. Perhaps a booking system may alleviate that.The food was very good but not as good as the last Club Med we stayed at. Perhaps more orientated to the large number of children staying. The common areas were not very conducive to quiet reading with a coffee, it would have been nice to have a big fire place/ heater to help with the cold. If you were a couple without kids I would suggest not going in the holiday season. All in all a great holiday with amazing snow. We really enjoy the Club Med experience as once you arrive you have nothing to worry about much other than enjoying yourself.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
There are newer reviews for Club Med La Plagne 2100
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 807 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

Club Med is at the slopes, so it is ski in/out. It is high altitude and there is always snow. If you want to go to La Plagne, do not expect life at nights. It is an old dead town. Club Med has its own entertainment. If you have kids, they may enjoy the Club Med dances and musics but if you dont have kids and you want to enjoy the nights, Club Med La Plagne 2100 is not the correct address.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coolbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We travelled to La Plagne 2100 with trepidations after reading the reviews by other members which were less than favorable.

But, my worries were unfounded. Club med la Plagne 2100 exceeded all my expectations!

Rooms were clean though not big. We had connecting rooms. One of them is much larger than the other. The larger room had a tub. Our rooms faced the piste and the view was fantastic! We also enjoyed the fireworks and skiing show (ESF instructors skied down the piste to form a club med trident) from the comfort of our warm rooms.

Skiing was truly ski in ski out. My only complain is that the ski room is small and crowded especially during the morning and afternoon "rush hour".

The ESF instructors we got are very professional. The kids also had great fun at skiing lessons. On the third day, parents were invited to meet the instructors for a discussion on the progress of our children.

Food - excellent!! There was a good variety of food. We enjoyed everything from oysters to duck liver to giant macaroons!

Mini and petite club were good. Kids had no complaints. They know how to keep the kids happy and spared no expenses to ensure it.

Over the 7 days, La plagne 2100 spoilt us silly!

Well done Medhi and team! You've certainly raised the bar. Now I hope the next club med we visit can meet the same level of service!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babycap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Just come back from Christmas week in La Plagne. Overall we had a great week, things went very smoothly and there is nothing significant to complain about. The flight was Thompson, not brilliant, but overall quick and easy. Transfers were smooth, but slow (2+ hours) but not anyone's fault - its very high resort! Check in was quick, but we missed the welcome talk as we got there so late. Getting boots and skiis was also quick, the staff were very knowledgable and helpful. Rooms were small (smaller than other 4T Club Med) butwell equipped, plenty of storage and clean. Large bathroom. We didn't have any problems with lifts as others have mentioned, and the hotel was full. The staff really do work hard to set a very happy atmosphere. Drinks service was a tad slow, and some staff were reading the menu to see what was in the drinks we ordered, but I can only assume that this is because it was the first week in the season. Drink quality was therefore variable, and I think that they could and should have done some more training before we arrived. Snow condition was absolutely perfect. The boot room was very cramped and smelly, but aren't they all!! I have seen bigger lockers, but they were adaquate. The hotel is perfectly situated for lifts and is right on a blue run, getting around to Plagne centre was easy from the commercial centre next door (a five minute walk then a short, free, cable car journey that went until 1am). The photographer was great and extremely aimable and took fantastic photo's. The evening entertainment was adaquate, clearly still new and very unpolished, but they aren't all expert entertainers so its excusable, but it wasn't our thing. The food was also good (not excellent), they did appear to recycle food quite alot and it wasn't as variable as I've seen in other club med's - but again nothing to complain about - certainly better than I'd expect from other all inclusive's and better than I can cook. Getting a table was a nightmare and service to clean tables and reset is extremly slow. Again, this could be from first week disorganisation and the fact that the hotel was full, but it really made getting a table a real chore and often we found ourselves setting up our own table and having to search for someone to get us wine. The house wine was drinkable; the somellier somewhat persistent to get us to buy a better quality wine - don't bother if you aren't massively into wine. Cleaning staff were very friendly and understanding and left immediately if you came back when they were in the middle of doing your room, which was good. The main seating area was adaquate, but not very cosy (as in other club med's) and if you don't have children its rather like a large playground between 4 and 7 which can be noisy and irritating. I was disappointed to find no log fire or cosy seating to sit and read - it was one open large area. Again, there isn't anywhere to sit quietly and have a drink in the evening if you don't fancy the show. We didn't have any problems with staff not speaking English, if you were polite and attempted a bit of French then they responded really well - I understand that with GO's you must be bi-lingual, so I'd imagine that its how you approach the conversation that makes the difference between being helped or not. Other guests were all friendly, many different nationalities, including UK, Australia, Israel, France, China etc. I don't have kids so can't comment on the child care, but they looked happy and well taken care of. Christmas was really good - they put on special entertainment events which were fun and made it a bit different for the week. Ski instructors were excellent, very communicative and had the balance between teaching and guiding perfect. Ski lifts were also very open, the longest we queued was for about 15 minutes, and this was by far the exception.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fussyboots30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med La Plagne 2100, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our La Plagne 2100 Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your wife had good time there and you enjoyed our staff commitment and the Resort location.

We are really sorry that you felt that the restaurant was busy, we endeavour to ensure that there is sufficient space and catering when the resort is at full capacity but occasionally the restaurants do get busy at the peak meal times. We will feedback your concerns to the Resort, so they can take improvement measures.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our Resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We have stayed here countless times and really enjoy the skiing here.

You can ski to the door which is great. The all inclusive makes the holiday good value too.

Ski classes were good including the childrens ones.

The rooms are a little small and could do with refurbishing. Only 2 hotel lifts so queues are common.

We were so upset to find we had been burgled half way through our holiday. Not only us but lots of other families. We found out that 4 floors had had their locked room safes broken into and cash, ipads, ipods and jewellry were stolen!! We have never experienced this before. We reported the crime but the staff were not very helpful or concerned. Makes us wonder whether it has happened before. We then had to individually trundle down to the local police station in the village and file a report. Why the police couldn't come to us at the hotel as there were so many thefts I don't know.The local police didn't speak much English and were equally unhelpful.

The Club Med hotel manager's attitude wasn't very professional either. He just said we would have to make insurance claims when we got home!!

So beware if you stay there. Leave your valuables in the hotel safe instead is the only suggestion I have.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Annie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med La Plagne 2100, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Dear Great Member,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to put your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your holiday experience at Club Med La Plagne 2100.

We were deeply sorry to hear about this burglary and that you found our G.O. unhelpful. We can assure you that Club Med does certainly not condone such behaviour from members of staff and that this kind of attitude is just the antithesis of what Club Med staff should personify, i.e. kindness and consideration. Also, please kindly note that this unfortunate event is quite exceptional in our resorts and that further security measures have been taken in our La Plagne 2100 Resort to avoid such instances happening again.

On a different note, we were really pleased to read that you enjoyed your ski time there.

We hope to welcoming you to another Club Med Resort in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Your Club Med UK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Stayed at Club Med La Plagne with 4 other family friends with kids. Unfortunately snow conditions in Europe have been terrible but aside from that very disappointed with this Club Med. Rooms are tiny although bathrooms have been renovated and are OK. Beds were lumpy and pillows were useless. Most of the staff not very friendly (compared to Cervinia in 2011 where they were fantastic) - I found them very internally focused on each other rather than the guests. Ski instruction and the whole ski-school ambiance was poor. All the kids in our group refused to attend after Day 2. Food was acceptable. The village centre is not a place to go to so if you are looking for a place where you can go into the village and have a nice meal and has some ambiance this is not it. No swimming pool - no separation between the Club Med show and lounge - you were forced to listen to the tired honky tonk band and the nightly shows unless you went to bed. Overall while Club Med still offers decent value for money especially if travelling with children and other families - La Plagne was certainly not a 4 trident resort and the general consensus is that we would never come back here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gr8sking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

This was our second Club Med Ski Holiday (Avoriaz last year), travelling in mid March.

Overall – a great experience with ski in/out of the hotel available despite the poor snow in the Alps this season. The hotel style was good and the room fine (larger than the last 3* resort that we stayed in). The restaurant seemed a bit cramped with an “ok” meal selection but perhaps a touch limited, mainly due to them not having a large amount of display space for the daily specials. The bar service was great and the evening entertainment was nice to have near the bar area.

The hotel is situated in a great location with an outside deck that catches the sun all day. La Plagne itself is not the prettiest mountain village but there are bars, shops and restaurants for those venturing out.

The hotel staff were on the whole ok. I did lose my ski pass and was given different advice by 3 people before I realised what I needed to do to replace it.

The ski region was excellent. A huge range of slops and offpiste with skiing up to 3,450m on the glacier which also has an ice cave that is well worth a visit.

So a great holiday with a hotel in an excellent location offering a good overall service, we could recommend this hotel and the ski region and will probably go back at some point.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med La Plagne 2100, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2011

Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our La Plagne 2100 Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your partner had good time there and you enjoyed the Resort location.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macot-la-Plagne hotels
0.9 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Mont Soleil
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le M...
#3 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacance...
#4 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
235 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Carlina
Hotel Carlina
#10 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Plagne Montalbert Les Sittelles
Hotel Club mmv Plagne Montalbert...
#5 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Cocoon
Hotel Le Cocoon
#9 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
36 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Les Balcons Village
Hotel Les Balcons Village
#7 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med La Plagne 2100? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med La Plagne 2100

Address: BP 62, 73214 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
#2 Family Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range: $457 - $1,206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med La Plagne 2100 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club Med Village of La Plagne 2100, at the foot of the slopes, overlooks the resort with its bold architecture. The Village has just been awarded its 4th Trident making it a model of refinement and contemporary design. Shimmering drapes and soft furnishings, fluid spaces and designed acoustics and lighting create a stimulating atmosphere in harmony with the mountain. The transformed rooms, enlarged restaurants, reorganized lounge area, create a more intimate and sociable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med La Plagne 2100 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med La Plagne 2100 Hotel Macot-La-Plagne
La Plagne Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing