We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”
Review of Chalet Marmotte

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Macot-la-Plagne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Marmotte
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Myself and a group of my friends spent a week at La Plagne 1800 with Marie and Wes and we all had a great time. We were well fed and well informed as to the best places to go to ski at all times.

Ranging from a beginner who wants to learn to a experienced skier La Plagne is a great destination and Chalet Marmotte is a great place to stay that I would thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philhodg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
18
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Great food canapés, mains and cakes! All service was excellent in a nice, clean and cozy chalet. Wes and Maria are incredibly helpful with any needs and all activities are organised with ease whatever apre you choose to do. Easy to get to the piste on the free bus and great slopes nearby, great for beginners not so good for blacks and reds but some excellent off piste.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Had a week in Chalet Marmotte with Wes and Maria from 11-19 January - really excellent week of skiing and probably the best chalet hosting I have experienced (certainly the best with SkiFrance). Food was excellent and plentiful with some amazing canapes and bubbly/hot wine served before the main meal and we even got a cooked breakfast on departure day when most chalet staff would leave you to fend for yourself.

Chalet:
The chalet itself has the usual issues with dodgy wiring which is to be expected in France (the only thing I think really needs fixing is that the sauna safety grille which should cover the coals is missing - dangerous!). That said, it was great to come back to the sauna after a hard day on the mountain. We had the middle room (next to the kitchen and lounge) which can be noisy but Wes and Maria were sensitive about this after a particularly raucous night ;-) and to be honest we didn't really care that much, but maybe take earplugs if you're a light sleeper. Had a massive bathroom with heated towel rail to ourselves which was good- was expecting to have to share. Double beds are singles joined together, standard for France. The WiFi is a good touch. Ski out access (almost) if there is enough snow on the track outside the chalet.

Hosting
As above, really excellent, liked the catering package which is a definite improvement from skifrance's standard offering, but also due to Wes and Maria's great cooking. I particularly enjoyed the beef bourgignon and the duck nights. Wes and Maria were very friendly, accommodating, often going out of their way to make things easier (thanks for the help packing the champagne - it survived the plane intact!). Had a great time. Won't be drinking any genepi any time soon ;)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed at chalet marmotte the second week of jan14. It is a very cosy chalet, I stayed in a twin bed room with 2bunk beds as well. t
There was plenty of room for all of us and our kit. The lounge is small but very cosy with the log fire.
We were very lucky to have a great couple who were the chalet hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for Maria and Wes and they looked after us superbly . I am a fussy eater ,sort of Demi veggie, but every day they served up a superb three course meal, breakfast was great as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafiki999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We have just returned from a week in Chalet Marmotte . Great location, only 1 minute walk from the bus stops and skiable to the slopes when snow is fresh.
1800 has great bars with live music every night in either Scotty's or La Mine.

The lower floor we were in was very large with balcony overlooking the slopes.

Our hosts were great and nothing was too much trouble, we were made to feel at home and relaxed from the minute we walked through the door.
With Maria & Wes as hosts, you may arrive as guests, but you you will leave as friends..

Room Tip: Top floor rooms can be warm with restricted headroom in places. Lower floor rooms are large and hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Had a fab holiday. Ski was amazing. Snow amazing. Food great. Hosts friendly and accommodating. I would differently come back again. And would recommend to anyone who is up for a friendly service. Worth going

Room Tip: All rooms are fine. All ensuites
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Having been skiing every year for 10 years, this week was my first experience in a catered chalet and now there is no going back!
Wez and Maria made the whole week so easy and enjoyable, going out of the way to help us in any way possible.
The food was particularly divine, especially the afternoon cake!
We were always made to feel welcome by Maria and Wez, at the chalet and local bars!
The chalet itself is great, the rooms all of good size with a reasonable living area and a great eating space.
The access to the slopes is perfect, either ski access - weather permitting, or short bus rides to Belcotte and La Plagne Centre, which importantly run until 12:30pm - perfect after one too many Vin Chauds!
I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macot-la-Plagne
0.6 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Hauts Bois
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Plagne Lauze
Pierre & Vacances Residence Plag...
#1 of 55 in Macot-la-Plagne
592 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Constellations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Club Med La Plagne 2100
Club Med La Plagne 2100
#2 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
807 reviews
0.6 mi away
Club Med Aime la Plagne
Club Med Aime la Plagne
#1 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
846 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Plagne Montalbert Les Sittelles
Hotel Club mmv Plagne Montalbert...
#6 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Marmotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Marmotte

Property: Chalet Marmotte
Address: Le Foret, Plagne 1800, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Will-I-Ski? Chalet, Chalet Marmotte sleeping 15 guests is situated in Plagne 1800. The Chalet Marmotte is a lovely traditional chalet with a warm and welcoming atmosphere. It is a short walk from the closest piste and a few minutes from the heart of La Plagne 1800. All round the chalet has great access to slopes, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing