We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just not up to the mark !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence CGH Les Granges du Soleil
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just not up to the mark !”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay over the Uk half term. We chose this residence based on previous stays at MGM apartments in various French resorts over the past few seasons. We have never skied over half term and we were a bit unsure how busy everything would be.
We arrived on the Saturday at about 2.30pm and thankfully our apartment was ready as the reception was full of people waiting to go & check in. Check-in was quick but felt there was no guidance as where to go etc. Went to park the car in the garage (50euros - always feel ripped off) but after 10 mins could find no way to our apartment from the garage so drove out thinking there must be another garage. Ended up going back to reception who informed us there was no access but we could park for 5 mins out the front to unload. Anyone driving on a self catering holiday knows how many bits you have ! It took 4 of us at least 5 trips up and down the lift - other residences have had trolleys.
The apartment was a 2 bed sleeping 6 although there was only 4 of us. It was nicely furnished but just inadequate for potentially 6 people ! 1 settee didn't even fit 4 of us. 1 toilet roll for the week is just rubbish for £2500 accommodation only. Other apartments we have stayed in had a mid-week change of towels & re-stock of soap, loo rolls etc. Charged 8 euro each to hire a bath robe ! No pool towels so one towel each had to do for bath and pool etc. As stated in another review the apartments are very stuffy. There seems to be constant air-conditioning that you can't control that drains the rooms of any air. We closed the shutters and left the window open but it is a very dry atmosphere.
The jacuzzis weren't working 2 days out of 6 and there always seemed to be a steam room or sauna not working. The heated boot warmers did not work the whole week. The journey from the apartment was through a 2 metre high snow drift that was very icy and was not cleared the whole week despite 24 hrs of snow. My son slipped quite badly on sheet ice when the snow melted then froze - needed some grit/salt.
The apartments were ok but husbands thoughts were ' they have just done the bare minimum in terms of clearing paths etc'. Didn't find the reception particularly helpful and found it was easier the find things out ourselves. Seemed odd that the reception closed at 8pm as pool table etc was in reception and you don't stop needing info at 8pm.
Access to the slopes was across the car park and up a steep path - not great carrying skis etc.

Overall the skiing was good with lots of variety of runs. Access to the lifts (especially in Plagne Centre) can be a pain with lots of taking off skis to walk between lifts as they can be uphill !

The apartments were a disappointment but maybe we have just been spoilt at other apartments. Just think for £2.5k you can expect more than one loo roll, things to work, bath robes etc.

Would not return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelnut921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles H, Gérant at Residence CGH Les Granges du Soleil, responded to this review, February 22, 2016
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,

Merci de votre commentaire.

Au plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau aux Granges du Soleil

Cordialement,

Le Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    52
    24
    11
    2
See reviews for
127
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Wonderful work of concierge service really helps you during your stay. An outstanding wet area (pool and baths) let you to relax and compensate difficulties in skiing.
But not everything was so good. The cleanness of the rooms doesn’t correspond the level of the hotel. Dust was everywhere. It was easy to leave the place on skis but not easy to return.
Resulting of the heating system work it’s very, very dry in the rooms. Had to hang wet towels everywhere to humidify the air.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles H, Gérant at Residence CGH Les Granges du Soleil, responded to this review, February 22, 2016
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,

Merci de votre commentaire.

Au plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau aux Granges du Soleil

Cordialement,

Le Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We had a very nice apartment with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with views up to the mountains. The apartment itself was very well designed and had everything we needed for the week. The only problem we had was in stopping the apartment getting very stuffy without freezing!
The swimming pool is relatively small and the water was not too warm but it is pleasant enough. the sauna and steam rooms are very nice, as is the fitness room.
The layout of the building is very strange - to get to our apartment from reception we had to walk through the underground car park and up 3 different lifts!
The boot room cupboards are spacious and have boot heaters in the lockers. And wherever you are in the 4 chalets it is very easy to get out on to the piste.
It is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

We stayed at 'the Granges' in early February and had a lovey time in La Plagne. The snowboarding was excellent the apartment lovely and cosy and very nice to come home too after each day. The good sized ski lockers with boot warmers were really a luxury. The apartment was very nicely furnished and despite the kitchen area being small was more than adequate with equipment and cooking facilities. We ate in the restaurant on our last night and that was very good too.
I am not a die-hard boarder who has to be on the slopes every second so used the swimming pool, turkish hamman and saunas a lot, I would regularly get in there at 2 -3pm and have the place to myself. Although I did not use it the gym looked well equipped.
I could not fault the apartments and paid to be in such a lovely place - we did have a balcony that looked over an enormous snow drift but thats what we were there for - if we'd looked onto green it would have been worrying.
We all would definitely stay there again and are considering going back there in the summer to mountain bike - seeing the amazing scenery not under 3ft of snow!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ks13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macot-la-Plagne
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Mont Soleil
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le M...
#3 of 26 in Macot-la-Plagne
234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Plagne Lauze
Pierre & Vacances Residence Plag...
#1 of 55 in Macot-la-Plagne
613 reviews
14.4 mi away
Les Clarines Residence and Spa
Les Clarines Residence and Spa
#4 of 35 in Les Menuires
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne
Residence Les Balcons de Belle P...
#6 of 55 in Macot-la-Plagne
244 reviews
11.6 mi away
Residence CGH Le Kalinda
0.1 mi away
Chalets des Alpages
Chalets des Alpages
#8 of 55 in Macot-la-Plagne
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence CGH Les Granges du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence CGH Les Granges du Soleil

Property: Residence CGH Les Granges du Soleil
Address: Plagne Soleil, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence CGH Les Granges du Soleil 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Plagne was established in 1961 and is known throughout the world thanks to its famous red ski hat, a symbolof its welcoming and traditional spirit. It's that spirit that attracted CGH Résidences and confirmed our choice of location. Space as far as the eye can see, sunshine to bring the flowers out and enough snow to plough your furrow... All the more since at its gates our résidence Les Granges du Soleil can offer you superbly equipped apartments as well as a swimming pool, sauna, steam bath, cardio-training room, billiards, a restaurant, ski shop and a magnificent treatment centre - all it takes to build a collection of wonderful memories. To go with the wealth of outdoor activities, the Granges du Soleil offers you the chance to recharge your batteries with the swimming pool, the spa and the fitness centre at the heart of the résidence. Holidays to help you rediscover your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Residence CGH Les Granges du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Granges Du Soleil Hotel Macot-La-Plagne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing