We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellant skiing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Plagne Ski Resort

La Plagne Ski Resort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This mosaic of different destinations offers a multitude of different ambiances and atmospheres that also reflect the changing architectural styles of winter sports resorts since 1961. Most of La Plagne’s villages were designed by architect Michel Bezançon.La Plagne is part of the Paradiski area and therefore is one of the large ski resorts and is also a family-friendly resort with adapted package offers.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellant skiing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

The skiing in this resort was brilliant and loads of it. We popped over to Les Arcs on two occasions, but really there was enough skiing in La Plagne alone for experienced skiiers. There seems to be good transport links between the villages and lots of places to eat in the day.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Offthebeatentrack86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    203
    49
    15
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“La Plange Ski Resort Belle Plange”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We visited La Plange in March 2012,the weather was beautiful for the week so good that my son got burnt on his first days skiing.(dont forget your sun block).We stayed in Neriedes apt which we found a bit small but very clean and well located for ski in ski out.Ski school for 4+ was outside the door and also ESF and SPAR shop.Skiing is very good for families and beginers,if you want a challenge its a bit limited as there are very few steep reds and black runs.Belle Plange village is very quite at night with very few resturants to choose from. Our apt to the village centre has a lot of steps,this was only a problem because we had kids with us.Apres ski was poor best bar we found was le tete inn best resturant was K2.Overall we had a good holiday but just a little expensive and a little quite for our group.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank macsboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“La Plagne - Chalet Joly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

After trying to find a review on the Chalet Joly in La Plagne with not much success, I thought I would share our experiences.

We travelled with Ski World and received good service.

The Chalet Joly was nice & clean and in a fab location. The rooms were quite small, even though we had paid extra for the bigger basement rooms, they were clean and comfortable which I guess is the most important thing.

The Chalet host, Robin, was superb. He cooked us fanastic meals and was always on hand for any advise or tips on the local area.

The access to the slopes was amazing (definitely ski-in/ski-out!) and the whole ski area excellent. Plenty of runs to accomodate all levels. We only purchased the local ski lift pass and that was plenty, we would have struggled to make the most of the Paradiski pass.

We booked our equipment hire and all attended ski/board school with Oxygene who were fantastic. The customer service was brilliant.

Overall we were very impressed with La Plagne and would certainly go back :o)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank AJM1619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Chalet Iona ok Ski France very poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Chalet Iona, La Plagne
Ski France.co.uk advertise this chalet, but do not believe all that you read on their website. Firstly ignore the pictures they have for this chalet, they were not taken in this chalet!! The rooms are en suite, showers are over the bath, there are no curtains or screens however so the rooms floods when you shower. Beds in the rooms are very small singles, the 3 rooms on the top floor have about 2 feet between then so they are a tight fit in the room. There are no wardrobes so it’s living out of a suitcase. The middle room on the top floor has a folding camp bed style bed in it with a very thin mattress. On the lower ground floor they advertise it as a double, its not, its two single beds. It’s also by the front door to the chalet so you here all the noise with the coming and going.

Ski France advertise a DVD and CD player in the chalet, so if the weather is bad you can always stay in and watch a film. Well actually you can’t as they don’t have either, just as well as their TV does not work properly either. Most chalets would have some board games or Jenga, or maybe some playing cards, this chalet has none.

In the chalet they have an info folder listing some organised evening events such as an introduction to the local bars, quiz night, the usual things. When we asked about the activities the rep just said the only activity they would do was to organise a trip down the bobsleigh run, this must be the only activity that is worthwhile the effort for them.

Their website states that the piste is 10m away and that the lifts are 20m away. Absolute woffle, There are two piste’s close by, one is about 200m but up through some other apartment blocks and this only leads to a small drag. To get to the chair you must walk 200m down a road to a piste and ski about 300m further down. The closest ski hire shop is called Pierre Leroux and it’s about 80m from the chalet. Also just 50 m away is the telecabin down to La Plagne centre.

The ski host in the chalet was very good, a bloke by the name of Lee who had about 8 years as a host. The food was excellent and the dining area was fine. Be aware though that there is not enough seating on the comfy seats to fit all so some must sit on the hard dining seats all night. Unfortunately at the time of our visit Lee was the only driver in resort and therefore sometimes our meal times were delayed which was very frustrating.

If you want to ski in this area try the chalet Joly by Skiworld.co.uk, it’s next door to this apartment and they have a much better set up. There location map is also far superior to the Ski France map.

Ski France were made aware of the inaccuracies on their website when I returned from my ski trip in January. They have done nothing about this and have not even bothered to reply to my mail. This says a lot about this company.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to ski”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We visited La Plagne in January 2012 and had an amazing weeks skiing. La Plagne might not be the most glamorous ski resort but it has tonnes going for it in other ways.

The skiing for beginners and intermediates is excellent. There are a number of green runs with drag lifts around the different villages that make up La Plagne. Most of the runs are blue with some reds and a very few blacks. The resort is perfect for learning and for long days exploring the huge 400 odd km of piste in the Paradiski area. One down side is that a lot of the slopes are north facing and the trek back across to la Plagne from the Les Arcs cablecar can be very cold in the late afternoon.

There are some excellent resturants in the various villages. We had one dissapointing meal all week and that was on a piste side place at Roche de Mio. The food is not cheap around 20+euros for a main course.

The bobsleigh run is well worth a go. The ice cave in the Glacier is excellent. It's full of ice sculptures and at around 5€ entry is the best value for money attraction in the area. You can get to it if you are not skiing using the cable-cars.

There were some nice food and souvenir shops in some of the apartment buildings - you would never think so from the outside.

We've skied in a few different European countries and USA and this was the best ski holiday yet.

Helpful?
Thank Josken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Plagne Ski Resort also viewed

 
Macot-la-Plagne, Aime
Montvalezan, Savoie
 

Been to La Plagne Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing