We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location: ideal - Hospitality: average at best” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location: ideal - Hospitality: average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The positives: Great location/smooth transfer

It is the most 'ski in, ski out' chalet I've ever stayed in, with the slope down to the main lift being *literally* outside the back door of the building. This made for great convenience in the mornings and end of day. If you are in a big group, the nightlife is satisfactory with a few bars, a bowling alley and some great restaurants; all within a short walk. If you are a party animal, however, you might want to stay in La Plagne Centre. The paradiski areas is accessible and diverse enough to keep all abilities interested. Our transfer was as smooth as it could be (heads up, Grenoble airport is dire, but this is not the fault of Ski World) and our rep kept us very well informed of timelines and general information.

The negatives: Service/food

There are a few things that Ski World could do to make this an all round great value experience: firstly - ensure there is plenty of food available at breakfast and dinner. Unfortunately, the breakfast portions would leave a small child hungry and the dinner portions left the lads on our trip, gagging for more baguette to fill up the gaps. There is no excuse for not providing more 'staple' food, such as beans/eggs at breakfast, vegetables etc at dinner, to fill up the troops after a tough day on the slopes. Half way through the week the portion sizes improved, but only because we raised it as an issue.

Secondly, the cleanliness of the bathrooms and general living area - some baths were not adequately cleaned, floors not regularly mopped properly and on more than a few occasions, there were still dirty glasses and cups left in the living area when we came down for breakfast.

Pound for pound, unfortunately this chalet does not compare favourably to other all inclusive chalets that I have stayed in, of equivalent value. With a better all round attention to detail and a warmer hospitality (which costs nothing), this chalet has the potential to be a real winner, but as it stands, it has a little way to go...

Room Tip: Choose one away from main lounge if you aren't going to be the last to bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TSpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    83
    37
    25
    13
See reviews for
132
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Surrey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

After having read some of the other reviews on here I'm not sure we are all talking about the same place!

Room - our apartment was supposed to sleep 4-7. There were only 4 of us so we thought there would be plenty of room. No. The apartment was TINY. Tiny living quarters, tiny kitchen, tiny bedrooms.
It was filthy. Dirty carpets, dirty dishes in cupboards, dirty walls.

Bathroom - shower was functional. For a chalet that can supposedly sleep up to 7, one toilet.

FYI - We requested a room with a VIEW OF THE PISTE. This was beautiful.
And on the other side is the car park so well worth requesting!
Ski in ski out so FAB location.


For somewhere so shabby it is not the cheapest.
It looks feels and smells like a hostel.
I would not recommend this place to anyone, except maybe students...

Sorry!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkismart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Our start wasn't ideal, the crystal rep on the bus just waved in the general direction of residence les balcons. If this happens to you and you're with crystal the rep needs to ring the chalet host to come and get you! Once we were met by our chalet host Ollie, things couldn't have been easier. The rooms were small (or at least ours was!) But enough room for us and our things. The bathrooms were good, loved the whirlpool bath. You needed to be gentle with the shower pressure you got a wet bathroom and my bf complained it was quite low but I'm short (5"3) so got on fine! The location was stunning!!! Truely fantastic!
The pool, jaccuzi and sauna were great too. A little busy after key skiing/snowboarding hours but we never had a big problem getting access to anything. Sometimes you just had to be a little patient.

Our chalet host was fantastic and couldn't have done more for us. Full marks for Ollie as I've never had such a fantastic stay anywhere! Food was excellent and his cakes were quite a triumph! Nothing was too much trouble, including some of our parties rather odd sandwich requests for lunch.

In resort our rep was good too, Harriet was attentive and came to visit regularly with weather updates and to book in to any of the events/activity packages. We had a minor mishap with a booking but I think that was mis-communication more than anything. Just be very clear about what you want and when and you should be fine.

A fantastic holiday and I just wish I had the cash to go back again this season!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mojito23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed in Chalet Chardon style for 1 week in Jan 2013 with a group of 11, organised by Phil of Smitten by Snow, who was heroic in his efforts to accommodate us when our group was delayed arriving.

We had a room on the 7th floor with 4 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms, and I must admit, the number of bathrooms was a definite plus when everyone wants to shower at the same time! The bathrooms and common areas where clean, however the hoover provided is less than useless, so carpets were not as free from bits as they could be. Beds were ok, but this place gets the award for least comfortable pillows in the country. Mine appeared to be a childs pillow only half filled with lumpy cotton wool balls. I resorted to stuffing the pillowcase with fleeces and other items of clothing in order to get any sleep. Next year, i will be taking my own pillow!

Free wifi is available in the reception area with a code from reception and this lasts for 48 hours. Reception is open only sporadically though, so make a habit of just getting a code when you pass it and its open.

The apartment comes with nothing and shopping at the Spar in Belle Plagne is expensive, so stopping en route at somewhere like carrefour to pick up food, wine and essentials like hand soap, dishwasher tablets etc is recommended. The kitchen was the tiniest space i have ever used, and cooking for up to 14 people in there was a logistical nightmare (especially with the inexplicable oven) however there was plenty of cutlery/plates/pots/glasses etc.

The ski in-ski out is great for those able to ski already, but is absolutely not suitable for beginners or people who are not very confident/experienced on snow. It opens out onto a very steep part of a blue run, and as someone who is fairly confident but not terribly experienced, I was unable to use this facility straight away. It is possible to walk a short way (50m) down the side of the slope to a flatter area to put skiis on and ski the rest of the way down, and this is suitable for less experienced skiiers.

All in all, a great self-catering place to stay for a week, especially with a large group, and we will be returning next year!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BecR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed in Chalet Balcons 2 which is run by Crystal Ski. The outstanding feature of this chalet, which forms part of Les Balcons complex is the ski in ski out access to the slopes. The chalet is on level 1 and you just need to drop down to level 0 to pick up your skis from the locker and you are out of the back door onto the piste. From there you ski down to Plagne Bellecote where you can pick up lifts in all directions.

The chalet itself sleeps 14 with all but one of the bedrooms opening into the sitting/eating area which is spacious and comfortable. The bedrooms are small but reasonably adequate. My main criticisms are the lack of shower curtain in most of the bedrooms which makes showering difficult without causing a tsunami in the bathroom. The other is the clothes storage space that could be so much improved by putting up some shelves in wardrobes to make better use of space.

The chalet hosts looked after us very well. Good food and lots of it. There is complementary Wi-Fi but you can only pick it up in the reception area. We have been back their two years on the trot and a number of the fellow guests were also on repeat visits.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldSkidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

This Chalet is part of the Hotel Les Balcons in Belle Plagne. Fantastic to be 30 secs walk from the slopes. Chalet currently run by Skiworld. To be able to put on skis and either head over to Les Arcs or stay within the La Plagne ski area was wonderful. Going the 3rd week of Jan meant we had great snow and not many people on the slopes. Only had to queue 5 times at lifts the whole week.

Although the skiing was excellent, the same can not be said of the chalet. It was rated as 4 star but described as basic. Rooms were cosy, cupboards were badly designed in terms of being able to store things. Jacuzzi bath was a good touch though. There was nothing to entertain us in the chalet itself in terms of a TV or even anything to listen to music on. The staff were young and inexperienced, which showed in the quality of the food and the attention to detail re cleanliness and repairs. The bulb of the main light in our bathroom blew on the 2nd day and was never replaced. Our bin wasn't emptied all week and the wireless service that I paid for wasn't working. Luckily there were free wireless hotspots in parts of the hotel complex, but you had to get a code which was only valid for 24 hours.

If the management could sort out the service this would have been an excellent holiday location.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 and twins down the end of the corridor, away from the main eating/lounge area. No ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoodyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
137 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed in Jan 2013 with three kids.

La Plagne is 4-5 different small clusters, this one is located in the highest little village Belle Plagne.

We booked a self catering apartment but was actually put up in the hotel part of Balcons which is right next door. Checkin was easy and quick and we could park in the underground parking below the hotel and transport our stuff directly to apartment on 2nd floor. Note that there is no free parking outside in La Plagne so you have to pay the 70 EUR extra. The convenience of the elevator right inside the garage makes it worth some of that extra cost.

We had a 6 person apartment which as functional and clean, but absolutely not a 4 star. I would rate this a three star. It is really warm and we always had windows open. Get a South facing apartment for looks over the valley and the coolest show every night at 7pm where about 6-8 Pistenbullys park right outside. The apartment had just the right size. The dishwasher and vacuum cleaner worked terribly. Jacuzzi sink and shower also in the apartment.

Did not try the restaurant in the hotel or apartment complex.

The lounge area in the hotel is on the first floor and is really nice and cozy with a fireplace, pool table, music and TV. This is also the only place you get internet. All the Balcons hotels have this stupid system where you have to go to reception to get a Wifi Code that only works in the common areas for 48 hours. And it is slow. Come on. Put Wifi everywhere for everybody.

Overall the apartment was OK, a little worn here and there.

The skilocker room on level minus 1 was OK, small lockers with no room for boots I would say.

This was our 45th ski trip and ski-in ski-out is always important. There are literally about 25 steps from the skilocker until you are on the piste. You can ski from the 3rd floor og level minus 1. This means you can do lunch in your apartment and/or drop off kids. Very convenient.

Some of the other reviews are a little confused about how to ski to the hotel so let me clear this up.

You can ski down from the Arpette chairlift. This has several blue runs and my 4 year old can ski these. The last 100 meters maybe a little steep if you are an absolute first timer on skis.
In the evening, all these runs are in the sun, so they are pleasant.

The other alternative is to ski down from the Blanchette chairlift and take the small pull lift up for about 150 meters. Then you can ski directly to Les Balcons also.

If you want to ski to Les Arcs, the Vanoise express lift is just 40 minutes away. Les Arcs is included in the Paradiski area ticket.

At night you can walk from Balcons to the centre of Belle Plagne (4 mins) which is surprisingly cozy. There is a small street with shops, restaurants, cafes and they did a really good job here. You can rent Raclette machines from the baker and Pierrade machines from the large Spar supermarket at the lower level.

The La Plagne area is nice. They do a really good job of grooming I must say. It is fairly large and you can do whole day excursions to Les Arcs. Not a lot of people here so you can have easy access to steep colouirs, untouched off piste even days after snowfalls.

I would give Balcons three stars, but because of the location right on the piste they get 4 stars.

Room Tip: Get a south facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macot-la-Plagne
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Balcons Village
Hotel Les Balcons Village
#7 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carlina
Hotel Carlina
#8 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Le Centaure & Spa
Residence Le Centaure & Spa
#11 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Gemeaux
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belle Plagne
Hotel Belle Plagne
#3 of 4 in Belle Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Mont Soleil
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le M...
#3 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne

Property: Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne
Address: Rue des Balcons, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right next to the slopes, this chalet residence can welcome from 2 to 21 people in its comfortable and friendly apartments. After a hard day skiing in the Paradiski area, you can either relax by the fire, or enjoy the health spa area with a swimming pool, a fitness room, saunas, spas and massage rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Les Balcons de Belle Plagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Les Balcons De Belle Plagne Hotel Macot-La-Plagne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing