We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Lewes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't do it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Terrible
NOISY, expensive, husband booked it before I read reviews.
Don't even tell you where bins go, which is on the other side of the road and some!!!
No info in the info manual
Apartment itself ok but nothing else going for it.
No après ski!!!!
4 restaurants in 2 expensive 2 ok.
Back to Austria next time for some real ski experience.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepsi401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVH V, Responsable relations clients at Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Client,
we are very sorry if you didn't enjoy your stay in our residence. But the problem seems to be more a lake of information about the residence and the resort. We recommend you to take more information in advance for your next bookings to avoid such kind of disappointment at the arrival.
Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    80
    55
    20
    10
See reviews for
136
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Location is ski in ski out - only if you are able to handle a long and difficult button lift from Belle Plagne. Don't expect the apartment lifts to work, so be prepared for a difficult climb up concrete stone steps with intermittent lighting. The rooms are adequate and reasonably spacious, but there is limited cooking facilities with just a hob and a microwave. Sheets and towels should be provided, but we had to ask for ours and then had to wait 30 minutes while they found some and then we had to make our own beds up. You will be expected to carry out a full inventory including counting all the teaspoons and return this to reception. They will also require a credit card which they will charge for any breakages, but more importantly, you will be expected to clean the apartment thoroughly including all bathrooms and toilets, full hoovering and emptying of the dishwasher ready for the next guests. Beds must be stripped and all linen taken down to reception for washing. Failure to do so will mean they will charge your credit card, or you pay a final cleaning charge (98 euros) in our case. Don't expect Inghams to tell you this if you book a package with them, and there is nothing in the brochure that warns you of the extra charges for the final cleaning. Leaving it tidy is not enough - it needs to be ready for the next guests or you will incur a charge including thorough cleaning of the bathrooms and full hoovering of the apartment even if you are leaving at 4.00am !!. Swimming pool is ok, but hot tubs are often cold and changing rooms/showers have a cheese like aroma. Hot water is spasmodic - avoid the popular 5pm - 7pm times to ensure there is sufficient for bathing. Inghams think that it is reasonable to expect to pay for final cleaning even though they sell you a package - so be warned !!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Macot-la-Plagne hotels

Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

One year passed by since my last visit. The resort this year is a disaster
No hot water
No internet anywhere
RUDE personnel
Disgusting smell
No service in the spa
Dirty
Zero interest for customer service
I will not come back, don´t choose this accommodation

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pizpiretina02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVH V, Responsable commercial at Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear client,
We are also surprise and upset that you are not so satisfied than last winter. A big part of the things you find good last winter didn't change : "Fantastic place. The appartment has a great distribution, all rooms have windows to the exterior, great beds, enought toilets and showers, and it is pretty with alps deco. We stayed in the appartment for 8 people The location of the resort is great with good access from the road and off to the pist. The supermarket and few bars and shop are very handy. The dominium to ski, not comment, just great."
The staff is - for part - new this winter and may be not so smiley than last winter but the feed back of the other clients are good. It is right that we had a problem with the heating of the water in one of the building. It is now resolved. And concerning the cleaning we have taken new process to improve the quality, it is always difficult as the beginning of the season with new staff.
We are very sorry that you stay on a bad impression of our residence. If you shoud decide to stay again in the Sunvalley, please take contact with our services and you can be sure that we will do our best to satisfy you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the apartments booked through Inghams. We only stayed 4 nights here as there were 2 nights of parties and singing until 6am in rooms above ours which was not fully carpeted. Listening to 20 year olds singing Jon Bon Jovi in a heavy french accent I would not wish on anyonone. Inghams could not help us and neither could reception staff. We had to beg Inghams to find us another apartment which we had to pay for ourselves. Crystal were very helpful, sympathetic - everything a rep should be when you are on an expensive trip and your holiday is ruined. They gave us a police number as the french law is actually strict about noise and they offered to help find another apartment. After sending in a complaint letter Inghams have given us a £100 voucher to spend with them which I will send straight back to them to spend on their staff training for customer service.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 202
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 332cherries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Fantastic place.
The appartment has a great distribution, all rooms have windows to the exterior, great beds, enought toilets and showers, and it is pretty with alps deco. We stayed in the appartment for 8 people
The staff from reception is super nice and are able to cross the extra mile to add value to their service. Besides their smiling faces, they are helpful and cooperative. They also punctual in their comitments and are able to speak different languages.
The location of the resort is great with good access from the road and off to the pist.
The supermarket and few bars and shop are very handy
The dominium to ski, not comment, just great. The people using the area are most English, French and Russians.
This appartment has the great treasure to have a spa. The place is well kept and clean and a great feature to relax after a fun day in the snow.
I will happily return next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pizpiretina02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Be ready to pay a LOT for every small extra like wifi, parking, and cleaning. Showers were cold in the afternoon after skiing! With no good excuse: having no technical staff available or on stand-by for such a large place is really not acceptable. At this price, the living rooms are much too small to hold 8 persons. Walls between bedrooms within the appartment are not isolated: noisy..On the positive: Nice and helpful staff, clean appartment at arrival, nice views, perfect spot on the slopes, morning bread and croissants service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We shared a 8 person apartment. The place was spacious and well maintained. Location is excellent with direct access to the slopes.

People from the reception and maintenance were extremely helpful and nice, and tried their best to fix the few issues we faced.

Main issue was the absence of warm water for the showers, from about 4PM onwards. Despite the residence's staff effort to resolve the issue, showers remained cold to lukewarm at best.
We met several people complaining of the same problem at the reception. Although they seemed to be aware of the issue, the direction was not available to answer our questions. Also, when asked, the direction of the Hotel was particularly not welcoming. Given the price paid for the residence, this was simply not acceptable.

Surprisingly, the other issue was the warmth... of the apartment, making it difficult to sleep at night without having to open the windows.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macot-la-Plagne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacance...
#4 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Les Balcons Village
Hotel Les Balcons Village
#5 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlina
Hotel Carlina
#8 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Mont Soleil
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le M...
#3 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belambra Clubs Le Terra Nova
Belambra Clubs Le Terra Nova
#12 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Le Centaure & Spa
Residence Le Centaure & Spa
#11 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley

Property: Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley
Address: Plagne Soleil, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun Valley résidence is situated right on the Plagne Soleil pistes at an altitude of 2050m. You can ski to and from this recently constructed establishment to reach the Paradiski area (425 km of pistes).A bar-restaurant is shared with the Hotel Vancouver enabling you to take advantage of the half-board and full-board packages (please enquire). A ski hire shop is also to be found in the building and the shops are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence LVH Vacances - Sun Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Lvh Vacances - Sun Valley Hotel Macot-La-Plagne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing