We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Les Arc 2000”
Review of Les Arcs

Les Arcs
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Les Arcs ski resort is an atypical resort that faces Mont Blanc and overlooks the Upper Tarentaise Valley. This openness provides a 360° panorama. Its South-Easterly orientation is synonymous with sunshine and breathtaking sunsets over the surrounding summits. An area where renowned athletes can perform, this playground with its unequalled variety can guarantee you some wonderful memories! Its 4 high altitude, car-free and "ski-to-the-door" villages (Arc 2000, Arc 1950, Arc 1800 & Arc 1600)all enjoy their own style, which you can discover at will... An integral part of Paradiski, the 2nd largest inter-linked ski area in the world, more than 70% of Les Arcs' pistes are above 2000m, a variety of situations that can provide "all-weather" skiing for abilities on "pistes Natur'" and forest slopes...and fun zones! Let us know what you think about the resort to even further enhance the quality of your welcome, your information and your guidance inside the resort.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Les Arc 2000”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Good skiing in January and very handy as the boot rooms are generally right on the slope. Expensive to go out at night - especially ARC 1950 - pint of Guiness 10euro!
Not enough Black runs but plenty of fun reds and some nice forest to ski through especially towards Villaroger from Aiguille Rouge. For a James Bond moment try the Black run "Droset" which goes over a covering on the main road - when icy is tough but satisfying.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 307RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    121
    34
    21
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place for intermediate skiers”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in Le Hotel du Golf in Arc 1800 in Les Arcs for a week in February 2013. Blue skies every day and perfect snow conditions.

We hired a private instructor for 2 hours in the morning of the first 3 days so he could guide us around and show us the good slopes for our abilities. The piste is very well sign posted but this was still very useful. We used Arc Adventures and I would recommend them. Our instructor Michelle was very friendly and helpful and always on time.

There were so many excellent blue runs around the mountain we didn't manage to get round them all in a week. Lots of variety and consistent in difficulty. There was always an easy way back down the mountain with numerous ski roads around so we never got stuck.

There is also a nice walking trail at the top of the mountain by the gondola and ice grotto.

Food-wise, our favourite place was called Bar King Mad in Les Villards (a few minutes walk from the hotel). Run by super friendly English people with good food at a reasonably price in a chilled friendly environment. Definitely recommended! Also good was Le Kebab and Pizz'Attitude (takeaway pizzas).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank insano10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Skiing Les Arcs1950”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just came back from another week Skiing in Les Arcs 1950 (4th visit) really is a Fab family ski resort, we stepped out of our boot room skiing straight off to the lifts, and ski right back to the door at the end of the day, that really is worth a lot as anyone who has endured long walks or shuttle buses with skis will confirm, very quiet, very small and compact, no traffic, parked the car underground and that was it for the week, fantastic snow yet again, lift passes are pricey, if you are hiring equipment take the extra 20mins and the lift upto 2000 where hire is cheaper, restaurants in 1950 are - Hemingway's = overrated, poor service, average food would not recommend / Los Chicanos = great service, good food, highly recommended / Nonna Lisa = good service, good food, recommended / Luigi's = good service, good food ( local menu, savoyard & pasta etc) recommended. The Creperie is well worth a visit after the slopes but very pricey indeed. Two bars are both OK but pretty much dead after 8pm. Spirit Ski School is OK ( recommended over ESF ) but ensure the instructor takes time & effort to communicate in English throughout the lesson. We stayed in Radisson - Auberge Jerome which was fine, nice clean apartment, good size, plenty hot water, staff are a bit miserable and wifi was a complete joke but would recommend it overall. Les Arcs 1950 is well worth a visit, 2000 is just a short lift ride away and offers further restaurants etc. Ski over the Peissey - Vallandry and there are some great runs, La Plagne can be included in your lift pass at extra cost, Villaroger on opp side is OK but in the shade from mid morning so damn cold and very icy - Recommend Les Arcs 1950

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank paumart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Les Arcs 1600”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

1600 is quite small and francophone but access to ski area is fantastic. For a more lively location, head to 1800. Will return.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewScrivener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australie
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Ski Holiday at les Arcs”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had two fantastic weeks of skiing at Les Arcs. We ( 2 adults, 2 teenagers 16 and 11) stayed at Club Med Arcs Extreme which is located at Arcs 2000. I really fell in love with the resort. Fantastic runs, lots of black runs and moguls. It is very easy to ski "hors piste" between the runs without going into dangerous territories. The four resort areas Arcs 2000, Arcs 1950, Arcs 1800 and Arcs 1600 have very well connected via lifts but they are also well connected with free shuttle buses so it is easy to get back to your resort area even if you end up on the other side of the ski domain come 5 pm. It is very easy to get to from Paris. Jump in the TGV, 5 hr s later you arrive at Bourg St Maurice, Jump on the funicular and 20 minutes later you are at Arcs 1600. From there take a free shuttle bus to get to the other resorts. I love the different parts, great runs at the tops but equally great runs in the forest and so pretty!!!!!

Club Med was good but the ski out may be a touch challenging for the beginners. We were OK. Beginners can walk 200 m to get to the main lifts so no big deal. If you want a cheaper option than Club Med, look at MMV. The MMV altitude used to be a club med. They offer the same type of services (accommodation, food, entertainment etc.) but unlike Club Med which sells you an all inclusive package you can customise your package (e.g opt in or out for lesson) and the difference is that the drinks at the bar are not free unlike Club Med (which might not be a bad thing, considering that you tend to seriously over consume at Club Med).

We have ski at many different resorts Avoriaz, Les Menuires, L'Alpe d'Huez, La Plagne, Montgenevre, les deux alpes and les Arcs and Les Arcs are Avoriaz are our favourites.

Note that every time we go in the second or third week of January when the Xmas holiday crowds have left and there is really hardly anybody so the skiing is awesome. We have found the ski lessons / guiding to be excellent. Our instructor took us to many "hors piste" locations and really challenged us.

Can't wait to go back.....

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bonneinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Arcs also viewed

Les Arcs, Bourg Saint Maurice
Les Arcs, Bourg Saint Maurice
 
Les Arcs, Bourg Saint Maurice
Bourg Saint Maurice, Savoie
 

Been to Les Arcs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing