We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent, authentic local restaurant”

Le Refuge Altitude 810
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Switzerland
Level Contributor
305 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“An excellent, authentic local restaurant”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I ate dinner here during our ski week and found it authentic and great value. In particular, the "menu" at Euro 18 was outstanding - three full courses: a lovely potato "dumpling" dish - small, round, fried dumplings, lardons and greens - followed by local sausages with pasta and completed with an excellent pair of sorbets. My wife had a wonderful venison stew - rich, dark, tender and served with pasta ribbons. With wine, it all came to less than Euro 60. The place was buzzing and had a nice, apres ski atmosphere, although Bourg is well down the mountain.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IOWman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    127
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chez Christo Group Meal”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have been to Le Refuge on many occasions but this year they really prepared a fantastic night. 2 days notice and could I have a table for 20. Absolutely and they fit our group in, presented fantastic food, service and ambience. Well done and looking forward to going back in the summer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigAl187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourg-Saint-Maurice, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best value Savoyarde dishes in Bourg St Maurice”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoy eating at this restaurant on a regular basis. Local dishes are good value for money compared to other restaurants and the staff are friendly and efficient.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Authentic local food-Excellent Service. Great value for money.”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Two of us ate here and we both had the Savoyard set menu (which had 2 x choices per course, starter, main and dessert).

The quality and quantity of the food was both excellent, with a combination of ingredients and flavours which really worked well together.

The service was attentive whilst being unobtrusive and the staff seemed to genuinely enjoy working there and this shone through.

In recent times I have noticed portion sizes generally getting smaller and I often still feel peckish after a meal out. This was definitely not the case at Le Refuge and it was a hearty meal for us after a hard day on the slopes.

The set menu only cost 18 Euros and this is a fantastic price-particularly with each dish being freshly prepared to order and taking into account the usual resort mentality to make profit over quality and service.

We were the only British clients with the other 15 or so being French (which is a testament in itself-I should imagine it's a place that locals would use).

There was a real log fire burning in the corner.

I have eaten here in the past (about 4 and 8 years ago) and have enjoyed each visit but this most recent one has been the best.

Well done Le Refuge.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boarder-bloke-42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great little alpine inspired restaurant”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

the decor is alpine and interesting, the food is lovely. my wife had superb raclette plate, I had the St Pierre fish perfectly cooked, and all great value for money, you can have a great meal for 2 with house wine for 60 euros, eat it and enjoy

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EtchellsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Refuge Altitude 810 also viewed

Bourg Saint Maurice, Savoie
Les Arcs, Bourg Saint Maurice
 
Bourg Saint Maurice, Savoie
Les Arcs, Bourg Saint Maurice
 
Les Arcs, Bourg Saint Maurice
Bourg Saint Maurice, Savoie
 

Been to Le Refuge Altitude 810? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing