We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous ski holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chillchalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bourg Saint Maurice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chillchalet
worcestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous ski holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

The Chill Chalet is as it says very chilled. We took our 17yr old and 5 yr old and all needs were catered for. Chris, Lucy and Sean were great hosts. Food and wine great. Snow and ski area amazing. We did drive and found that having a car there was a bonus as it's a bit of a walk with a young child to the ski lifts (train). But if you are traveling by Eurostar the station is just over the road (you can't hear the trains)! Thank you for a lovely week

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 32FordRoadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
13
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

This is the first time I have stayed with these guys but the second (pehaps third-says it all really) time my boyfriend has. Fabulously simple to book with Lucy with lots of useful info (but not overloaded). Rooms were stylish, clean and with a bathroom on each floor we barely had to share with anyone else.

I felt at home the moment I stepped over the threshold which is essentially once you step off the bus (yes yes we braved the 15 hour bus journey there) or train/eurostar. I think they offer transfers otherwise for the travel sane!

Furthermore, for those who have never hit the slopes before/don't want to bring your equipment these guys offer you a board (for free!) and the local hire guy offers discounts in conjunction with staying at Chillchalet...Tip Top is simply tip top.

There is a great feeling, really great heart warming home cooked food by a rather charming guy called Sean(!) and the company certainly while I was there was great and varied! : )

Big thumbs up! Thank you Chillcalet...thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonkeyCompany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester,England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

We loved our stay at chillchalet, we actually stayed in the Montchavin Chillchalet not the one in Bourg St. Maurice. Everything was fantastic. The rooms were warm and comfortable, always had hot water. The staff were really helpful and friendly showing us good spots to board and the food was excellent. The wealth of snowboarding/Skiing vids on the media player was awesome-Apocalypse Snow 1-3 what an awesome night!!

I loved how sociable chillchalet was.It's such a great format for a chalet, to have everyone eat together in the mornings and evenings, it really stimulates conversation and interaction. Our stay at chillchalet was a 10 out of 10. We have already managed to get one of our other friends onto some snowboarding lessons over here in the UK as we showed her our pictures of our time at chillchalet and on the slopes, and she is now dead set on joining us in 2011 for another holiday to chillchalet, this time for 2 weeks!

The only thing that I think would have made our stay a little easier is clearer signposting as to where the chalet is situated. If you get dropped off in the middle of Montchavin village by taxi then just walk up the the little highstreet, when you reach the pub (on your right hand side) walk past it and turn right and walk past a few chickens in a largeish enclosure (random I know!) and look up a little alley you will see a wooden archway with green writing that says 'Le Freney' Thats Chilchalet! Check my pics with this review. We did feel it is tucked away and not easy to find if you have never been before. Just for information of people reading this (we didn't find it a problem) the walls at Chilchalet in Montchavin are paper thin, you can hear everything everyone is saying in the next room. Other than that it was fantastic and as I said earlier we will be back in 2011.

We were not really going boarding for the nightlife scene and Montchavin was perfect, really chilled out. It's perfect if you are looking for great boarding/skiing and relaxation in the evening. We also met some people who stayed in the Bourg St. Maurice chillchalet and who came for the last couple of days of their trip and stayed in Montchavin Chillchalet and they said that they preferred the Montchavin chalet. We found getting to all the different parts of the Les Arcs complex and everywhere else around the other resorts really easy. Plus the staff were an awesome source of knowledge and happy to show you where to go if they were going out boarding that day.

Check them out at www.chillchalet.com

Thankyou to Lucy (for all your help with the taxi lady!), Duncan and Melissa for making our stay awesome.

Felix Hay & Katie Anderson

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catman161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

I stayed at Chillchalet on my own in March but was made to feel extremely welcome by the other guests and also by Sean. Lucy was very helpful when making the booking giving me advice on travelling to Bourg and even letting me stay from sunday to sunday due to lack of flights on the saturday.

The room I had was clean, furnished to a very high standard and extremely comfortable and warm. The chalet has a great lounge and numerous videos all held on a portable drive, these ranged from snowboard/skateboard and mountain bike videos to stand up comedy, films and T.V programs, perfect for staying in when you are too tired to go out in the evening. The chalet is a short walk from the funicular up the mountain which might but I found this walk to be a perfect warm up for a day on the mountain. Bourg itself is a very pretty small French town and I found the locals in Bourg and Les Arcs extremely polite, friendly and helpful.

What really made the experience great was Sean the chalet host who maintained a relaxed chilled out vibe throughout my stay whilst also cooking some mean grub. I would definately recommend Chillchalet to anyone looking to visit Bourg saint Maurice or Les Arcs and hope that I can visit again soon, all in all I had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mini1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

As a large group on a ski holiday, this was perfect value: the place just made you relax and enjoy your hols. The rooms were comfortable, the food fabulous. Sean catered not only for a mix of vegetarians and meat eaters but also went out of his way to prepare gluten-free meals and even bought gluten-free snacks!- which is quite a job in bread-loving France! He was perfectly accommodating trying to find out info where he didn't know - not that that happened much. He even met some of the boarders to show them some of the features of the snow park, etc. The big collection of books, dvds and movies on demand on the hard disk was a welcome surprise to me - some sideline from the main activities. good value. Well done Lucy, David and Sean!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humberside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

stayed at chill chalet in feb with 5 mates booked it last minute, lucy was more than helpfull with the booking even sorted us out a place to stay on the sat night !!
sean looked after us spot on and his food was really good !! just what you need after a good days boarding and skiing

definately recommended

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigGazHumberside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

I contacted this company late last night looking for urgent accommodation, I received a phone call today which I didnt expect explaining that they had nothing, but instead of leaving it at that Lucy went out of her way to find us alternative accommodation. i would say this goes above and beyond and I was very impressed and shall make sure i go to stay there in the future thanks guys xx

Felix & Tomski Robinson

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FelixRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bourg Saint Maurice hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arolla
Hotel Arolla
#11 of 28 in Bourg Saint Maurice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Petite Auberge
Hotel La Petite Auberge
#10 of 28 in Bourg Saint Maurice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Autantic
Hotel Autantic
#9 of 28 in Bourg Saint Maurice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Mercure - Les Arcs 1800
0.0 mi away
Arcadien Hotel & Spa
Arcadien Hotel & Spa
#12 of 17 in Les Arcs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
#2 of 17 in Les Arcs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chillchalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chillchalet

Property: Chillchalet
Address: 139 rue Desserteaux, 73700, Bourg Saint Maurice, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Bourg Saint Maurice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Bourg Saint Maurice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chill Chalet is an independent, family run chalet that offers a great location to explore some of the best mountains in the world. Our excellent hearty food, comfortable accommodation and relaxed atmosphere make us a great option for your adventure in the French alps.We took over Chill Chalet in August and have made some noticeable change to the menu and overall guest experience.We are in the heart of Bourg St Maurice which is a lively market town at the base of the mountain situated only few minutes walk from the funicular up to Les Arcs. We own and manage the Chill Chalet ourselves, so we are always here and on hand to make sure your holiday is enjoyable and you get the great service! We also benefit from the convenience and choice of local shops, cafes, bars, restaurants and rental locations without resort inflated prices just a stone throw from the chalet. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing