We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chillchalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bourg Saint Maurice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chillchalet
Wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Tired.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

Spent four days at the end of January with my two sons and and two friends.
Location was perfect for the train station and for eating out in Bourg, as we wanted the B&B option as eating chili con carne in France was not appealing.
The Chalet deffinately needs a women's touch! Sion does his best but is only there for the boarding and the levelsof cleanliness overall reflected this. Apart from the changeover day our shower/toilet never got got cleaned. there was no complimentary soap. The floor mat for the shower was disgustingly dirty, and after we checked out it was left out again for the incoming guests!! The bedrooms were ok if you didn't mind the cobwebs. Locks on the bedroom doors should be essential. Leaving all your belongings at the mercy of other guests is disconcerting and should you lose money,camera, passport etc who would be responsible?
If you are travelling by car be advised that the Chalet has no car parking. You need to buy a ticket or face a fine!!
IMHO the Chalet could be fantastic but needs to address some of the issues raised.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hafoty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badweatherday, Owner at Chillchalet, responded to this review, May 19, 2010
I am so depressed to hear the chalet described as 'tired' because we had actually totally renovated the chalet only a few months before these guests arrived which included fitting new bathrooms, laying a new floor, painting every room and putting new furniture, light fittings and curtains in all the rooms!

There is no excuse for poor cleanliness though, so as soon as we saw this review we employed Jemma who worked for us a few years ago to help Sean with the cleaning. He was a lovely host, but he struggled a bit to keep on top of things that were on his cleaning list (like topping up the hand soap, or changing the bath mats) This season we will have 2 new full time staff and 1 part time so there should never be a problem with cleaning again, and I'm sorry that this group had a problem.

A quick note about car parking. The places just outside are free except from 9-12am and 2-5pm but the permanently free spaces are just up the road on the right. I give details about how to find these in your confirmation email, so if you are driving remember to read this before you arrive, or bring it with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
13
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford/London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

Chillchalet' location was so easy for us to get to as we travelled from London by train, literally a 2 min walk to the chalet from getting off the train at Bourg which was great for us - no airport parking charges, no extra baggage penalties, no expensive 2 hour transfers. We liked the fact that we were in a town with some normal life rather than stuck in a purpose built resort on the mountain with inflated prices for everything - true there is a bit of commuting to get to the slopes but it really wasn't a problem as we were out from 9 - 6 everyday so it was perfectly ok to have a bit of travel either end of the day - and the short walk between the chalet and funicular provides a nice warm-up and warm-down. The funicular is regular every 20 mins and the free buses at the top wait for the funicular to arrive so you can get to all the other Les Arcs resorts very easily. We found this very useful as we had beginners with us who didn't fancy riding the long pistes between the easy blues in each resort. We managed to get to see most of the resort in our 7 days - Les Arcs really is massive! Our best days were over in Arc 1950 (marmottes and cascades) when the sun and fresh snow was out with some really lovely gentle and wide runs down through the trees which were perfect for the beginners to practise and had lots of fun off piste kickers and short tree runs for those of us who wanted to have some fun. 1950 is by far the nicest of the Arc villages and food was surprisingly good value.

The Chalet itself was great, very chilled and comfortable, we were left to get on and do what we wanted when we wanted and meals were excellently cooked and we were served generous portion sizes and plenty of wine with meals. Our host was lovely, really helpful and friendly and we were always bumping into each other on the slopes which was nice - it really did feel like home by the end of our stay 7 nights there. We were joined by various other guests who were in for a night or two, so it was good to get to meet a load of people all on different holidays and talking about our days on the mountain over dinner.

Plus we were lent snowboards and bindings, borrowed some nice new jackets and got a discount at the hire shop for our boots and helmets - all a bonus. Chillchalet also organised some one to one private snowboarding tuition for us which was at a great price and invaluable – much better than paying over the odds for a group lesson with a shouty french instructor.

If you don’t want to stay in a package holiday resort and appreciate flexibility for a good price then I strongly recommend Chillchalet. All in all a great set up, run by people that seem to genuinely care about their guests and the service they offer.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeoMcDowall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

Spent a week at Chillchalet over New Year 2010.

The chalet was great: welcoming, helpful and knowledgable staff; comfortable, clean rooms; great food, etc. Great value, especially with the free snowboard hire thrown in.

If you have transport, and want to explore the local resorts it's a great place to stay. However, it's not best placed for exploring Les Arcs / La Plagne. Getting to Arc 1600 takes about 20-30 min via the funicular from the chalet - not too bad - but getting in and out of Arc 1600 to the other areas is a bit of a drag, especially if the conditions are poor. There's one lift out of 1600 and from there it's a bit of a hike to get to La Plagne via Monchavin / Les Coches.

In summary, if you want a relaxed, informal place to stay, where you'll meet some interesting people, go to Chillchalet. But be prepared to be some distance from the slopes. The Chillchalet at Montchavin might be worth a look....

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pb137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

This is a great spot if you want the flexibility to book chalet accommodation on a nightly basis. It's very central in a town that is easily accessible, so a good spot if you have a car and want to tour the various ski regions in the area.
Good value for money with free boards thrown in for the duration of our stay. The beds were very comfy and the decor was modern and fresh. There's a a large library and loads of DVDs for those evenings in. Sean the chef was amazingly accommodating despite our strange dietary needs. Lovely owners too!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

Perfectly located for skiing at Les Arcs/La Plagne and several other areas within 'commuting' distance. Accommodation, Food and Ambience were just what we wanted. Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beerski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sawbridgeworth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

I have stayed at Chillchalet over 8 times now and would highly recommend it to
anyone wanting a snowboarding holiday thats great value for money!.The food and
accomodation has always been of a high standard and the staff are always friendly,approachable and willing to help.It's great to finish a hard days snowboarding to return to the chalet and have a good hearty meal and a drink between friends.I have met many people over the years staying at the chillchalet many of which i am still in contact with.The chillchalet is in a perfect location to explore many other resorts with val d'sere only a short car journey away,thats if you finish exploring the whole resort of Les Arcs in one week!!!
I will continue to recommend chillchalet to friends and colleagues as i have always done after many memorable stays.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndon28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

Booked last minute after finding recommendation from a motor bikers forum. My 2 night jolly was to catch the Tour De France as it stopped off in the town of Bourg St Maurice. The owners Chris and Lucy accommodated all my needs whilst there. I had room to park my motorbike in the front of the chalet which could not have been positioned better to take in the atmosphere of the Tour with excellent views from the chalet balcony. The town is also on your doorstep with a short walk to the funicular train up the mountains where in Summer you can hire mountain bikes or just go walking in the beautiful mountain scenery. Very relaxed homely and friendly atmosphere around the chalet and you can come and go as you feel. Makes a refreshing change to the usually hotel feel. Hope to revisit again.

Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank spongeass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bourg Saint Maurice hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arolla
Hotel Arolla
#12 of 28 in Bourg Saint Maurice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Autantic
Hotel Autantic
#8 of 28 in Bourg Saint Maurice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Petite Auberge
Hotel La Petite Auberge
#10 of 28 in Bourg Saint Maurice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Mercure - Les Arcs 1800
3.6 mi away
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
#2 of 17 in Les Arcs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#8 of 17 in Les Arcs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chillchalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chillchalet

Property: Chillchalet
Address: 139 rue Desserteaux, 73700, Bourg Saint Maurice, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Bourg Saint Maurice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Bourg Saint Maurice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chill Chalet is an independent, family run chalet that offers a great location to explore some of the best mountains in the world. Our excellent hearty food, comfortable accommodation and relaxed atmosphere make us a great option for your adventure in the French alps.We took over Chill Chalet in August and have made some noticeable change to the menu and overall guest experience.We are in the heart of Bourg St Maurice which is a lively market town at the base of the mountain situated only few minutes walk from the funicular up to Les Arcs. We own and manage the Chill Chalet ourselves, so we are always here and on hand to make sure your holiday is enjoyable and you get the great service! We also benefit from the convenience and choice of local shops, cafes, bars, restaurants and rental locations without resort inflated prices just a stone throw from the chalet. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing