We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Singles”
Review of Chillchalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bourg Saint Maurice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chillchalet
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Needing a ski holiday and not having anyone to go with, I went to Chillchalet on the recommendation of a friend. It was really nice, sociable "posh hostel" style chalet. I had a room to myself and then shared with someone else from another group when it got busier. The food was great, no complaints from a veggie, it felt more like doing a mini-season than being on holiday. The short walk to the train means you're on the park side of the Les Arcs resort quicker than if you stayed in the villages of peisey/vallandry and there are lots of non-touristy but very cool bars and cafes to go to, a stumble from the front door. It is communal style - not a hotel but for a middle aged single - this is really good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SituationNormal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 96 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have returned to Chillchalet year after year for its great price and location. Being in Bourg St Maurice I feel you get more of a French experience staying in the town rather than one of the close resorts especially in late season when you can come down from the Hill and have a nice beer at one of the Cafe's in the late spring sunshine. Also Due to the location its easier to try out some of the other close resorts for the day(St Foy,Tignes,Val'D'Isere, La Rosiere etc.)by car or even some by bus. Bourg St Maurice also offers some nice restaurants which are little better priced than the resorts and that pretty much goes for all shopping needs.

Chillchalet is what the name suggests a chilled atmosphere with helpful and happy staff. So if you need a base to explore the valley or just want to Ski/Ride Les arcs its the place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Had a very enjoyable stay at the Chillchalet. Oscar and Kate did a great job of looking after us and the food was really good (generous portions). Looking forward to visiting again. We spent 2 days riding Les Arcs then drove upto Tignes for 2 days (40 mins away).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Had a great week in Les Arcs snowboarding and had really excellent snow conditions considering the time of year we booked. Chill supplied the rest, great food (great Tartiflette the perfect fuel for mountain activity) and wine, comfy warm beds, hot clean showers, a chilled area to watch a movie and the use of excellent quality K2 boards and bindings. As a boarder I reckon Chill has got all just right and focused on all stuff to make a great trip.

Stayed there last year, stayed there this year and will stay there next year.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markellis_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

A group of ten of us stayed at the ChillChalet in December and it was one of the best holidays I’ve had in a very long time.

The snow was epic and after a long day of riding just being able to come back to a warm cozy ‘home from home’ where a hearty dinner is prepared for you with loads of wine was absolutely fantastic!

It’s the little things that make a great holiday and ChillChalet had it covered:

3 bathrooms spread over three floors with lovely hot showers.
Radiators in very room with a hanging rail above it so if you come back wet you can dry your kit.
A boot dryer (lush).
Apple TV, Hard drive with extra films, Wii, a large selection of DVD’s, an abundance of books and board games.
Oscar who’ll wax your board and set it all up for you free of charge!
A selection of snowboards to test and try!
Oscar will take you out and guide you around Les Arcs and film your holiday if you wish.
Coffee and biscuits galore!
Large portions of food with seconds if your still hungry.
Comfy clean rooms.

The list just goes on. The staff are super friendly and fun and accommodate you in every way. We had a vegetarian amongst us which was no problem for the girls they prepared some lovely dishes which she loved. One night dinner was running slightly late and so they gave us a load of chips to nibble on and wash down with beer.

ChillChalet is a few minutes walk from the train station and funicular (which takes you up to the lifts in 1600). The great thing about being down in the valley of Bourg is that everything is cheaper than up on the mountain! Plus you get to see a beautiful typical French town. I recommend you pop into Trois G a delicious little bakery a few doors down from the ChillChalet. Also on the left of Chill there is a Cheese Museum where you can buy some amazing Savoyard produce, Boufort Cheese was my favorite, I took some back for the family!

You can’t go wrong if you stay at the ChillChalet it’s a little piece of heaven!

Room Tip: There are a few rooms which have double beds for couples and others which have single beds. If your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

After considerable email and telephone communications with Chill Chalet it seems the perfect set up for our holiday – how wrong we were!! We arrived after being delayed by 4 hours to an absolutely filthy chalet, with no beds made up, half the light bulbs not working, a bathroom which was completely out of order and stank to high heaven. However, we had to ignore all this, as we had 4 hungry two year olds who needed feeding and as agreed at the outset a kids tea was to be provided on arrival at 5pm – however the fridge was bare (and remained so for the majority of the week). We decamped to the nearest cafe for omelettes and a very large beer.

We finally ventured back to the chalet where things only got worse – the Italian coffee machine had been replaced by a jar in cheap instance coffee, the apple TV was now a pile of 18 rated DVDs, the orthopaedic mattresses replaced with 2” pieces of foam (luckily the weather was excellent so we were able to spend a couple of hours in a deck chair on the slopes each morning which were 100% times more comfortable than the beds – particularly on the bottom floor), the ‘reading room’ had shrunk and was an extension of the corridor, the fully stocked bar had been raided and was no longer stocked .... the list goes on. After numerous conversation with the owners, Chillchalet acknowledged that they were in breach of their promises and after a couple of days offered a full refund if we moved out that afternoon. Despite taking a whole afternoon off from skiing we couldn’t find anywhere that would take us all at such short notice and during the French half term – so we stayed.

Moving onto the services offered – we jumped at the chance of using the Alpine Childcare service (which is owned by the chalet). However, once again we were let down; again Chillchalet recognised there errors and returned the booking fee.

I could go on forever, but I won’t – but I will mention the food – which is always a top priority following a day on the slopes. The first couple of nights started off well, and then rapidly deteriorated, with the final night being served up an inedible mouldy potato and cheap bacon concoction followed by burnt processed apple pie. The childrens’ food was predominately cooked by ourselves – so was considerably better than that provided by the chalet (food cooked for the adults, two nights previously). A €5 refund (for the whole week) was provided for the milk, fruit and meals that we had to buy for the children despite being included in the overall price.

Overall the chalet was a disaster and the response that we have had from Chillchalet has been very, very disappointing. Chillchalet need to decide what their market is and cater honestly to that market and not try to be all things to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnySideUp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badweatherday, Owner at Chillchalet, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

We are saddened that this family felt the need to write such a vicious attack on us. I questioned whether it was even worth replying to it, such is the level of bile on display here, but seeing as how it is in the public forum, I should write a response.

I will answer each point in the order they have written, please bear in mind that I asked for as much feedback throughout the week as possible and dealt with a list of complaints on the first day.

• The only question of dirt was under a sofa, which admittedly our cleaner had missed but came back and sorted as soon as requested.

• One bathroom had a light that had blown and we were waiting on an electrician to sort out, we need a qualified tradesman to work on the chalet, otherwise our insurance in invalid, he came the next working day. I don't know about smell, maybe one of the staff had used it previously?

• The childrens tea was ready at 5pm as requested, the guests arrived early afternoon, and I am sure the children were hungry, that is children for you (having one hungry little one myself) The fridge in question is for guests to put their own beers, drinks and lunch stuff, we keep a separate one for the meals we produce for guests. If it was empty all week that is because you chose not to put anything in it.

• The coffee machine was in order all week, we also have a jar of instant (and decaf) for those who like it. We have since put up instructions for coffee machine, before it was in the chalet info in each room.

• Admittedly the Apple TV had stopped working, due to a power surge that also blew our wifi and the aforementioned bathroom light. This was replaced with a hard drive of over 150 films and tv programmes, of which there is a variety of titles for all ages. There is also a stock of DVDs, most of which are not 18's, there is certainly Shrek and The Chronicles of Narnia among them.

• All our mattresses are orthopedic, I am not sure what to say about this.

• The reading room is as it is on our floor plan, we haven't 'shrunk' it.

• We have NEVER offered a fully stocked bar, in fact, we ordered some drinks on your behalf, which guests would normally pay us for on arrival, that we never charged you for.

• We were given a list of things they would like, which we acted on and no-one took anytime off skiing that me or my staff are aware of, given that one of our staff was nannying for them.

• Our menu has been designed to provide hearty meals after long days on the mountains, one of those meals is Tartiflette, a local dish, made from potatoes, bacon, cheese, onions etc and is a staple of every chalet companies menu, always asked for by guests, our menu is on our website for all to see when booking and we do ask for any dietary requirements, so that if there is anything that isn't fancied it can be changed. We weren't asked to change anything.

• We usually make extra when children want an early dinner and keep it for the next day for them, unless the parents have asked for anything else, again, this was not requested at anytime. We also provided lunches for the children out of our own food budget (which isn't our responsibility) to try and help this family enjoy their trip and to show goodwill. 2 bottles of whole milk were bought by guests, which we refunded the money for, we keep a fruit bowl of apples, oranges, the guests wanted some pears which they bought. I wasn't aware of any meals being bought, apart from the one they had on the chalet night off. Kate, one of our staff was nannying for the children that week and she never saw anyone cooking (which isn't allowed anyway for insurance reasons and is explained)

• I am sorry of the contact you had was disappointing, demands for 50% of your money back being shouted at my wife down the phone and threatening bad reviews on Tripadvisor unless we give you £2500 wasn't very comfortable for us, but we don't back down to bullying behaviour, which ended in us giving you our solicitors address, because the emails were getting nasty.

• Lucy did refund you the booking fee for the nannies (approx £250)

We have looked after thousands of people in our 12 year history. We aren't infallible, we do miss the odd thing, but we try very hard to make it up so that everyone has a great time, regardless of whether you are 6 months, 6, 16, 36 of 60, families, singles, groups, whoever. The 46 good reviews we have on here are testament to this.

Not everyone will like our chalet, location or service, but we only offer what we say we will and it is all on the website for anyone to read, preferably before you have stayed with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I have stayed here a number of times as have my friends and we cant recommend chill chalet highly enough. The owners and their team go out of their way to make you welcome and when it comes to snowboarding there isn't a lot they don't know. Big hearty meals at the end of the day and with bourg right on your door step - chill chalet is the perfect location too. And even though you are right in the centre of town I slept well as the chalet is set back and so you dont hear a thing. Its not the ritz but you wouldnt expect icleanness prices - clean comfortable and had lots of nice touches and has a great vibe.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missflipflop76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bourg Saint Maurice hotels
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Les Lauriers Roses
#9 of 11 in Bourg Saint Maurice
1 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Arc 1950 Le Village
0.9 mi away
Hotel Autantic
Hotel Autantic
#7 of 28 in Bourg Saint Maurice
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
#1 of 17 in Les Arcs
231 reviews
2.2 mi away
Arcadien Hotel & Spa
Arcadien Hotel & Spa
#10 of 17 in Les Arcs
102 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Belmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chillchalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chillchalet

Address: 139 rue Desserteaux, 73700, Bourg Saint Maurice, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Bourg Saint Maurice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Bourg Saint Maurice
Price Range: $83 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chill Chalet is an independent, family run chalet that offers a great location to explore some of the best mountains in the world. Our excellent hearty food, comfortable accommodation and relaxed atmosphere make us a great option for your adventure in the French alps.We took over Chill Chalet in August and have made some noticeable change to the menu and overall guest experience.We are in the heart of Bourg St Maurice which is a lively market town at the base of the mountain situated only few minutes walk from the funicular up to Les Arcs. We own and manage the Chill Chalet ourselves, so we are always here and on hand to make sure your holiday is enjoyable and you get the great service! We also benefit from the convenience and choice of local shops, cafes, bars, restaurants and rental locations without resort inflated prices just a stone throw from the chalet. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing