We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location if you are after a quiet time.”

Les Alpages du Chantel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bourg Saint Maurice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Alpages du Chantel
Muscat, Oman
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Good location if you are after a quiet time.”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment in Chantelle 1. We were five so I had to sleep on the sofa. Apartment is small and sleeping six would have been a real squeeze as whoever sleep in the living room has no storage space for clothes and stuff.

Location is up the hill from 1800. This means it is quiet but away from the shops and restaurants of 1800. There is an excellent bar next door that does great burgers and pizzas and they will deliver to your apartment. Otherwise it's a bus to 1800 for supplies. There is palace for skis and boots but it is not heated. But it is on the slopes. TV is French so bring a DVD player for the kids for the evening.

Pool is small and not that warm. The sauna and steam room are good though and do not seem to be that busy.

We had an apartment facing the slopes and the sun which was great for a few beers after a day on the slopes.

Thee is ski hire place very close by which is also good if you have to hire.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisSakhalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    8
    0
    4
See reviews for
17
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed 2 weeks at Chantel 2 in mid Jan 2012 - perfect low season timing if you can take holidays then - the prices are at their lowest and you aren't sharing the facilities with hordes of others. Luckily our taxi driver waited while we checked if we had the right building as it would have been a long and cold bus + walking transfer if we had to move to Chantel 1 up the hill.

Our apartment was very comfortable, we were fortunate to be given a larger one than we had booked, with the only minor bugbear being that there was no oven, only a combined microwave/grill. We loved the bakery service that was offered - order the night before and collect your croissants, baguettes etc from reception at 8am the following day.

Being at the lower of the Chantel buildings we were only a 5 mins downhill stroll away from the 1800 Charvet shopping centre which had a well-stocked supermarket (with prices at a premium but well worth paying for the convenience), charcuterie, boulangerie, pizza takeaway etc. You then had the option of catching the bus back up the hill or doing a slightly longer stroll back up. We don't think you could have walked from Chantel 1.

Although difficult to find the first time (we should have asked before setting out) the ski-in route was really convenient and the ski storage facility was fine - though we kept our boots in the apartment as the lockers didn't have a drying capacity. We did try to go down to Bourg St Maurice to do shopping at the larger supermarkets, but they were closed on the Sunday afternoon when we went and not having a car meant we would have walked at least 2 km return to get back to the funicular railway.

We had arrived by rail from Paris - a fast TGV trip well recommended - and were very pleased that we had arranged for a taxi transfer up to Les Arcs (Euro 60) as going up via funicular railway + bus transfer would have involved alot of stairs and walking.

In our first week we shared the slopes with 2 British universities and there were big parties every night in 1800. Luckily Chantel 2 was high up so the sound didn't travel that far but our fellow ski school buddies who were staying closer to the village did complain about the noise.

Finally, we found the Reception staff to be very helpful and informative - and spoke English very well which was very handy for us Antipodeans!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spacecrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2008

Travelled with two other families for Easter skiing trip. Booked separate apartments for each family through a travel agent. Apartments very clean and had great views of the slopes and the village. Ski to and from door was excellent and even a beginner would be able to ski from location down to village to join classes or to take lifts up the mountain. However, the location of these chalet buildings are not great if you want to be in the centre of town. There is a shuttle bus that runs every half hour to the village but the bus crashed on first night and we were unable to get to the village. Receptionist suggested we walk down slopes but this is not a viable option with small children - you might get down ok but the walk back up at the end of the night would be horrible, especially with the night temperatures being -12C!

The chalet apartments really need to have a shop within easy reach, without having to go into the village, for all the little necessities, ie, toilet roll - you get given one roll and then you have to buy your own. No cooker in the apartments, just a microwave that is supposed to be an oven too - however, there were no instructions!

The resort itself is very expensive, not helped by the sterling exchange rate of course. One night we decided to eat in and went to the village to buy food. A hot cooked chicken and a loaf of bread cost Euros 21.50 which is about £17!! Eating out is generally expensive too with lunch for 4 costing about £55, but this if not haute cuisine, its hamburger and chips for goodness sake!!!

Skiing was excellent, the pistes are really well groomed and the ski school worked well. Some of us had private lessons and these were excellent too,

In summary, I would recommend the resort but be aware of the high prices, check out the location of your accommodation and if you are going self catering, try and take your own basics as these too are expensive to buy.

Les Alpages du Chantel good quality self catering apartments and the indoor heated pool, steam room and sauna went down really well. I would hesitate to use again due to the out of town location!

  • Liked — the views, indoor pool
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JWardley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick. UK
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2008

I booked a week in these apartments off a website called
Myfrenchchalet.com.
As always for Feb half term week it was very expensive but they were described as four star so felt it was worth it.
The chalet was great, these are relatively new and so not as grubby as some of the Pierre and Vacance apartments you sometimes get in resorts.
The advantages of these aprtments are he fact that you can ski to the door- no lugging ski's and boots anywhere which is a huge bonus. Views were stunning as well.
The BIG disadvantage was the location. They are not a 6 min walk downhill as described- unless you slide down the slope on your bum!
They were a 1.5 km drive up the hill but you could walk up the steep slope in about 15 mins but I do mean steep (and slippery)
There is a shuttle bus which we used a number of times. If you want to be near the action of the resort then these are not for you. If you want a good quality chalet that you can ski to with a nice view then I recommend them

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank WendyTomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bourg Saint Maurice hotels
2.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Arc 1950 Le Village
0.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Belmont
2.6 mi away
Hotel La Petite Auberge
Hotel La Petite Auberge
#10 of 28 in Bourg Saint Maurice
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Alpages de Chantel
0.3 mi away
Residence Prestige Odalys Edenarc
2.5 mi away
Hotel Autantic
Hotel Autantic
#9 of 28 in Bourg Saint Maurice
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Alpages du Chantel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Alpages du Chantel

Property: Les Alpages du Chantel
Address: Arc 1800 | Les Arcs Ski Resort, Bourg Saint Maurice, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Bourg Saint Maurice
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Bourg Saint Maurice
Number of rooms: 182

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing