We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Med Avoriaz - Worth every penny”
Review of Club Med Avoriaz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Avoriaz
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Avoriaz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Club Med Avoriaz - Worth every penny”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I just came back yesterday from an incredible week at Club Med Avoriaz. I am a single Mum iwth 2 young children (4 and 8, boy and girl). They had never skied before. The weather was excellent. Club Med was brilliant. Evrybody was very friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough. We had the time of our lives. The Club Med, managed by Camille, was EXCEPTIONAL. The whole team was EXCEPTIONAL (Camille, Jessica, Elize, Thomas, Suzanne, Swanie, Manon to name a few as they are many!). They could not do enough to make sure the kids are the best time ever and looked after them so so well. A huge thank you from Lois, Wyatt and myself! The kids were not impressed they had to go back to school!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Avoriaz, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this wonderful review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Avoriaz Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your children had such a good time. We are also very proud of our fantastic staff, and glad that they made your holiday so special!

We hope to see you again soon in one of our Resorts.

Kind Regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    285
    115
    49
    32
See reviews for
409
111
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We have been in club med AVORIAZ between 29Jan-4Feb 2012
Before the flight we read some bad reviews about the place but decided to go anyway.
Exept the weather, that was very cold and sometimes windy ,everything else was wonderfull
The club is very well organized .
The chef the village FRED is very good in what he is doing.
The GO friendly and very helpfull.
The food ,drinks at the bar,the service –excellent
It was hard to leave the place at the end of the week.

Adina and Ury Israel

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ciobotariu a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

One word – wow!
We had a great time in club med Avoriaz. I’ve been there 12 years ago and now it was so much better.
The stuff is amazing, the chef de village is great!
The room is clean and nice, the food was very good.
I want to say to the mini club team: thank you – all of you were amazing!!!!!!
We will come back again!
Yoav & Ehud guy

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehud_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Its hard to believe that the previous reviewers are talking about the same hotel. I can only think that perhaps the Management team that was in place before has now changed.

The current Manager, Fred, could not do more. He was there to greet us on arrival, fully explaining everything we needed to know on checking in to the Hotel. He was visible around the hotel from morning to night, taking every possible opportunity to talk and update us on the Hotels entertainment plans. He was there in the Restaurant during the day to greet everyone and he was fully involved in most of the evenings entertainment, complete in running the Magic show.

His Staff were attentive at all times. We could not fault their language skills, nor their knowledge of the resort or the Hotel/Holiday package. They interacted with the guests at every opportunity, offering up their time and assistance where possible. All of this was carried out respectively, allowing those who wanted a quiet time to do so uninterrupted.Our thanks in particular go to Sara who kept us informed (amused) through the week.

The Food was excellent, I cannot think of many items that did not appear in the nightly Buffet. The different themes offered many expensive additions like Steak, Oysters, Salmon & many more. It would be difficult to imagine someone failing to enjoy lunch & dinner each day from the many choices of food and drink.

Food was also served in the Bar around tea time, inc cakes, buns, sandwiches, crisps and breads.

The drinks option at the Bar was brilliant too, there was no obvious limitations on choice nor amounts and there was an additional soft drinks machine for kids and an excellent selection of coffees and teas for the adults.

The Ski lessons, facilitated by ESF were easily organized through the hotel and I cannot fault the fantastic sessions that we had. The guide took us all over the resort, covering many varying runs. This was also important as we had a lot of cloud cover in the first few days and the guide ensured that we wasted little time in finding the best uncovered runs.

All in all from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, Club Med were in complete control and ensured that the best experience was had by all in our party. We have skiied in Avoriaz for 5 seasons now and none of the previous trips (to other hotels) was as enjoyable or easy to facilitate than last weeks. Club Med will be first on the list for the next trip.

Many thanks to the whole Club Med Avoriaz team.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Village offer best views of the whole mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MDGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Avoriaz, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Great Member,

Thank you very much for this great, in-depth review about your stay in our Avoriaz Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your friends had such a good time and that you enjoyed your ski lessons, the dedication of our staff and Chef de Village, and the wide range of food and drinks available.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our Resorts!

Kind Regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Warm welcome...staff were very helpful.
Rooms are pretty perfect for a ski holiday...always hot water, warm and comfy beds...great views from the front.
Food was in abundant supply and good....whole hearty food, just what you need when you are skiing. Kids ate like horses !!
The staff are v French...but as long as you make an effort and really persist...they do get things done for you in needed.
The child care was acceptable...have had better, especially on a ski holiday but they were very competent, caring staffers.

All in all, we had a great trip but I am glad that it was not my first time skiing so that I could help those whose first time it was.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the main village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorCiganin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The only flight to Geneva for us from South West Ireland was Saturday to Saturday. When we booked accomodation with Club Med they told us that we could only book Sunday to Sunday. The girl who took our booking at Sunsail (agents in Ireland) said she would put in a request for Saturday to Saturday accomodation but suggested i ring beforehand to see about availability. I randg the week before arrival and was told to ring on the day of arrival as they would have a better idea. I rang again on the evening we arrived and was told that they did have availability but it would cost €372 euro for the room for the night. I explained that we had already paid for 7 days but as our flights were Saturday to Saturday we would only be using 6 of those days. The Girl from Club Med (Alexandra) was totally inflexible in her approach saying that this was the rate and it was a take it or leave it situation. As i thought the rate was exhorbitant for 1 nights B&B we declined the offer. When we checked in on the Sunday morning the same girl came out to meet us and told us that we could not check in until 3pm and if we wanted lunch we would have to pay for it - €26 each. Again we explained that we would have credit for not staying Saturday due to our flight but once again the woman was not for turning and the attitude was very much - if you don't like it thats tough. Club med really need to address the standard of customer care in this regard. The attitude of this individual really left a bad taste and we questionned whether we would ever go Club Med again (we have been Club Med Skiers for the past three years staying at Les Deux Alpes and Serre Chevalier)
Once we had finally checked in things improved dramatically, other staff were much better. Monica on Reception was very pleasant and accomodating, Tarik was very good, Sara in the bar was brilliant, the Waiter Felipe was excellent and the star of the show for us was Thomas in the mini club and entertainmet team. He provided us with a guitar for singing sessions in the bar and played the harmonica for us at a Club Med gig we did (FOC) Thomas was a great guy who might just have convinced us to try Club Med again.
As for the hotel it is typical of the others, small rooms but adequate with all facilities you need, good shower and comfartable bed. Food is good, not as good as Les Deux Alpes or Serre Chevalier but still good all the same. The skiing is excellent - Ski in and out with excellent instructors who know the region. We found lift system to be excellent and very few queues, snow was great although visibility was poor on several days.
A big let down for this resort is lack of Spa / Sauna / Pool etc. As that is definitely required after a hard days skiing.
Pick up / drop off area in Avoriaz is about 10 mins walk or 5 mins on sleigh.
A little flexibility from Club Med would not go amiss and some staff could certainly do with some Customer Care training. We spoke with several other people during the course of the week who had experienced similar problems. So unless you can fit into the Club Med timetable you should certainly think twice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kruttl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I've been skiing for over 30 years now and this was my third trip to Avoriaz in as many years. Before this I had stayed with Pierre & Vacance self catering and thought that was cost effective, but Club Med for me tops it all. I travelled with a group of 5 other guys, so not the traditional 'family' holiday, and yes it was pretty clear that most of the other guests were not brits (Thank goodness). The whole experience for me was superb....the food (wow) was the best I have ever experienced when skiing. The staff were superb generally, with only one exception of ignorance at the bar, and only once.
Special mention has to go to 'Fred' the 'Chef du Village', who not only runs a tight ship but must do a 100 different jobs throughout the week.

You can quite literally go to this club med hotel and not take any money whatsoever if you have organised your rental upfront.

From arrival to departure we were made to feel incredibly welcome and looked after, which is more than I can say for most ski trips I have ever taken with Crystal, First Choice, Inghams or Bladon Lines.

I love Avoriaz as a destination and would happily go there year after year. Would I go to Club Med again? You bet! As soon as I can book for 2013, i'll be taking my family there next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonLockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Avoriaz, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Avoriaz Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your friends had a good time and that you enjoyed our staff commitment and the dedication of our Chef de Village, as well as the quality of the food. We are also very glad to hear that you are now a Club Med convert!

We hope to see you again soon in one of our Resorts.

Kind Regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avoriaz
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Fontaines Blanches
1.3 mi away
Chilly Powder
Chilly Powder
#4 of 50 in Morzine
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel le Petit Dru
Hotel le Petit Dru
#9 of 50 in Morzine
202 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
223 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Neige et Roc
Hotel Neige et Roc
#26 of 50 in Morzine
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Avoriaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Avoriaz

Property: Club Med Avoriaz
Address: Club Med Avoriaz, 74110 Avoriaz, Morzine, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine > Avoriaz
Amenities:
Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Avoriaz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Med Avoriaz 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set above the clouds at 1800 metres, Avoriaz seems to melt into the snowy mountainside and the steep cliffs, and wears its authentic look with pride. The white paradise reaches right into the busy little streets where horse-drawn sleighs go by. In the traditional mountain style of wooden chalets, this Club Med Village is decorated to create a warm, cosy atmosphere. The ski domain starts right in the heart of the pedestrianized resort, so sporting families can enjoy gliding over the snow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Avoriaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Avoriaz Hotel Avoriaz
Avoriaz Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing