We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too small”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Saskia Falaise
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The 1 bedroom apartment we were booked into as part of a neilson holiday was simply too small for 5 adults and their snowboarding equipment for 1 week. It really shouldn't have been offered to us when we booked and not having been there before i was unable to query it. Ignoring that, the staff were excellent, the location was great for ski school and the rooms were clean and tidy. A simple and basic apartment that is cheap, just beware of sizes!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Thank Ockingshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 743 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

Six of us stayed in two "five-person" apartments on 8th floor. Positives: Excellent location. Almost ski-in + ski-out (~10-15 metre walk). Bountiful slopes! Helpful + friendly staff at residence. Negatives: Small apartments. Had there been any more than three of us in each apartment it would have been too crowded, with nowhere to put luggage/clothes. The bedroom is a box room, but fitted the bill well enough. Biggest negative of holiday however was nothing to do with Saskia Falaise. The transport from airport to Saskia residence and back was shocking. We booked through Alpybus, who constantly lied to us. After numerous emails confirming they would drop us off in Avoriaz ("top" of mountain), the driver then refused when he got to the midpoint and told us to get off in Morzine. We showed him the clear confirmation email + correspondence, but he simply said "not my problem". He then threw our luggage off the bus carelessly, swore at us when we refused to leave and pushed us. When the driver called the management they said it was an admin error and that they would not take us up to Avoriaz for the agreed price. I insisted/told him we were not getting off the bus. Eventually they did take us up. In the time it took however we were too late to get ski lessons, lift passes and ski rental sorted in time, delaying our skiing the next day. After formally complaining they gave us 2 euros each off our return journey only, initially stating they would take us from Avoriaz as agreed! The day before departure I received a text message saying they would only pick us up from Morzine. After again complaining they said they couldn't pick us up from Avoriaz due to the poor weather conditions (it had snowed...surprisingly...the previous day!). They assured us we would be the second of only two pick-ups however. I then received a call from them 1.5 hours before they were due to pick us up that we would have to arrive in the next 45 minutes as they were "concerned about traffic". We hurried down the mountain to our new meeting point, only to find that the reason for this was they had now crammed several groups together on a bus that stopped at 8 further residences before arriving at the airport! To say we felt like cattle being herded would be an insult to animal rights. Avoid Alpybus.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The P&V empire is all very predictable but if you want reasonably- priced accommodation, you shouldn't go far wrong here. The Falaise area of Avoriaz is quite attractive really but there can be a bit of noise at night from "revellers" if you have kids. The bedrooms are just about reasonably sized but I'd say that my bunk room was not big enough for 2 adults, whether they squeezed a bunk in or not. Just tiny. The kitchens are fine but I've got issues with plugs right next to a tap, with a coffee maker and a kettle right on the edge of a sink. Again, this seems space- related. Bearing in mind that we were in the biggest (6-8) person apartment, this isn't really good enough and the kitchen needs to be bigger. Overall, decent value for money but the rooms are really very small. I'd also add that the air is VERY dry, even though we turned the heating right down, (woke up congested every morning), though this may just be an alpine issue!

Room Tip: Not sure what this means but I'd overestimate how much room you think you'll need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

It was a great time. the residence is adequate and coherent with description. Strenghth points: location, tidiness,dimension of the flat and view- Weak Points: a bit old, ski room needs refurbishment and ski boot warehouse is not existing in a warm place. No bench available in skiroom so you need definitvelly to put them on in your place. A bit more assistance day1 in finding some place to eat would have been welcome (restaurants were fully booked so a bit of warning or more proactive assistance would have been welcome)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
1  Thank Leonardo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The overall experience at the Saskia apartments was very good and the staff were friendly and helpful. The room (sleeps 4-5) was good and there was two sofa beds and a double bedroom at the side. The apartment was a good size for us as there were only three of us although there was no storage in the double bedroom apart from a bedside table and some coat hooks but, within the apartment there were two generous sized storage cupboards for suitcases etc. The only room that really let the apartment down was the bathroom - it was fully functional and hot water was of abundance but the suite itself is in need of modernising. The views from the balcony were excellent and ski/snowboard storage was adequate and easily accessible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor (we were on the eighth floor) as the views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
2  Thank RachL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I think we must of paid over the top for this one bedroomed apartment as it was very poor value for money. However I normally look at the bright side and it did do what it was meant to. However the room was very small (tiny) and the staff did not really seem to care. Went to retire on the first night and then realised that we had no sheets for the beds or towels. These appeared the next day, They had forgot them. A few other issues and then when checking out they refused to look after our bags for the day as it was "a Monday". Not sure what difference this should make but a really odd decision on their part. If you can get this cheap then go for it but don't expect any luxuries.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

For me there are two things which make a stay at Saskia Falaise P&V valuable: the great location (wonderful view from the balcony and you can ski directly from the ski room onto the slopes and the elevators) and the friendly and helpful staff.

Although this, it has to be said that the apartment for 4 people that we stayed in was on the small size, even for 3. The living room is acceptible, but the beds are small and you don't have any space to change clothes, to walk around in the apartment,...

Another negative point is that the breakfast service was not yet available when we stayed there (during the first days of the skiing season).

Overall, you get a clean but small apartment and when you want to book this, please choose an appartment for more people than you actually go.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JochenD140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avoriaz
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Fontaines Blanches
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Atria-Crozats
0.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Antares
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Saskia Falaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Saskia Falaise

Address: 90 rue du Douchka, 74110 Avoriaz, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine > Avoriaz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Avoriaz
Price Range: $108 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Saskia Falaise 3*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic doorstep skiing.Central lively location in the heart of "La Falaise". Panoramic views of the Morzine Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Saskia Falaise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre And Vacances Residence La Falaise
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Falaise Hotel Morzine-Avoriaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing