We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for ski groups”

Les Fontaines Blanches
Ranked #9 of 44 Restaurants in Avoriaz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Perfect for ski groups”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

As ski chalet guests will know there is always one night in a week's holiday when you have to eat out on the staff day off. Choosing a restaurant for a group of say 14 can often be a challenge and taking a tour operator's suggestion, a risk, always wondering if their suggestion is down to some gratuity later. This restaurant is highly recommended and we were a group of 13.
Food quality was excellent and portion sizes generous.
Everyone was served their main course at the same time which was indicative of a well run kitchen.
In the evening you have to order a-la-carte so expect to pay accordingly.
Our table was booked for 7:00pm and we were the first party in the restaurant.
It quickly filled up and diners were waiting at 9:00pm for the restaurant's second sitting.
Definitely a top restaurant in the area and I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    155
    49
    33
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,029 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 691 helpful votes
“Top quality food, service & ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This restaurant is in the center of the main street in front of the Office of Tourism. It offers all the regional specialties (raclette, fondues, tartiflette) together with a large selection of meat, fish, and vegetarian dishes. Most meat/fish dishes are served with multiple colorful vegetables (not just plain fries like most other restaurants). Portions are huge. You may also sample many dishes from the all-you-can-eat buffet (17,50 euros) which features good choices like viande des grisons, salmon, shrimp, filet mignon, etc.
It is so successful you'd better book a table for lunch (12h or 13h30) or dinner or run the risk of not having a table. Service is very friendly even if slow sometimes due to the fact that it is always packed.
To give some examples, I loved the ravioles aux cepes (fine pasta with ceps mushrooms) and the entrecote came with 6 different vegetables (including a small casserole of gratin dauphinois). For 4 people we paid $120 including 1 soup, 4 mains, 2 deserts, 1 bottle of cider, 1 coca cola and 1 tea.
I am surprised that Trip Advisor doesn't list 2 other excellent restaurants in different price ranges: La Réserve between Main street and La Falaise (slightly more pricy than the Fontaines but great food) and the Globe Trotters, at the lower end of Main street, most main dishes under 10 euros and very good food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingCat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shetland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Still the best in Avoriaz”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great food from an extensive menu.Gets busy so advisable to book if dining after 20.00hrs.A little cramped for seating especially downstairs.40 Euros should get you two substantial courses and enough wine to get a good glow on.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our meal - great food and excellent service. Our meal came to around £30 per person for 2 courses, wine and coffee.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdamHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I have been in this restaurant for many years, the food and the service are really excellent, very busy during the high season, people may found it noisy, but all the places are during the high winter season. There is there a great "bistrot ambiance". There is a big variety of local food and other, large portion and raisonnable prices.
Big disappointment, the place is closed this summer, it is a pity, we miss Michel and his staff.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helena_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Fontaines Blanches also viewed

 
Avoriaz, Morzine
Avoriaz, Morzine
 

Been to Les Fontaines Blanches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing