We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Skiing but Poor customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Just spent a week for midterm. Great location with ski in and out. On arrival our apartment was not cleaned, beds not made up, no towels or toilet paper. On complaining we were offered another apartment in better condition. Although we did find the dishwasher full with dirty dishes. One toilet roll provided for a week. Not 5 star customer service !!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
4  Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

Great accom, great view of Morzine, great location, proper ski in and out, a bit out of the centre, but only 10 mins walk to the centre. Bedrooms could be a bit bigger, but living room very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Thank Julien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I think the 5 star rating is very over rated. Apart from the decoration they was very little 5 star facilities. The staff are all very young and seem inexperienced and no manager could be contacted when requested. The bar closed each night at 9pm except for the night the French rugby match was on! The one time we ordered from the bakery service it never arrived and with a diabetic daughter we missed our lesson that day as she has to eat before exercise. There was only 1 key issued per room and at the price I think cleaning and 1 towel change at least should be included. The bins were overflowing outside the main reception. We were 20 minutes late for dinner on the first night and the restaurant on site had given our table away and we had to wait 30 minutes for another table. The food was pretty average too. Very much "Club Med" experience! (Which is not a good thing)
The positives are the ski in-ski out facility which was great especially with kids and the snow!!!! Back to Austria from now on.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
7  Thank NicFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Apartment was excellent except for the cleanliness of the bathroom floors very dirty I had to clean them again on arrival otherwise the stay was excellent? Kitchen in he standard apartment is tiny. Oven takes a while to work out how to work it as it's a grill oven and microwave all in one but got the hang of it. Sofa bed is the best one I have ever slept in


  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
1  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Had a heating out rage for 3 days. Bad heating and no hotwater. Reception was very little receptive to complaints concerning this.
Had a heating out rage for 3 days. Bad heating and no hotwater. Reception was very little receptive to complaints concerning this.
Had a heating out rage for 3 days. Bad heating and no hotwater. Reception was very little receptive to complaints concerning this.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
4  Thank Henrik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Just returned from a half term ski-ing trip to Avoriaz. We chose to stay at L'Amara after reading good reviews in the Times and Telegraph and booked a 3 bed apartment for our family. The apartment was nicely furnished and had a terrace with a great view and had plenty of room for us but wasn't properly cleaned on our arrival so there was lots of things hanging about from the previous occupant - things in the shower, drawers etc - not a good start. We had booked a cleaning service to come three times during our stay and they didn't turn up on the first occasion, and eventually came the following day only to do a rough clean and not take out the rubbish, replace loo rolls etc. They didn't turn up the following two times and reception were vague as to why. Again, very disappointing. Communication from L'Amara is terrible, we called to investigate making restaurant reservations on our first night and were asked to call again later 'when the book was available' only to be told everywhere was fully booked and that we should have called before. Again, on trying to book a massage at the spa, we were told it was fully booked all week and that we should have booked before we arrived - fair enough if you are busy but why on earth don't they tell you this!?
Moaning aside, its a great property and the fact that you can literally ski out from the boot room door onto the piste is a real bonus. The pool, sauna, steam area is also nice (pool a bit on the cold side like others have said - come on, P&V sort this out) and the bar is great. We ate at Le Lodge which has a great view and BBQ on the terrace on sunny days and Le Grande Cafe on several evenings, both of which were good. My children also loved the horse and sleigh taxi service and found that great fun. All in all, so much is good but sadly the awful service really lets it down.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JoFlynn42a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Spent half term holiday in a 2 bed duplex. Apartment and location are great but:

- Don't do half board as the menu choice is limited especially for children and doesn't change for the whole week. Just take the breakfast option!
- Check in and check out is an awful experience and the staff are nothing short of rude. The "manager" needs to go on a customer service / management training course.
- When you come to leave the luggage room isn't big enough and the lounge / bar becomes a waiting room : not very pleasant.
- Pool / sauna etc is great but they don't supply towels ! And there is no supervision for children
- As someone else has mentioned : only 2 loo rolls for 5 people and they don't replace them! We came on holiday and didn't expect to have to go shopping for essentials!

In summary we would come again but the corporate machine that is P&V needs to pull its socks up and improve both customer service and the overall customer experience. At the price you pay you really should be getting better value for money. It's the little things that make a holiday experience and they fall short here. But they are easy for P&V to fix !

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FulhamFamilyFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avoriaz
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Fontaines Blanches
3.0 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chilly Powder
Chilly Powder
#4 of 50 in Morzine
282 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Atria-Crozats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara

Address: Quartier l Amara, 74110 Avoriaz, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine > Avoriaz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Avoriaz
Price Range: $233 - $760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing