We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

only down side they charge for hot tub, but steamroom and sauna hot.swimming pool nice after a days skiing.fresh bakery was nice a local supermarket stocks all .horse ride into town was nice for the kids .lots of restaurants too chose from

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Thank macaris2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

Very good location , direct access to the slops , large rooms ,swimming pool and sauna are very clean and in good conditions. It was my secound stay in this place and I will come again in next year. It was reale good time for me and my family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Thank Stanislaw D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

A fairly new addition to the huge number of properties P&V have in Avoriaz. We had two rooms. Overall they are excellent: stylishly and comprehensively furnished and kitted out, sometimes to the point of absurdity: I had a double room and one of its items was an arty decorated tea chest that served no purpose other than to get in the way - and given the meagre amount of floor space not occupied by the bed it was a royal pain in the backside. One of our flats had no toilet roll, the other no welcome pack. We also struggled to find one of the ski rooms - No 4, which was not mentioned anywhere on the guides posted everywhere.
The living room/kitchen was open plan and well furnished with comfortable seats etc. The TV was fairly good and had BBC 1, world service and CNN amongst others. There was a dishwasher, and they provided 5 tablets in one of the welcome packs. The bathrooms were excellent - stylish, well constructed and with lashings of hot water. One of our bathrooms had piped music!
The reception staff were helpful within the confines of their rule book, which meant that they did not much more than smile and give you the time! The bar only served bottled beer, and was open at all the wrong times for us - so we spent most of our time in the main town.
The main drag is about 10 minutes on foot, as is the supermarket, so not too bad.
I found the overall level of practical information available utterly lacking: no-one or nothing pointed out the way to the slopes, or the way back. Although this wasn't too difficult it was irritating that P&V don't provide this sort of practical information.
The spa is great - everyone should make at least one visit during their stay.
The best thing was definitely the ski-in/out element, along with the fact that none of our group was anything other than impressed - and we are usually disappointed by our accommodation in some way (we ski as a group of 10 every year, and have done for 30 years now, so have been to a lot of places).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralphblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I, along with my wife, son, daughter-in-law and grandson have recently returned from a week’s ‘skiing’ holiday to the L’Amara resort in Avoriaz. (I say skiing as neither my wife nor I actually ski)!

I have tried to avoid duplicating other comments on here, hopefully what follows will provide some added information which will assist others when either considering or visiting the resort.

We travelled with Inghams (who were excellent) flying to/from Geneva airport. The transfer took around 2 hours as the coach dropped of other passengers in Morzine before making the ascent up to Avoriaz. (You should note the road at this stage is particularly twisty with numerous hairpin bends.)
Avoriaz itself is a ‘car free’ environment. The coach will therefore drop you at the transport terminus where your luggage etc. will be loaded into a trailer pulled by a snow cat prior to it being transported to your hotel, whilst you are escorted by your rep to the reception (fortunately the L’Amara is one of the closest hotels to this point). If you are visiting in the winter months, once you leave the terminus building, you will be walking on snow (there are no cleared footpaths throughout the resort) so be prepared with your choice of footwear. If travelling by car/taxi, then I would expect you would be able to drive directly into the hotels underground car park.

The L’Amara resort actually consists of 6 separate buildings, surrounding a central area. (Dharma, Prana, Surya, Sveta, Amenda and Chandra.) The hotel reception, pool, spa and bar are all located in Surya. Although they are separate buildings, it is possible to move between the buildings without venturing outside if you go to the -1 level.

Check in was quick and easy, and although they do not guarantee your room will be ready before 17:00, if it is you can move in and unpack straight away.

Our ‘room’ was a 2 bedroom duplex apartment, designed to sleep 6 (1 double and 1 twin room upstairs, along with bathroom and toilet and a double bed/sofa in the lounge with toilet in the lobby.) It would have been a tight fit for 6 adults, but as I guess it’s only meant to be used for eating / sleeping it is perfectly adequate. The room was in good order, clean and tidy with beds already made up. Unusually there was a good range of English speaking TV channels, including Cbeebies for the little ones. There is free WiFi in both the rooms and bar/reception area. One minor issue was resolved very quickly by the hotel once it had been reported.

The kitchen area had an induction hob, built-in microwave/grill, large fridge and dishwasher. All appliances were by Whirlpool, but without instructions. (The microwave/grill being quite difficult to work out). There were sufficient crockery, cutlery and cooking utensils.

Being on the edge of the resort, the L’Amara is quiet and relaxing. There are two restaurants in the immediate vicinity, but if you want a wider choice, then you will need to venture to either the Falaise or Festival parts of the town. We felt the cost of eating out generally to be quite expensive, but at least the restaurants we tried were reasonably competitive.

Previous comments have been made about the temperature of the pool in the hotel. It is true that when you first enter the pool it feels cold, but I have to say that after a few minutes of swimming it feels fine (however it’s not as warm as the Aquariaz pool). We did not use the spa.

There are 3 supermarkets in Avoriaz, the nearest to L’Amara being the Sherpa in Falasse. They stocked all the essentials and also had a dedicated ‘British’ section where you could get Heinz baked beans, HP sauce etc. The Carrefour Supermarket in Festival was bigger, but it’s further away (and uphill) to bring your shopping back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geoff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Great place & apartment. Lovely staff. Bar area beautiful. True ski in ski out to from the door. Everything would have been marked 5 except for the freezing cold pool. Did complain at the start but nothing was done. We did book for the use of a pool every day but everything else was excellent so not too much of a big deal. Supermarket is just a few minutes up the hill or take a bag with you and you can get a bit of shopping in Festival and Poma & ski back to door. Bar in L'amara normal French prices but really lovely and cheaper than some of the bars up by the Sherpa supermarket. Pizza average 12 Euro which is not bad for France and they are lovely. On the mountain find and have luch at La Pierre au Loups (the rock of the wolf) at the top of the Pierre Longe chair. Nice staff, Great pizza and lots of atmosphere. Shut on a Monday though. Don't wait till the end to take Mossettes lift to Switzerland. So beautiful and great skiing you will regret it like us if you do. Come back to Avoriaz the same way though because the other ways have lots of flat sections. Ok on skis but not for my poor snowboarder son!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Thank Jungle72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Did not find information about the laundry room. This is a very important part for active sports. As a result, it exists and it should be used. Good location, spacious apartments, good technique, and general comfort.





  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Thank terribleRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

First of all, this is a great place to stay. We were dropped off (by taxi) directly under reception and so did not have to drag our bags anywhere. The buildings themselves are spectacular. The apartments, though small, have (pretty much) everything you want - including UK TV and free wifi. The bar is nice. The reception staff are really, really friendly and went out of their way to be helpful.

Our ski room was about 10 metres flat from the end and the beginning of skiable ground, so there was no schlepping about at the start or the end of the day. There were no seats in the ski room, but you could sit outside to put your boots on.

We didn't use the pool except for a shower on the last day, but it looked great.

We ordered breakfast bread and croissants from reception everyday which was great and ate at the grand cafe one evening which was a very good meal (though 16 euro for two bottles of mineral water was taking the p*** a bit).

The sherpa supermarket was 5 mins walk away and the main street about 10 mins.

So onto what does 5 stars mean? Well to me, it doesn't mean the following: no hairdryer (though I could borrow one from reception), a bedroom door that doesn't close unless you jam a pair of tracksuit bottoms on it, dirty dishes in the dishwasher when you move in, a cigarette hole in the duvet cover. All in all, these are little things but they are not 5 stars in my book.

So, a lovely place, but perhaps a bit oversold. Though I'll finish by saying again how friendly the staff were.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnismith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avoriaz
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Les Cotes, Residence Loisirs et Chalets
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Fontaines Blanches
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chilly Powder
Chilly Powder
#4 of 50 in Morzine
282 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#2 of 50 in Morzine
240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Neige et Roc
Hotel Neige et Roc
#26 of 50 in Morzine
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara

Address: Quartier l Amara, 74110 Avoriaz, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Morzine > Avoriaz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Avoriaz
Price Range: $228 - $784 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing