We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveler rating
4
1
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
1
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main lifts ski total wc basement chalet corridor rooms snow slopes week
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 10 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I'm writing this review on our last evening at Perce Neige. A group of 10 of us arrived on 2nd Feb 2014.
Ski Total have been great, from our arrival in Geneva, the bus journey to Avoriaz, taking our luggage to the chalet by rat tracks and giving us the best service through the week.
The food has been top notch, 3 course dinners, cooked breakfast, we even got pancakes for breakfast this morning.
Our chalet hosts Matt and Ben have been awesome, they've looked after our every need, kept us entertained and were full of local knowledge. They kept the chalet clean and tidy, all meals were on time and cooked to a high standard. They made you feel very welcome and had a great sense of humour.

Our Ski Total Rep Andy was also great. He booked us activities for the week, including paragliding, night sledging, took us to the torch decent by the ESF ski school and organised a bar orientation to show us round town. He was contactable 24/7 and came by twice a day to let us know weather reports and give us different information we might need.

The fire does work, although a bit smokey to start with. The boot room was always warm and the boot rack made sure we had toasty boots for the morning. We had a sauna everyday after skiing, took 20 mins to warm up and was a lovely treat to end your day before dinner.

Due to previous reviews we had no idea what to expect but we have been blown away with the chalet and our hosts. 2 sets of our guests had the rooms under the eaves and although they had to be careful, their heads largely remained in one piece.

Great position next to the main piste in avoriaz and close to ski schools and the on piste food stops, nice gentle run down through the town to the main lifts and is 'ski to door' if you are willing to take a short 100m off piste detour.

Would highly recommend this chalet but please don't book all at once because we want to come next year too!!!!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank Rebandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelplan, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Perce Neige, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear rebandy,
Thank you so much for posting this review, our first this season. It's great to read how much you all enjoyed your stay and what a terrific job our staff are doing. We'll see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We are a group of 14 skiers stayed in this chalet, March, 2013.location of this chalet is excellent, but the sitting area is very poor, just two benches. It has a lovely fire place but we were told,it is blocked. Rooms 4&7 were described on ski total web site as twin rooms with beautiful Eve's, in fact they both had a 5 feet high beam right across the room. I banged my head at least 3 times a day, my head was bleeding and was witnessed by the resort manager. Those two rooms are not fit for adults and Ingham/ski Total needs to be honest and correct the discription of this chalet on their web site

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
5  Thank Sam Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I fully endorse the views of the "Bullioncollector" below, we were with the same group (Keyneskiers - Milton Keynes Ski Club) and were fortunate enough to have one of the double rooms that was nice. For us the most disappointing aspect was the lack of a comfortable lounge area, there is also no TV.
The chalet staff were friendly enough but not very well organised, crockery and glasses were the cheapest possible and several were chipped.
The location of course was excellent and ski in/ski out is possible, the village centre is a short walk away, and we also recommend the Yeti bar near by.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
6  Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Booked this chalet for a group of 14 based on its description on the Ski Total website.
There are 2 double rooms on the first floor. These are indeed very nice. However the two twins rooms 4 and 7 are a joke.
Described as having attractive beamed ceilings what they don't tell you is the following -
These two rooms have a large beam that crosses the middle of the room, about shoulder height for an adult. Getting out of bed you inevitably bang your head. This room design in my opinion is actually dangerous. There is a small shower opposite a sink behind a sliding door. There is not enough room in this bathroom to get dried. Okay you have a shared WC in the corridor but it is narrow and does not have a sink to wash your hands.
The basement twin rooms which are apparently discounted surprisingly have very large bathrooms.
Rooms 4 and 7 would definitely best be descibed as children's rooms and not fit for adults.
As for the common room it has wooden bench seating, the most uncomfortable lounge ever. There is a traditional open fireplace and with all he logs piled outside you might expect an inviting log fire but no - the fireplace is for show and on our visit was blocked off.
The boot warmer was not switched on and after we turned it on there was a strong burning smell suggesting it had not been used for a very long time.

As for bread served at breakfast and dinner; minutes from shops and bakers selling gorgeous crusty French sticks and croissants etc, Inghams policy is to only provide what is best described as the cheapest part baked aenemic Azda style frozen bread. At least on this holiday, the bread was finished in the oven. My previous Inghams catered chalet holiday saw the bread chopped into small pieces and lighty toasted. Disgusting Inghams - this skimping on bread does you no favours whatsoever.

On a positive note the chalet location is excellent and Avoriaz a great location.

Having stayed in the room without full ensuite and having to stand bent over all the time for fear for being scalped by the roof beams I definitely felt cheated and therefore have to give this chalet the thumbs down.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
6  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EspritHolidays, Manager at Chalet Perce Neige, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

We do forewarn within our brochure description of rooms 4 and 7 in both the Chalet Perce Neige and the adjoining Chalet Violetta that they are ‘under eaves’ and have beamed ceilings, and also refer to variations in head clearance and other aspects of chalet bedrooms, which may differ even within the same accommodation. The bench seating in the living is as shown in our brochure photograph of the chalet and is as the reviewer has described, though has not been the subject of negative feedback from other of our guests previously. It is unfortunate that, during the week of the reviewer’s stay, the fireplace could not be used though our staff are working with the chalet owner in a bid to have the facility fully reinstated. This party have submitted a formal complaint in writing, which is being handled by the Guest Relations team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here as a group of 14 guys and were more than looked after by our chalet hosts,Matt & Rosie. They went out of their way to feed us well putting so much effort into producing consistently good food and free flowing wine. The chalet is clean and modern with ski room downstairs and sauna. The only downside we would say about the chalet is that there is nowhere comfortable to sit, only chairs with cushions and benches with cushions. The chalet is perfectly located on the edge of the slopes and right next to the town area. I would really recommend the chalet and if you get Matt & Rosie from Ski Total you can be assured of being looked after.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank markmedown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews