We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good all round”
Review of Chalet Les Lauzes

Chalet Les Lauzes
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avoriaz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Les Lauzes
Ranked #12 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Avoriaz
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good all round”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with family in this chalet last week, we ere a party of six adults, two children and a toddler of 18 months.

The chalet itself is three stars, it's fairly basic and the communal dining / living area is small. The rooms are all of a good size and all but one is en suite. There is no tv bug the wireless was fine. For three stars i think this is very much as we expected. You can ski in and out easily and it is close to town forbears and restaurants.

The chalet did have one redeeming feature and that was Hester our host. She was very welcoming and helpful thorough out, her cooking skills were fantastic and she was just great with the kids going that extra mile whenever she could. She cooked them pancakes in the morning after they asked, no requirement or expectation she just did it. She kept the Chalet very clean all week and really did make our holiday excellent. Very impressive and lots of responsibility for someone who is only 18. Certainly a huge credit to ski total.

The other staff were also great including Andy and Tommy, both who went out of their way to help us with various requests during the week.

We would certainly return and very much enjoyed a great week in Avoriaz.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterflybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelplan, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Les Lauzes, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear butterflybrown,
Many thanks for your review and the kind comments about our team in Avoriaz. We shall certainly let them all know how much their efforts are appreciated and what a difference they made to your holiday. We'd love to welcome you back here next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed here last February and had a great time. So why has it taken me 12 months to write a report? Because we are going again but staying in one of the other Ski Total Chalets and after reading several reports I wanted to give my perspective.
I agree with Hull Tabler - it does exactly what it says on the tin!! GREAT location, great skiing and whilst the rooms vary in size (ours was two single beds, a wardrobe and en-suite) I am surprised at some comments nd question what people were expecting? We had a great time, Rachael was fantastic and the food & wine / beers great - and there was lots.
Comfort factor - its a 3 star and has everythign you need - This was the first time we had chosen the catered chalet route as we usually go self catering - we were very impressed and with the flights, connections, food and wine - Hassle-free and Great value for money. And that is why we are going back again in March 2014.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We travelled as a group of 4 (Polar Bears) and booked last minute to stay with Ski Total at Chalet Les Lauzes. I've had few bad experiences with Ski Total in the past but this trip was without incident and ALL the Ski Total reps were really good.

The place is small for groups of 10 but has a great atmosphere and if you're an experienced 3 star chalet based skier you shouldn't be disappointed. We had the 2 rooms without an ensuite but our bathrooms had a bath and shower (a little bit of luxury).

The chalet host Racheal was great and the food was above the star rating, well done to her.

The chalet is very close to the piste, there is a little bit of polling in the morning, to get to the piste and by the end of the week we even managed to virtually ski to the door, after dropping off the cretes run as high as we dare!

The chalet had full occupancy (10) we were lucky as ALL the other guests had a good sense of humour and we all got on well, even after long nights on the grenache. In fact on some nights there was even dancing!

The Avoriaz area is fantastic with loads of skiing.

In short a great little budget chalet but enjoy the vast skiing area.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the basement room next to the boot room, there is nasty smell down there. All the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hull-Tabler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We ( a group of 7 family and friends) have just returned from a week's stay in Les Lauzes where we had sole occupancy. We all agreed that the Chalet is situated in a great location. We felt, however, that it was better suited to a maximum of 8 adults as dinner for 10 would be a bit tight. Our chalet host, Rachael, provided an excellent and varied menu. The rooms and general accommodation was better than expected.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 have a balcony with great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuffers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford on avon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I can't beleive we considered cancelling this holiday after reading previous reviews.Chalet Les Lauzes has a fantastic location right on the slopes. All the Ski Total reps were extremely helpful and friendly. Our Chalet host Rachael was an amazing cook serving great meals everynight.The living space is a little snug , but the standard of accomadation is higher than appartments we have previously stayed in in Avoriaz, and the location makes up for it.


.Chalet Les Lauzes is what it says on the tin- 3 star! Another plus- Sunday transfer so less busy on arrival and are able to enjoy a quiet Saturday last day ski!

Room Tip: avoid the basement room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Recently back from Chalet Les Lauzes in Avoriaz. Fantastic snow in the whole of the portes de soleil. OK the chalet was a little smaller than the ski total one we had in Val last year we but there aren't that many chalets in Avoriaz so compared to some friends in nearby apartments our chalet was luxury living.
It was a little cramped if everyone stayed in but our amazing hostess, Rachael kept the place in excellent shape and cooked us some wonderful meals. She came out skiing / boarding with us a couple of times and was a constant source of encouragement and advice to our daughter who was a slightly nervous beginner at the start of the week but was down the reds with the rest of us by day 5. Previous comments appear to have been addressed and we didn't suffer the issues we had been concerned about. Would definately return to Avoriaz or Morzine with skitotal in future.

Room Tip: Room with balcony best. Should be a discount for the bottom room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just days back from this chalet. As ever really enjoyed skiing in Avoriaz but really can't recommend staying at this chalet for the following reasons. Its tiny and whilst it may sleep 10 people it does not in any way shape or form comfortably seat 10 people. It has 2, three person sofas which will seat that number of adults. There is a tub chair and the remaining chairs are rock hard tiny wooden chairs that don't even have a cushion. At the dining table you end up squashed in due to little or no room, so ensure you only eat alongside small hobbits!

There is a god awful faecal like smell coming from something in the basement where you will find one of the bedrooms. I complained about the smell - nothing changed. I did read a review previously but assumed it wouldn't be that bad - I was very wrong.

Cleanliness of communal areas - not great. Quality of bread/croissant - not great...actually a little odd. Cereals that were left in large bowls with cling film to cover, meaning that everything bar the muesli was chewy, rather than crisp.

Remember there is no television, and the wifi worked sporadically. Having read the terms and conditions Ski Total are not responsible for the wifi, it's the owners responsibility - whoever he/she is.
Absence of a boot warmer so boots didn't dry out after a day of skiing.

The ski host was new, 18yrs old and wasn't able to answer a lot of our questions. No idea about lift times or happy hours. No extra piste maps lying around the chalet. On the last day given the awful weather conditions at most english airports and cancelled flights the host asked my partner if our flights were ok or would we be delayed...really!? No instructions to work the cooker on the host day off.

I asked for guest service report to detail my complaints and was told I could have a guest feedback form but not till the next day because there were none, I saw them above the fridge...as it was, it made no difference.

I would say if you want space, comfort and good quality facilities think long and hard about staying here, however if you are willing to compromise all for the location then book away. Seriously though the basement smells so bad it made me heave!

Room Tip: Please please don't stay in the basement it stinks!!! Most other rooms are acceptable. Good show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EspritHolidays, Manager at Chalet Les Lauzes, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We are disappointed that, though the skiing in Avoriaz itself was enjoyable, this reviewer was not entirely satisfied with their accommodation in the Chalet Les Lauzes. Our brochure description of the chalet is accompanied by photographs of the dining table and part of the lounge area. There is no TV advertised, nor do we state that the ski and boot-room has any heated facilities, though WiFi is offered and our staff have reported no issues since a new router was installed.
Our resort staff are trained extensively pre-season in all aspects of their role, so it is disheartening that the reviewer has expressed concerns over the housekeeping in the chalet and aspects of the catering. These points have been referred to the resort management team for review with the staff accordingly. The chalet host is not always the best-placed person to ask questions pertaining to the wider resort or travel arrangements – the resort representative, however, is able to answer such questions and does carry a stock of piste maps for guests. One point that should be mentioned is that, no, guidance is not given to guests relating to operation of the cooking facilities on the staff day off, since this is not permitted, though our staff will of course recommend local restaurants or offer advice on local takeaway options should guests wish.
Reports indicate that there was an odour present in the chalet for a short time, the source of which has since been discovered and our staff have taken steps to ensure that this is addressed and that no further such issues arise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avoriaz hotels
0.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence L'Amara
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Dromonts
Hotel des Dromonts
#2 of 4 in Avoriaz
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Atria-Crozats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Club Med Avoriaz
Club Med Avoriaz
#1 of 4 in Avoriaz
736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Saskia Falaise
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Fontaines Blanches
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Les Lauzes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Les Lauzes

Property: Chalet Les Lauzes
Address: Rue des Traineaux, 74110 Avoriaz, Morzine, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine > Avoriaz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Avoriaz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Lauzes is an attractive wooden chalet,nestling right on the slopes, close to the resort centre of Avoriaz, and between our Chalets Violette / Perce Neige and Chalet Marie.You can put your skis on in the morning and ski straight through the centre of the village to a choice of lifts, depending on your itinerary for the day. It is also only as short walk to enjoy the après ski scene in the bars and restaurants of Avoriaz centre.The chalet has an open-plan living and dining area with pine walls giving it a warm and cosy ambience. The sauna is a welcome bonus, and the perfect way to relax after a full day on the slopes.The cosy intimate Chalet Les Lauzes has proved hugely popular with groups of friends who want immediate access to the slopes and excellent après ski nearbyOccupancy: 10 guests ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing