We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning gite in an excellent location with...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lou Messugo gite

Lou Messugo gîte near beaches and Provencal villages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lou Messugo gîte near beaches and Provencal villages
Bedroom with calming Provencal colours fun in the pool for all ages at Lou Messugo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
Lou Messugo gîte near beaches and Provencal villages
Bedroom with calming Provencal colours
fun in the pool for all ages at Lou Messugo
summer evenings at Lou Messugo with rosé and al fresco dining
Pétanque (boules) pitch, looking back at Lou Messugo terrace (and owners house above)
the pool, surrounded by flowers, with loungers and lilos provided
breakfast on the sunny terrace over looking the large garden
Modern bathroom decorated with Provencal tones (mimosa from the garden)
sofa which opens out to be a 140cm comfortable bed with proper mattress. Books for your enjoyment.
Winter in the beautiful garden with lavender bank that blooms in June/July (see next photo)
the pool surrounded by greenery with areas of shade and plenty of sun too
plenty of sun loungers and plenty of natural shade as well as sun around the pool
we provide a large charcoal BBQ (with starter pack of charcoal)
kids are welcome at Lou Messugo with trampoline, pool, ping pong, large garden, toys, they love it!
bikers are welcome at Lou Messugo. We are surrounded by many beautiful and iconic rides
hundreds of beaches nearby
spectacular Mediterranean coast, where the mountains meet the sea
wonderful provencal markets in every town and village
there are hundreds of mountain villages nearby to explore
gorgeous seaside towns all along the coast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Roquefort les Pins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
suzimkear...
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Stunning gite in an excellent location with first-class hospitality”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We enjoyed a fantastic week at Lou Messugo and will definitely be returning as soon as we are lucky enough to do so. The gite is perfectly located for visiting Nice, Cannes, Antibes, Monte Carlo, Monaco, Cap Ferrat and all of the many, many beautiful areas around Roquefort-Les-Pins, Grasse, Valbonne, etc. Phoebe and Jeff are first-class hosts with an incredible depth of knowledge about the Cote D'Azur and many other areas in France. The gite is immaculate and thoughtfully equipped with everything you can possibly need. The icing on the cake was a selection of delicious Nicoise goodies that were presented to us on arrival and were enjoyed after a swim in the beautiful pool. Highly recommended!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biarritz6...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“"A peaceful and perfectly located gite"”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Whilst preparing for a business trip to the Antibes area my wife and I were looking for a well located gite that would offer us privacy along with peace and quiet whilst kicking off shoes and enjoying a glass or two of something wet and local !! We found Loe Messugo via a web search which we immediately noticed was in the hills away from the coast but nevertheless very convenient to drive to. We had communicated with Phoebe (Owner) prior to our visit and from whom we received a lot of useful information including detailed instructions how to find them. Given that Phoebe was aware of our full itinerary she kindly offered to obtain some supplies that we might not have had time to shop for ourselves...a very thoughtful gesture. After a day of business we were very much looking forward to relaxing at the gite. Phoebe greeted us and showed us around this lovely, very clean and welcoming gite. A very useful welcome pack along with some other nice touches (creams and shampoo in the bathroom) was supplied and in no time we were kicking off the shoes ... you know the rest !! Now I know its very easy to get carried away with the usual rhetoric found on TripAdvisor however, Lou Messugo is a very well equipped and comfortable gite which was perfect for our needs ... and the shower was fantastic (rare these days). We required a lot of local information to assist us with our business itinerary which Phobe was able to supply us in abundance and which allied to an "encyclopaedia" of written information in the gite meant that we were fully aquatinted with everything we needed to know. A very, very comfortable stay which we will be seeking again (vacancies allowing of course) when we return in September for another business trip .... Can't wait !!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveAAAn...
Totland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely gite in the heart of the Cote d'Azur”
Reviewed March 16, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Perfectly located for everywhere from the beach to the mountains and all the beautiful villages in between, or the main resorts of Nice/Juan le Pins/Antibes/Cannes. The gite was very clean and had everything needed for a wonderful stay including a private garden and suntrap terrace and a pool in the summer. Well worth booking. We were lucky with the weather too, hot and sunny, so unexpected in March but a bonus.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim P
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location. Great gite”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a fabulous time on the Cote d'Azur, thanks in large part to Phoebe & Jeff's lovely give. Well located and equipped, my husband, 20-something daughter and I were able to explore the region thoroughly knowing we had a comfortable bed to return to each evening! A lovely pool, coal fired bbq and helpful tips and suggestions sealed the deal. Thanks Phoebe!

Recommended.

Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely break”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Phoebe and Jeff have a lovely home that they share with guests. Lou Messugo is uniquely located within a 15 minute walk from the centre of town, yet is set within a pleasant quiet wooded residential area.

The short cut to the village that Phoebe recommends passes an artesian well where you can fill up water bottles, via a private residential area. At night this can be dark so remember to pack a torch.

Phoebe's directions are fantastic and will take you to the door (don't use Satnav). On arrival there was bread, cheese, wine and olives which was most welcome.

Whilst a car is useful to get you to the gite and around the area, the buses are a great alternative and at only 1:50 euro per trip fantastic value and run every half an hour. For touring, the bus takes you to Nice or Grasse (and various stops on the way). What great value as driving/parking in Nice is not something I would recommend. Re Nice it is a large sprawling metropolis. The bus allows you to take it all in and not get harassed by overly anxious drivers.

When hiring a car try to match the car hirer from the terminal you land at. BA land at Terminal 1 and our car hire was at Terminal 2 which requires picking up the courtesy bus from Terminal to Terminal. Allow at least 2 hours when picking up your car. Lou Messugo is about half an hour from the Airport.

Phoebe has an information book which is really useful. We would recommend visiting the local markets; Valbonne on Friday and Rocquefort's on Wednesday.

The accommodation is exactly what you would expect, simple decor, functional (with a dishwasher!) but no washing machine. However, Phoebe is happy to put a wash through if required. There is underfloor heating if it turns cold. The bed is very comfortable. We didn't use the pool but I can imagine it must be a real bonus when it gets really hot. The traditional wooden shutters are fantastic as they allow you to close the shutters to keep out the heat of the day and at night you close the shutters and open the windows, thus letting in cool air.

We visited Nice on Monday to go to the Brocante which is located in the old town – well worth a visit if you want to see a variety of collectibles. Once off the bus at the Terminus (Verdun) head along the sea front and at the large obelisk turn left to the old town and you should find the Brocante. There are also some water fountains on the foot paths and which look life fire hydrants and we filled our water bottles when we saw these.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend without any hesitation.

For anyone booking Lou Messugo we would suggest that they consider the time of arrival as the local supermarkets close earlier on a Saturday. If you arrive at 8pm you won't be able to stock up with bits and pieces until the next day (The supermarket (The Intermarche) closes promptly at 12:30 on Sunday), but there are local restaurants you can eat at. There is a petrol station at the Intermarche with a human being to take your payment.

My only word of caution is that whilst the accommodation is on one level I do feel that those with mobility issues would struggle with steps and the gravel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wish we had longer here”
Reviewed July 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Phoebe and Jeff are the perfect hosts. Having the owners close at hand (next door) worked out to be the perfect balance of having the place to ourselves but being able to ask for help & advise when needed which was always forthcoming. A lovely house - very clean & comfortable. Great pool and in a great location. Hope to revisit in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie N
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just perfect place!”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Wonderful stay, very quiet.Phoebe is so kind and helpfull.
The house was very clean and well furnished
we ll come back!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing