We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little heaven on earth”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lou Messugo gite

Lou Messugo gîte near beaches and Provencal villages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lou Messugo gîte near beaches and Provencal villages
Bedroom with calming Provencal colours fun in the pool for all ages at Lou Messugo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
Lou Messugo gîte near beaches and Provencal villages
Bedroom with calming Provencal colours
fun in the pool for all ages at Lou Messugo
summer evenings at Lou Messugo with rosé and al fresco dining
Pétanque (boules) pitch, looking back at Lou Messugo terrace (and owners house above)
the pool, surrounded by flowers, with loungers and lilos provided
breakfast on the sunny terrace over looking the large garden
Modern bathroom decorated with Provencal tones (mimosa from the garden)
sofa which opens out to be a 140cm comfortable bed with proper mattress. Books for your enjoyment.
Winter in the beautiful garden with lavender bank that blooms in June/July (see next photo)
the pool surrounded by greenery with areas of shade and plenty of sun too
plenty of sun loungers and plenty of natural shade as well as sun around the pool
we provide a large charcoal BBQ (with starter pack of charcoal)
kids are welcome at Lou Messugo with trampoline, pool, ping pong, large garden, toys, they love it!
bikers are welcome at Lou Messugo. We are surrounded by many beautiful and iconic rides
hundreds of beaches nearby
spectacular Mediterranean coast, where the mountains meet the sea
wonderful provencal markets in every town and village
there are hundreds of mountain villages nearby to explore
gorgeous seaside towns all along the coast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Roquefort les Pins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Clustered...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little heaven on earth”
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a lovely stay at lou Messugo in August this year. If you are looking for a place that's off the tourist trail then this is it. Very well appointed gite with spacious bedroom lovely bathroom and good size lounge / kitchen. The owners provided a lovely welcome pack which was great as we arrived very late. The local supermarket is excellent. The Garden patio is lovely to sit out on and sun bathe. The owners have three very friendly chickens that managed to turn up at meal times.

The swimming pool is quite small and the three of the four loungers weren't usable which was a shame. It was mosquito season and they made a meal of us at night even with spray and electronic repellents.

It was also very hot at night even with electric fans.

The location proved very convenient to get to local attractions at Nice, Antibes, Grasse, St. Paul de Vence, Fayence and beyond. It is located down a gravel road that hasn't made it on to many sat nav maps so get the GPS coordinates before you go.

All in all it was great value for money and a lovely way to spend a week in the south of France.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luigi V
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We are just back from a lovely stay at Lou Messugo. It is in a great location surrounded by calming trees chirping with cicadas only a short walk from the village of Roquefort les Pins with nice restaurants and excellent shops. The apartment is kept very well, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. All the information provided to us before and during our stay was very useful and informative, especialy the blog which we loved reading to find out lots of insider tips. Lou Messugo is an exceptional spot to relax and unwind. We found it to be a perfect mix of quiet retreat, either by the pool or on the private terrace, and fun location being within a short drive of beaches and many cultural attractions. We will be returning next year.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik...
Reykjavik
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in a beautiful area”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We spent two weeks at Lou Messugo in early July. I must say the location was suberb. But I would always recommend visitors to have their own car.

The premises were clean and accomodating. The porch in front of the apartment had sun chairs where you could soak up the sun and also a table with chairs where we often ate our meals.

The pool was a blast for the youngest ones. It is a big plus that the pool is closed off since we were traveling with a three year old. No chances that she would wander into the pool area by her self - a big plus for us.

The apartment it self was really clean and easy to get around - not big but never too small either.

We did experience quite a lof of mosquitos - but I image they don´t meet many Icelandairs and therefore they were such big fans and loved to bite us. But prepare yourself and bring repellent.

While spending time at Lou Messugo we were surprised how easy it was to drive to near by big cities and that it didn´t take long time. With in the hour we were in Monaco or Cannes. We spent several afternoons in Nice - such a beautiful place with lots of great restaurants. I would also recomend a visit to the perfume city Grass.

There are several beautiful beaches nearby. At arrival there lots of information about the surrending area. Restaurant suggestions and attractions with directions.

We had a great stay and would love to come back to this part of France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Mosquitos
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldivor...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peace & quiet nearby the hussle & bustle of the Cote d'Azur”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The gite was not what I expected - a small dwelling at the end of the garden. It is part of the owners' house, with family bedrooms above. It has its own large garden with a trampoline & pétanque pitch at the end. It's surrounded by lavender & semi-wild flowers & bushes - no manicured lawns here, it's provencal semi-wilderness. It's surrounded by stunning trees that sparkle at sunrise and turn into picturesque shadows at night, letting the stars take over. Sitting on the patio on a warm night, looking up at the stars, sipping rose & inhaling the scent of lavender is one of the great pleasures at Lou Messugo, as are the visits & eggs from the three chickens - Diana, Pic-Pic & ??. The enclosed pool at the end of the owners' garden is perfectly adequate & again, surrounded by beautiful plants & bushes.
It's a pleasure to swim in it.
A perfect place to base yourself during the busy season, especially if you're from a busy city. It is so relaxing.
The owner, Phoebe, is a host beyond host. She puts her heart & soul into the place so her guests are happy. And, they invariably are. But this one is ecstatic & will return at every opportunity. What a charming place, what a lovely family. #smittenwithloumessugo

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire...
Halifax
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Cote d'Azur's hidden gem”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

From the moment we stepped out of the car it was obvious that Lou Messugo would live up to all our expectations. This delightful gite is attractively decorated and well equipped with everything we needed for a relaxing holiday in the sun.
Phoebe, our host, was warm and friendly without being presumptuous. She had also, very kindly, left wine, olives, delicious goats cheese and French bread to welcome us.
The hustle small village of Roquefort Les Pins is ideally situated to access the many interesting and lovely towns along and around the Cote d'Azur most of which are reachable within an hours drive of the gite. The local shops provide a varied selection of goods.
Lou Messugo has a wonderfully relaxing garden with a paved patio and a large, flat lawn. It has a border brimming with fragrant lavender bushes which immediately calm the spirit. The expanse of the garden allows a light and aiiry feel to the inside accomodation.
For guests with young children, you need to be aware that the swimming pool is in an elevated garden and cannot be seen from the patio area. The pool is secured with a safety fence and a key is used for access.
A fab holiday! We would not hesitate to recommend this charming property to friends and relatives.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linnea J
Kopavogur, Iceland
1 review
“Perfect vacation”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had the most perfect vacation at Lou Messugo. One main reason was that everything was provided from toys in the gite to sun shades, buckets, spades and even mattresses for the beach. We didn't have a Sat Nav but the host leant us her map, nothing was ever too much trouble. Every recommedation she gave us turned out great, and all the tips on the blog were very useful. Also the gite is lovely, very tastefully decorated with a huge garden and lovely pool. And as the final perfection, the location was so central to everything we wanted to see. We could visit beaches, mountains and cities easily without spending the day in the car. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything provided and thought of
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliet83
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lou Messugo is one the most charming, relaxing and delightful places to spend a holiday. From our first steps through a lavender-scented bordered door, the apartment was welcoming. Tasteful, calm decor with a fridge containing rosé, goats cheese, olives and eggs - fresh from Phoebe's own chickens! The area was ideal for easy trips by car, bus and train. We recommend the train to Menton - a most walkable town with excellent restaurants.

Thank you, Phoebe for making us so welcome and already we are looking forward to returning!

Jean and Joe Roynon-Jones.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing