We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace & quiet nearby the hussle & bustle of the...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lou Messugo gite

Lou Messugo gîte near beaches and Provencal villages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lou Messugo gîte near beaches and Provencal villages
Cosy bedroom with pretty provençal decor (bed 160 cm) the pool surrounded by flowers and fully fenced for your security
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
Lou Messugo gîte near beaches and Provencal villages
Cosy bedroom with pretty provençal decor (bed 160 cm)
the pool surrounded by flowers and fully fenced for your security
sun-trap terrace in all seasons
dining table (4 chairs are provided for bookings of 4!)
breakfast on the terrace
aerial view showing Lou Messugo front door, terrace, garden and pool
summer evenings at Lou Messugo with rosé and al fresco dining
compact but functional kitchen with dishwasher, fridge, oven, hob, kettle, toaster and microwave
double aspect living area looking on to south-facing terrace and garden
this sofa opens out to be a comfy 140 cm wide double bed
Pétanque (boules) pitch, looking back at Lou Messugo terrace (and owners house above)
we provide a large charcoal BBQ (with starter pack of charcoal)
the pool
the garden, large lawn and shady spots for aperitifs
looking out to the garden
bathroom with wide, open shower
pretty modern bathroom fittings
hundreds of beaches nearby
spectacular Mediterranean coast, where the mountains meet the sea
wonderful provencal markets in every town and village
there are hundreds of mountain villages nearby to explore
gorgeous seaside towns all along the coast
kids are welcome at Lou Messugo with trampoline, pool, ping pong, large garden, toys, they love it!
bikers are welcome at Lou Messugo. We are surrounded by many beautiful and iconic rides
the drive where you can park your car directly outside the front door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Roquefort les Pins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Worldivor...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peace & quiet nearby the hussle & bustle of the Cote d'Azur”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The gite was not what I expected - a small dwelling at the end of the garden. It is part of the owners' house, with family bedrooms above. It has its own large garden with a trampoline & pétanque pitch at the end. It's surrounded by lavender & semi-wild flowers & bushes - no manicured lawns here, it's provencal semi-wilderness. It's surrounded by stunning trees that sparkle at sunrise and turn into picturesque shadows at night, letting the stars take over. Sitting on the patio on a warm night, looking up at the stars, sipping rose & inhaling the scent of lavender is one of the great pleasures at Lou Messugo, as are the visits & eggs from the three chickens - Diana, Pic-Pic & ??. The enclosed pool at the end of the owners' garden is perfectly adequate & again, surrounded by beautiful plants & bushes.
It's a pleasure to swim in it.
A perfect place to base yourself during the busy season, especially if you're from a busy city. It is so relaxing.
The owner, Phoebe, is a host beyond host. She puts her heart & soul into the place so her guests are happy. And, they invariably are. But this one is ecstatic & will return at every opportunity. What a charming place, what a lovely family. #smittenwithloumessugo

Date of stay: July 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire...
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Cote d'Azur's hidden gem”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

From the moment we stepped out of the car it was obvious that Lou Messugo would live up to all our expectations. This delightful gite is attractively decorated and well equipped with everything we needed for a relaxing holiday in the sun.
Phoebe, our host, was warm and friendly without being presumptuous. She had also, very kindly, left wine, olives, delicious goats cheese and French bread to welcome us.
The hustle small village of Roquefort Les Pins is ideally situated to access the many interesting and lovely towns along and around the Cote d'Azur most of which are reachable within an hours drive of the gite. The local shops provide a varied selection of goods.
Lou Messugo has a wonderfully relaxing garden with a paved patio and a large, flat lawn. It has a border brimming with fragrant lavender bushes which immediately calm the spirit. The expanse of the garden allows a light and aiiry feel to the inside accomodation.
For guests with young children, you need to be aware that the swimming pool is in an elevated garden and cannot be seen from the patio area. The pool is secured with a safety fence and a key is used for access.
A fab holiday! We would not hesitate to recommend this charming property to friends and relatives.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linnea J
Kopavogur, Iceland
1 review
“Perfect vacation”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had the most perfect vacation at Lou Messugo. One main reason was that everything was provided from toys in the gite to sun shades, buckets, spades and even mattresses for the beach. We didn't have a Sat Nav but the host leant us her map, nothing was ever too much trouble. Every recommedation she gave us turned out great, and all the tips on the blog were very useful. Also the gite is lovely, very tastefully decorated with a huge garden and lovely pool. And as the final perfection, the location was so central to everything we wanted to see. We could visit beaches, mountains and cities easily without spending the day in the car. We will be back!

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything provided and thought of
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliet83
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lou Messugo is one the most charming, relaxing and delightful places to spend a holiday. From our first steps through a lavender-scented bordered door, the apartment was welcoming. Tasteful, calm decor with a fridge containing rosé, goats cheese, olives and eggs - fresh from Phoebe's own chickens! The area was ideal for easy trips by car, bus and train. We recommend the train to Menton - a most walkable town with excellent restaurants.

Thank you, Phoebe for making us so welcome and already we are looking forward to returning!

Jean and Joe Roynon-Jones.

Date of stay: June 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podin
Tubingen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful apartment in peaceful and beautiful area”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is beautifully decorated, well maintained and has a nice garden. The owners are friendly, unobtrusive and very helpful with tips about the surrounding area. The location is perfect for short trips to the mountains, the beach, Nice/Cannes and many smaller towns at the Cote d'Azur.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca L
Grasse, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely flat in Southern France near the coast and mountains!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Phoebe's lovely flat was perfect for our stay in the South of France. Its proximity to the must-see areas of the Cote d'Azur was ideal. Phoebe and her husband were gracious hosts and available when needed while giving us plenty of privacy. The location is only about 10-15 min from the highway which is ideal for getting to Nice, Antibes, St. Paul de Vence, etc. The flat is well equipped and comfortable. We would definitely stay there again, hopefully next time it's warm enough to use the pool! Also we loved the beautiful garden and patio. Thanks again!

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The flat was very comfortable and the outdoor space very lovely.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We hope we meet again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda5708
Evesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Everything from start to finish was well done. We were met on arrival and found the villa to be delightful. Nothing was too much trouble for the owner who was available to provide help and advice on where to visit and what to do. Her local knowledge was invaluable and saved us time and effort when in Nice for Carnival time, an extremely popular time of the year.

The property was beautifully clean and well equipped the bed was very comfortable. We were blessed with a couple of sunny days for February and the host quickly offered amenities which would not normally be needed until later in the year such as the table tennis, badminton equipment, BBQ and sun loungers. It would be splendid to return later in the year and make use of the swimming pool which looked perfect.

The thoughtful extras in the welcome basket, many of which were produced in the region, were very welcome.

The location of the property was so ideal that we could have gone skiing just as easily as have gone to the beach. We did go up into the mountains on one day and we picnicked surrounded by snowy mountain ranges. Another day was spent exploring the 'villages perche' and really should not be missed. Some of them date back to the Iron Age. We particularly loved Peillon.

On the advice of our host we took another day to explore the best coastal walk I have ever experienced towards the Cap d'Antibes. It was fairly strenuous in patches but also invigorating and having taking another picnic we found another splendid spot to rest and soak up some early sunshine while looking out across the bay.

The reason for our visit was to see the Nice Carnival at Mardi Gras. We should have booked tickets online but decided against it and probably as the weather turned very wet for the night time parade it was just as well. We did catch the Flower Parade and the closing fireworks which were both spectacular though.

Date of stay: February 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Lou Messugo. We're so pleased you found our local tips helpful and enjoyed your stay so much. We really hope you do come back again to use the pool!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing