We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a gem!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lou Messugo gite

Lou Messugo gîte near beaches and Provencal villages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lou Messugo gîte near beaches and Provencal villages
Cosy bedroom with pretty provençal decor (bed 160 cm) the pool surrounded by flowers and fully fenced for your security
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
Lou Messugo gîte near beaches and Provencal villages
Cosy bedroom with pretty provençal decor (bed 160 cm)
the pool surrounded by flowers and fully fenced for your security
sun-trap terrace in all seasons
dining table (4 chairs are provided for bookings of 4!)
breakfast on the terrace
aerial view showing Lou Messugo front door, terrace, garden and pool
summer evenings at Lou Messugo with rosé and al fresco dining
compact but functional kitchen with dishwasher, fridge, oven, hob, kettle, toaster and microwave
double aspect living area looking on to south-facing terrace and garden
this sofa opens out to be a comfy 140 cm wide double bed
Pétanque (boules) pitch, looking back at Lou Messugo terrace (and owners house above)
we provide a large charcoal BBQ (with starter pack of charcoal)
the pool
the garden, large lawn and shady spots for aperitifs
looking out to the garden
bathroom with wide, open shower
pretty modern bathroom fittings
hundreds of beaches nearby
spectacular Mediterranean coast, where the mountains meet the sea
wonderful provencal markets in every town and village
there are hundreds of mountain villages nearby to explore
gorgeous seaside towns all along the coast
kids are welcome at Lou Messugo with trampoline, pool, ping pong, large garden, toys, they love it!
bikers are welcome at Lou Messugo. We are surrounded by many beautiful and iconic rides
the drive where you can park your car directly outside the front door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Roquefort les Pins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Christine...
Paris, France
2 reviews
“What a gem!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We loved our stay at Lou Messugo, so relaxing! The apartment is beautifully presented and really well equipped. The terrace and garden area is private and very large for an apartment of this size. A perfect spot for relaxing in the evenings after a day exploring the area. Our daughter really appreciated the pool and the trampoline. The owner Phoebe made us feel very welcome and gave us plenty of tips on where to go and what to do in the local area. We will definately go back!

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: We would have liked more sunshine!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to see you back here agin one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Date of stay: January 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location, and host
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property, it's always a pleasure to hear of happy satisfied guests. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, we really liked having you here too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Perth, Australia
Reviewed January 14, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Date of stay: November 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Value for money, location
Liked least: Nothing - it was as I expected, having visited before
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2013
It is so rewarding to host returning guests and it was lovely to have you back again. Thanks for taking the time to review Lou Messugo, it is most appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
world traveller
Reviewed December 26, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Date of stay: November 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the charm of the gite and its owners
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2013
Always a pleasure! Lovely to have you back, we can't ask for a better recommendation than that. Thanks for such a lovely review!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
maoutens...
Fourques-sur-Garonne, France
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing break in beautiful location”
Reviewed December 6, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

It was with great delight that we spent a week at Lou Messugo after months of following Phoebe and Lou Messugo on Twitter and Facebook! We were welcomed warmly and Phoebe thinks of everything to make her guests feel truly at home, down to our welcome basket of wine, tapenade, baguette, home-made apricot jam and fruit. Her advice on where to visit and what to see was indispensable and helped us profit to the maximum from our few days there. Lou Messugo is perfectly equipped and very comfortable, and we loved exploring the Côte d'Azur for the first time. Thanks also to Phoebe and Jeff for a lovely evening shared with them over apéros dinatoire, we loved getting to know you! Bonne continuation and I will continue to follow you electronically with great pleasure!

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: En famille élargie
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2013
It was excellent to meet a "Tweep" in the flesh and I loved hosting a such a great and genuine social media follower! I'm so glad too that Lou Messugo lived up to your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with others. We'll definitely keep in touch and hope to see you back here again one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarejoy1...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A beautiful apartment in a great location”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Myself and my new husband booked this as one of our apartments for our honeymoon holiday. We had 5 nights here, but as soon as we arrived, we wished that we had booked for a longer stay!
Phoebe and her husband immediately made us feel welcome and we even had local produce and champagne waiting for us upon arrival as a celebratory present- which was a lovely and personal touch. The apartment itself was immaculate and comfortable and there was everything that we needed.
We spent most of the days relaxing on the patio, cooking BBQ's for lunch and eating in town in the evenings. However, when we did want to explore, everything was in easy reach. We drove to Antibes, Nice and Cannes for lovely day trips from here very easily.
I would definitely recommend staying here. Thank you so much for wonderful honeymoon memories, hopefully we will return one day for our anniversary maybe! Clare and Dom.

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and comfort
Liked least: couldn't use pool as the water temp had dropped due to weather!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2012
Thank you very much for reviewing Lou Messugo, we are delighted your honeymoon was such a success. It's such a lovely romantic time in your life and we try our best to make sure it's perfect and you leave with happy memories. Please come back for your anniversary, that would be lovely!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed October 3, 2012 for a stay in June 2011

Date of stay: June 2011
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it. Let's hope we meet again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing