We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely !!”

Auberge du Clos des Pins
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: With its delightful setting, friendly, personal service, tempting seasonal menu & lunch, evening & weekend formulas, the Clos Des Pins will ensure a memorable dining experience with exceptional value-for-money prices.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Just lovely !!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went to this resaurant as our hotel in Roquefort les Pins was closed on Tuesday evening for dinner - and it was only 'down the road!'
The Auberge is on a roundabout- accessible but we thought it coud be noisy- Amazingly it was suprisingly quiet - even sitting on the terrace !
We were greeted by a lovely waitress who sat us down with a menu - although we hadn't booked she found us the last available table on the terrace.
Aperitifs- comprehensive -very good wine list - good quality wines at affordable prices.
The plat du jour I had was lovely - my co diner had a la carte - steak and pomfrites which he said were one of the best he'd had in France - !! praise in deed !
When we returned for a second evening we spoke to the owner ( her husband does the cooking) and said that if we had a restaurant this would be our aim to have one such as her Auberge.
Everything from the atmosphere - very quiet music- furniture- table settings to the most important of all - the food was undoubtedly faultless I only wish they had a branch in London

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    103
    15
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very relaxed little restaurant”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

we had a lovely afternoon, in this restaurant last week, great service and a lovely meal, great value for money, it has a really nice ambiance to it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HELEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, fabulous people”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We holidayed in Roquefort Les Pins during August and ate in this restaurant 4 times and were never disappointed. The menu was varied with specials every day. The service is friendly and prompt but you are not hurried. You can eat inside and outside, we chose to eat in as we are non smokers, but it is light and airy so no disadvantage to being inside. This a good value for money money restaurant, you won't be disappointed

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quartztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good local food”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We enjoyed local dishes well prepared. Service was good and friendly without being obtrusive. Would recommend

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yogini2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food, patchy service”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

As other diners have remarked, the food here is very good. One small complaint was that the prawn risotto was served with shell-on prawns which resulted in disagreeably messy fingers.

The bigger complaint was the service: we arrIved for lunch to a mostly empty restaurant, asked to sit on the also empty terrace only to be told by the male waiter that it wasn't possible as there were no umbrellas (this despite several being visible from the door). Luckily the owner was present and with a greater degree of customer focus seated us as requested. A further request for a simple menu modification was answered with a flat "no", something which, unfortunately, is a standard customer response in these parts. Too many employees in service industries seem to see customers as an annoyance to be tolerated rather than the source of their income! It never fails to take the shine off the experience

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chooqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge du Clos des Pins also viewed

Le Rouret, Alpes Maritimes
Chateauneuf de Grasse, Grasse
 
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Roquefort les Pins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Auberge du Clos des Pins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing