We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski Day based out of Le Morgan”
Review of Club Le Morgan

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Risoul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Le Morgan
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Risoul
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I travelled here on an educational trip with a group of around 20 of us (teachers and tour operator staff). We visited several resorts during the week one of which was Risoul and based out of the Clubhotel Le Morgan.

The Morgan hotel could not be better placed and the facilities seemed fantastic. Although we didn't stay we were given a tour of the hotel and shown rooms. All seemed very well cleaned and maintained. Afternoon tea and cakes were taken at the hotel, the staff were freidnly and well presented.

The resort itself is fantastic, somewhat of a hidden gem. The link to Vars ensures enough skiing for the week for advanced skiers however the Bowl into Risoul offers plenty of opportunity for beginners. Ranging from open powder to picturesque tree runs the variety helps keep the resort

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 81 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed in this hotel last winter and found the hotel to be in fantastic location in the resort of Risoul. It is just across the road from the bottom of the slopes and is right in the centre of the resort itself. Most of the rooms sleep up to 4 people so although they are basic they are also nice and spacious.
The resort itself is very pretty and although I was a beginner it's very well linked with vars so the people I was skiing with (who had skiied for over 30 years) had no chance of getting bored throughout the trip.
Overall I'd definitely go back and wouldn't hesitiate staying in the same hotel :-)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank izzy_b345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

A good value hotel in a great location, just 2 mins walk to the lifts and ski school meeting point.

The rooms are basic and warm. However cleaning needs to improve. We found a stale sandwich in the wardrobe.

Despite the faults we had a good week skiing.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jimboe89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed at Club Morgan over New Year (booked through Rocket Ski) it was a last minute booking for a very cheap price - the hotel is a 2 * so we werent expected too much!
I have to stay we were pleasantly suprised - yes, the rooms are a little dated but comfortable, warm and very clean + there was always hot water. The staff are all very friendly and nothing is too much trouble - all the staff are young working the season (good on them!) This also creates a fun atmosphere.
The food is just what you need after you have been out all day - nothing fancy but very good hearty food and we always cleared our plates :) - Thanks Lee :)
There is a little bar in the hotel which is good for a couple of drinks after the slopes - dont expect good apres ski bars in this resort as there arent really any! (very quiet resort from that aspect) however in the day there are plenty of restaurants to take a break in (also cheaper then many other french resorts)
The hotel is literally just a tunnel away from the slopes which makes it a fantastic location
All in all we had a fantastic trip - I think some people expect far too much for the money they pay and then moan about everything! (ie: dont expect 5* when you have paid for 2*) it does what it says on the tin + a little more so give Club Morgan a go :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ClaireStringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed here with Rocketski for xmas 2011. Overall I thought it was good value.
The rooms are basic but functional. Most rooms seemed to have 2 twin beds in the main room, with a desk and chair, then in the hallway, a set of bunk beds and a built in wardrobe. There was a bath with shower over, which was surprisingly powerful and plenty of hot water, plus seperate toilet.
The hotel has a small bar, which had a nice atmosphere apres ski and after dinner, with table football and pool table. There is also a games room on the top floor to keep kids entertained. The ski fit is done on site, with a very small boot room directly under the hotel.

Positives:
+ Central location on main street, with piste access just over the road and through a tunnel walkway (1 minute walk).
+ Friendly staff, always willing to help and happy to stop and chat. A few very minor niggles but staff alway quick to rectify.
+ Food was plentiful and of good standard considering it is only a 2 star. Apparently the new chef is miles better than the previous one. Choice of 2 starters (soup or other, sometimes pate, cheese tart, etc), choice of 2 mains with one option being veggie, and a dessert, plenty of bread. Mains were generally meat, potato and veg. Meat was of moderate quality, plenty of potatos and veg, cooked well. We always finished our plates! Breakfasts were croissants, bread, ham, cheese, fruit, yogurt, cereal (cornflakes), porridge or eggs, tea/coffee/fruit juice.
+ Excellent ski hire kit, very good value. Kit was good quality and brand new!
+ Rooms were cleaned daily, towels changed once during the week.
+ Food/bar prices were more reasonable then I was expecting in a ski resort. 3€ for a glass of wine or small beer, free welcome drinks on first night and xmas evening.

Minor negatives
+ Central location also means you will hear some street noise, expecially at club closing time, plus some rooms can hear the music from the nightclub next door. It didnt bother me too much but be cautious if you are looking for a quiet stay.
+ Evening entertainments organised by the tour op were not always as advertised, so some events not well attended. They ran a cheese and wine night which was excellent, but not many people knew about it.

Overall, good value and I would be happy to stay there again. We had a fab xmas.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will tend to hear more noise from the nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TurtleTravelTales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

people have died here, one for the most haunted list. Ghostbuster the lot, childrens activities are fantastic, went out to the nightclub and got wrecked, (hi5)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mundungus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Food-very poor ,lacks imagination
staff -friendly and helpful
rooms-clean and warm but used looking and tired

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheOHareclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Risoul
2.1 mi away
La Bonne Auberge
La Bonne Auberge
#3 of 5 in Risoul
68 reviews
1.5 mi away
Auberge du Rochasson
Auberge du Rochasson
#4 of 5 in Risoul
24 reviews
2.1 mi away
Residence L'Ecrin des Neiges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Les Escondus
Les Escondus
#1 of 13 in Vars
126 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Lacour
Hotel Lacour
#1 of 1 in Guillestre
82 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel La Mayt
Hotel La Mayt
#2 of 13 in Vars
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Le Morgan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Le Morgan

Address: Chef Lieu, 05600 Risoul, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Hautes-Alpes > Risoul
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Risoul
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Morgan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing