We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Les Issambres
Nearby Hotels
Le Provencal Hotel(Les Issambres)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel la Quietude(Les Issambres)(Great Value!)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
$159
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Les Calanques Les Issambres(Les Issambres)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cap Riviera(Saint-Aygulf)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Villa(Sainte-Maxime)(Great Value!)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hodeo(Les Issambres)
Hotel la Caravelle(Les Issambres)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveler rating
86
207
112
72
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
207
112
72
34
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 511 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This was the second time we spent our holidays at this resort, each time for three weeks consecutively. Our family of five consists of two adults and three children aged 13, 14 and 16 (plus a dog). The first year (2010), we booked a two-piece apartment in the Bellevue area. This turned out to be rather small for a family of five, given that the bunk bed was placed in the entrance hall. Therefore, this year (2011), we booked the largest apartment available in Bellevue. This contained two separate bedrooms, still requiring one child to sleep on a sofa bed in the living room. On the plus side: we now had two bathrooms instead of one.

Bellevue is a beautiful area of the park with splendid views of the mountains and sea. the various apartments differ a little in how they are faced towards the sea. Some may find the distance between Bellevue and Les Lauriers, where the small shop/bakery and the activities are, too large, but it never took us more than 5-7 minutes by foot going to buy bread and join the activities. The overflow swimming pool is magnificently situated, with a superb view over the bay. In the peak season, there are too few pool chairs available for all residents, so you need to be early! This year, some activities (aqua power) were held in the Bellevue pool area, so those finding it too cumbersome to walk to Les Lauriers can join that once a week.

Regarding the apartments themselves: there were too few plates and glasses initially (this was supplemented for all apartments later on during our stay). The mattresses are definitely of inferior quality: too hard. Our balcony was large enough to seat all five of us: very nice! Bellevue is advertised by Pierre et Vacances as being a quiet area, but it turns out to also be the base for some of the employees who get together after work and have a good time. Nothing wrong with that, as long as they abide by the same rules as anyone else is supposed to do: no noise after 10 pm! Also, we were bothered by cigarette smoke drifting into our bedroom all the time, coming from various locations around us (heavy smokers indeed!). Perhaps some areas could be designated as non-smoking.

For those into running and walking, the mountainous area (Le Massif) around the park is excellent. Be aware, though, of wild boars in the Bellevue area, particularly after sunset. Our 14-year old daughter, running around the park around 9 pm, met with 4 wild boars and came back screaming. The park area is not fenced off to the surrounding Massif, hence the attraction of wild boars, probably to the waste deposit areas.

For us, an added attraction to the park are the fitness activities provided by Les Mills instructors. These activities take place in the Les Lauriers reception area, during peak season approximately 6 times per week. These activities are supplemented by other activities such as tennis, jogging, beach volley, aqua gym etc.

Staff is generally helpful and considerate.Wifi access is in the process of being provided to every apartment. During our stay, it was only available in the reception area, for a 20 euro per week fee. For a park this size, it is surprising that there are no ATM machines. Getting cash requires a car drive to Les Issambres.

There is a free shuttle service provided to the beach, but we found that going by car is very feasible as well (plenty of parking, even during peak season). We would recommend taking Les Bateaux Verts from Les Issambres to St. Tropez, as this is a fun day trip and avoids some serious traffic and parking problems during the summer. The boat trip by itself is fun and only takes about 20 minutes. The 'sentier littoral' around the St. Tropez bay area is a beautiful brisk 4-hour walk, recommended for intermediate walkers with walking shoes.

In conclusion: there is definitely room for improvement, as always, but the resort gives adequate value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Dutch_family57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Booked into this resort for 4 nights. Had to see three rooms before we finally unpacked. Steep steps to a lot of the properties, and no good for my adult son with disabilities - he took to walking up the steps on his hands and knees! The little unit we finally had, had no coffee/tea cups so we went out and purchased some. No air conditioning and no window in the boys room so they were sweating all night!

We left after three days it really was a very big disapointment.

The only plus for this place was the lovely swimming pool set into the side of the rocks, however they did have broken tiles around the edge which my son then cut himself on!! This place wasnt chesap either!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sunnyside2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2008

Booked the Maeva at the last minute whilst we were in the South of France and we stayed there for 3 nights.
Whilst I agree that the accommodation is up a long winding road and a car is essential, this was more than compensated by the stunning views and supberb accommodation.
The one bedroom apt was immaculate and as we chose to be beside the swimming pool we had no steps to negotiate.
It is an extemely quiet and peaceful residence and it was an absolute delight to stay there .

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Tynemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

This was my third holiday to this resort. We returned because it is such a beautiful spot and great place to have a relatively cheap holiday in the south of France - without camping!
The village is split into 3 sections and we stayed in the Bellevue district, which is basically a collection of self-catering appartments and a swimming pool. However the design (modelled on a provencal village) is terrific and and the appartments generally offer stunning views in addition to the 'mod cons' such as dishwasher, microwave, shower and loo! (unfortunately no air-conditioning though).
If it is important to you, it is worthwhile requesting a good sea view when booking as not all apartments are equally blessed.
'The steps' are the main difficulty - there are an awful lot of them and the Bellevue area is not suitable for anyone who can't handle them.
It takes 5 to 10 mins to drive to the sea front in Les Issambres where there are a number of beaches and plenty of seaside restauants. Shop around as prices vary widely!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clarecheetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

Our stay at the Maeva resort was one of the most overpriced and unpleasant on our entire holiday in France. The resort was difficult to find at the top of a winding road. The reception was hard to find (behind an electric gate.) There were no lifts or anyone willing to help with our bags. The room smelled like a dormitory. We had to make our own bed and the blanket was filthy. There was no kettle, only a percolator, but no coffee or milk supplied. The breakfast was overpriced, with hardly any variety. The coffee machines at breakfast didn't work properly. There was a daily €8 rental charge for towels, which we were annoyed at because we could have bought some towels for less. So we were unable to use the bathroom until then. There was no internet available to book alternative accommodation.
I cannot think of a positive thing to say about this so-called resort. During our two-night stay we avoided it as much as possible and only used it for sleeping.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank mononym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PV_Customer_Liason, PV Customer Liason Team at Pierre & Vacances Village Club Les Issambres, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2008

Dear mononym,

The team at PV-Holidays.com is looking into your experiences at PV-Holidays Residence Club Maeva Les Issambres, and is disappointed that your holiday/stay was not up to a standard that you felt happy with. We’d be happy to investigate thoroughly and reply to you personally. If you booked with us directly please could you email the specific details of your problem to laura.crickmore@surfpr.co.uk and include your booking reference and the dates of your stay. If you booked via a Tour Operator or Travel Agent then please contact them directly, as we have to include them in any correspondence.

Meanwhile we will respond here as soon as we can with our feedback.

With warm regards,

Customer liaison team
PV-Holidiays.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews