We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off-season during the TdF2013”
Review of Le Mont Thabor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Mont Thabor
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Off-season during the TdF2013”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

So my stay was not your usual ski adventure in this part of the world as we were touring with a party of 35 cyclists travelling around France. Gerard our host was very obliging, nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were well furnished and the bathroom was a little different with no shower recess, but a shower hose attached to the bath. You had to sit down and take a hand shower, however, apart from this accommodation was very good. Free wi-fi and the breakfast consisted of cereals, pastries, juices etc etc. Not a full breakfast but enought to fuel a team of cyclists. Whilst the hotel does not have a restaurant there are plenty right across the road or just a short walk, so choice is not an issue.

Room Tip: Go the first floor with a balcony and french doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaBeeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    27
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
33
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We went off season so only breakfast available. It is served in the foyer but with proper dining tables so didn't feel an issue.
Continental breakfast but better value than other hotels - unlimited bread, croissants and pain-au-chocolat. Fruit salad, cereals and cheese and meats also available as well as boiled eggs.
Nice room and clean with gowns, slippers and clean towels daily.
Lovely little spa area with sauna and Jacuzzi still open despite the hotel being quieter than ski season.
Free Wi-Fi in lobby area.
Nice location and the owner was extremely helpful and friendly. He spoke excellent English and assisted with restaurant recommendations and very quickly dealt with a slight problem with the toilet in our room.
Small car park available at the rear of the hotel - private.
Good security with swipe key access whenever he was not present in reception - always available on the phone if needed.
Enjoyed our stay for a couple of nights and would highly recommend the hotel and Le Refuge restaurant for dinner - just a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonGlobetrotter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel in Villeneuve (Serre Chevalier). Booked through Tadpole Holidays and no hesitation in recommending. Central location, very clean and fab breakfast set up. Made to feel very welcome and staff happy to assist if you have any problems. Only a few minutes walk to lift and plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NiaHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Serre-Chevalier 1400 is a bit of a mishmash of pretty, old hamlets and HLM-style apartment blocks, with no one "centre" as such. That's not to say that it doesn't have a nice unpretentious atmosphere, plus heaps of really lovely skiing.

The Mont-Thabor is in a very handy spot, a short walk (2 mins. at most) from the Aravet lift base (ski rental, lift pass office, ski school meeting point) and also just across the river from the rue de la Guisane in the old village of Villeneuve, where the bulk of the restaurants are to be found, plus a handful of nice bars. If you're arriving by car, take the "private parking" with a pinch of salt; what they really mean is that you can leave you car in the open public area nearby.

Although the hotel is on the main road through the resort, noise wasn't a problem. You have a handy back entrance from the first floor, giving you a quick walking route via pretty back lanes to the Aravet gondola and Mickey draglift (useful for gaining height and gliding over to Casse du Boeuf chairlift and Frejus gondola).

Arriving for a long weekend in low season, we were happy to be able to check in immediately at around 12 noon. The staff were very friendly and ready with advice, at least in French. There were no anglophone guests so no idea how multilingual they are.

Double room facing away from the road was very quite and well insulated and had a good view of the sun rising over the mountains in the morning. Huge and comfortable bed and plenty of storage, including a safe. A proper shower fitting in the bathroom might have been good.

Free access to the sauna, hammam and jacuzzi from 4-8pm. The sauna was very welcome and just the right temperature after a day of sub-zero temperatures on the slopes.

Plenty of choice at breakfast, including good fresh bread and pastries, all served in the open lobby area. This is the only part of the hotel where the free wifi is available, which seems a bit stingy.

Wanting to get out and explore a bit, we didn't try the restaurant out, although the menu sounded perfectly OK. No idea if the bar/club was working but it was a low-season week and the whole village was pretty quiet.

In conclusion, definitely worth staying here. In the real world, 150 euros a night for what you get here would seem a bit steep but ski resorts are not the real world and it's certainly a comfortable, convenient option.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We required accomodation for one night prior to booking into our accomodation for a weeks skiing holiday. We had dfifficulty securing accomodation for one night so were pleased to find space in this hotel. However ,the room was gloomy ,small and very yellow!. Breakfast was ample and very organised but felt like we were staying in a youth hostel. The hotel lacked any kind of atmosphere. It was also expensive at 175 euros per night. The impression from the hotel web site did not match our experience. Overall not at very pleasant experience and we felt it was a very expensive start to our holiday . I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a very enjoyable week in the Mont Thabor in Serre Chevalier. Contrary to a previous review we found all the staff very freindly and always willing to help with any questions. The hotel is very modern with very good standard of decor. Security is very good with swipe cards needed to get into the building after 8:00pm and to get into the lift at any time, so only guests and staff have access to the accomodation floors. There are also safes in the rooms which are not charged for. Meals are taken in the adjoining restaurant and the owner and waiter are always welcoming. We enjoyed the breakfasts, taken in the hotel lobby, which are a buffet sort of thing with plenty of choice. The hotel is advertised as having a bar/night club but this was never open during our stay. The hotel closes down by 8:00pm so may not be for anyone who wants a bit of a social scene in your accommodation. We hung out at the Le Grotte bar about 5 minutes walk away (happy hour 3-5 and when the snow is falling). The nearest lift is above the bar but you can walk fairly easily to others. All in all, a very pleasant place to stay in a very good ski area. Would go back again, but if going with the lads, would find somewhere livelier. Lovely place to take the wife/girlfreind though.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamgBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2009

We very much enjoyed our stay at Le Mont Thabor whilst skiing for a week booked through RocketSki.

Our room was of a good size, with a huge double bed, and plenty of wardrobe space. Heating was very effective and there was always plenty of hot water. There was a DVD player in our room, which would have been nice to use if we'd brought any DVD's with us!

We loved enjoying the steam room and sauna after a day's skiing, but found the jacuzzi a little disappointing (it could have been warmer).

At the hotel we had free use of a PC with Internet which was useful to check weather reports etc..

We were staying at Le Mont Thabor half board, and the food in the adjoining restaurant was fantastic, and something I looked forward to at the end of each day. Breakfast was served in the reception area of the hotel - mainly cereal, pastries, yoghurt, cold meat and cheese.

Whilst at least a 5 minute walk to the nearest ski lift, and about 10 to where the ESF hold ski school, this did not detract from our stay, and if we return to Serre Chevalier we would definately book this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Salle les Alpes
0.5 mi away
Le Grand Aigle Hotel
Le Grand Aigle Hotel
#2 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock Noir
Rock Noir
#1 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
288 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Club Les Alpes d'Azur
Club Les Alpes d'Azur
#1 of 5 in La Salle les Alpes
76 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence L'Adret
Residence L'Adret
#13 of 14 in Saint-Chaffrey
31 reviews
4.3 mi away
Suite-Home Briancon Serre Chevalier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mont Thabor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mont Thabor

Property: Le Mont Thabor
Address: 1 Chemin de l Envers, 05240 La Salle les Alpes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Hautes-Alpes > La Salle les Alpes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in La Salle les Alpes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Mont Thabor 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Le Mont Thabor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing