We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I little slice of history”

Chateau de Talmont-Saint-Hilaire
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I little slice of history”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A brilliant day out with the kids, good tour, cheap entry, good free or cheap entertainments.

Take water if going on a hot day very little shade there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trailer-tent-king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    186
    39
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Otley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent non beach day out”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

From stilt walking, crossbow firing, tour round the castle and dressing up to falconry. All excellently provided. Mum, Dad and a 13 and 9 yr old all had an excellent day. Strongly recommended for a beach alternative.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Reeveaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds, UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Day Out”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We recently visited this castle and had an excellent day out. Inexpensive to get in, even though the price was put up because of special events (€8 an adult I think it was). Paid €1 for our little boy to become a Knight and €1 each for us all to have a go at crossbows. Excellent fun and would have been £5 or £10 each in the UK! The special event the day we visited was Jousting, with a build up show in the morning and the main display in the afternoon. Our children loved it, as did the adults! The castle itself is good, although we had a 'guided tour' in English, but the young girl who conducted it did not have the voice suited to a guided tour in a busy environment, so we soon abandoned the tour.
Not sure about the recent comment about no eating in the castle. It is true there is nowhere to purchase food, but we were one of many families enjoying a picnic on the benches in place for the show.
Would visit again if in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rpotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“PROPER castle!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Excellent attraction, have visited everytime in area. Massive castle, serious history in every stone plus added bonus this year of falconry displays and have a go at cross bow shooting etc

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A great day out. Very inexpensive. Worth the extra euro for the crossbow shooting. Falconry display good even though my French isn't good enough to understand everything. No eating allowed inside the castle but plenty of space nearby and you are able to get readmitted once you have finished.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PB014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau de Talmont-Saint-Hilaire also viewed

Talmont Saint Hilaire, Vendee
Les Sables-d'Olonne, Vendee
 

Been to Chateau de Talmont-Saint-Hilaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing