We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location for shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mercedes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

La Copa Inn Mercedes has the best location if you plan shopping at Rio Grande Valley Outlets as it is only a few meters away (walking distance). It was built a few years ago and its still in good condition. Breakfast is ok. Price is a little high in my opinion, but acceptable. The downside of its location is that you only have 2 nearby choices for dinner Whataburger and Chilli's (between the motel and the outlets).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guilloguzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 61 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

We just stayed at the hotel, yes easy access to the mall but we were there to visit family. The room rate doubled for the weekend and we had two rooms. Neither had the "advertised" coffee maker, one room had no toilet tissue, Kleenex, or cups. The other room had little toilet tissue and Kleenex but no blow dryer. Both rooms had 1 wash cloth and two towels each. No water pressure in the shower. We asked for toilet tissue and towels and had to go get them. Party above us most of the night with lots of bouncing furniture or something. Beds were ok and grounds were clean for the most part. My 80 yr old mother almost fell in the bathtub due to it being very slippery. It is a given we will not be staying there ever again. We will drive further to a more reliable hotel.

Room Tip: Great if you don't mind noise, no toilet tissue and do expect to pay a whole lot more!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This motel have all you need if your purpose is shopping at the outlets and been in the middle of McAllen and Harlingen. Clean, quiet, complimentary breakfast ok. And you are just few steps away from the outlet , literally (2 min walk). You dont need to move your car from the motel parking lot and you have plenty of space there.
Best value.

Room Tip: make reservations online on their web site is cheaper, paying onsite is expensive and maight not hav...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drchuycruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hOoC-eqgSHk
We stayed here over the 4th of July in 2011. We were visiting family in Harlingen but picked this hotel because it looked nice and was in a good location. Walking distance to Whataburger, Chili's, and the Rio Grande Valley Premium Outlet Mall. The room was much larger than I was expecting with ceilings that were probably 10 ft high. The room was pretty deep too with room for a couch and a table. The wood furniture seemed a little dated and restained or painted but the mattress was new, pillowtop, and very comfortable. I like the way they set up the pillows standing up like baffels on the bed. I did an inspection of the bed seams (just something I do at every hotel) and there was NO evidence of any bugs. See video link above. The room had a small fridge and a microwave and a large LCD TV. The stairway to our room was a little dark and dirty but the room was clean. The breakfast area was basically cereal, a waffel maker, some muffins, and coffee/juice/milk. Nothing spectacular. There is a laundry room. We swam in the little pool which was clean but being next to the highway, there's some highway dust that blows into the pool at times. I thought this was a good value and I would stay here again next time we visit Harlingen. There is a La Copa Inn in Harlingen but it looks much older and you can tell it was a former EconoLodge. The La Copa Inn in Mercedes is an extra 15 min drive but it's worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2010

Almost new hotel, some of the furniture was older. Rooms were clean, but lacked coffee maker and clock radio/alarm..Access to the second floor is via two steel staircases in smelly smoky stair wells, and may cause difficulty to older patrons. Breakfast was Continental style, with bagels, toast, cereal and waffles, coffee and juice. But for $56 for the night - great value

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: las habitaciones frente a la alberca son las que tienen la mejor vista para vigilar a tus hijo
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank arfaxad7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Thank gom1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mercedes
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mercedes
4.2 mi away
Palm Aire Hotel & Suites
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Weslaco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAllen
18.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 12 in Pharr
72 reviews
11.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Donna
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 4701 E Expressway 83, Mercedes, TX 78570 (Formerly La Copa Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Mercedes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mercedes
Price Range: $59 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing