We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveler rating
25
56
34
10
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
25
56
34
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews centre of town a bit tired free wifi easy parking bread bar and restaurant timer code
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 137 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2018

The location of this hotel is excellent, right in the centre of town, although it was rather noisy the night we stayed as we hadn't realised there would be a music festival going on in town. The room was comfortable, although there was almost nowhere to put things, in the room or in the bathroom. A small shower, but everything working OK.

Breakfast was good - the usual basic French stuff, but nice orange juice and coffee and lovely bread, butter & jam, as well as a croissant if you wanted it. Staff very friendly and chatty making it an overall pleasant experience.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frangins, Propriétaire at Hotel les Frangins, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2018

Thanks for your review.
Best regards
Les Frangins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2018

We’ve stayed here a few times over the past few years and it has improved hugely since we first came. We kept coming back as it’s very central and close to the lovely market place, shops and restaurants in St Omer. It’s also very friendly, with free WiFi and easy parking just across the road. At first the rooms were a bit tired but we are so pleased we stuck with it as it has undergone a lot of refurbishment. The room we stayed in this last time was tastefully newly decorated, very clean, with lovely crisp bedding and good showers. It’s very secure with coded access to reception, if arriving late the friendly owner texts the code and leaves the key to your room inside, along with two free WiFi codes (very thoughtful). The hotel is attached to the bar next door where meals can be served - the menu looks good but we’ve not eaten there as we’re still working our way through the fabulous local restaurants in town. This is a lovely convenient hotel, great value and in a beautiful ancient town.

Room tip: All rooms overlook quaint streets.
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Tonia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frangins, Propriétaire at Hotel les Frangins, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2018

thanks for you review
Best regards
Les Frangins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2017

A small friendly hotel in a central location. Friendly helpful staff and an excellent breakfast. A basic room which was clean and comfortable . Parking can be a problem, make sure you have change for the ticket machine.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frangins, Propriétaire at Hotel les Frangins, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

Good Morning,

Thanks for your review
Best regards
Les Frangins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2017

There are some good points to make. The hotel is centrally located. Our room had a balcony looking onto one of the two main squares. It's only a very short walk to the larger square and the cafes, restaurants and shops. The room was clean enough, the bed was really comfy and the staff were both friendly and helpful. Also, St Omer is a fascinating old town with lots of history. Finally, whilst on the positives, the cost was approx. only 60 euro per night.

On the other hand. The hotel décor was tired and our room was dark. The shower didn't have a wall fitting so you ether had to shower one-handed, have a helper or take a bath, There wasn't a mirror in the room (other than the bathroom) and the extractor fan didn't seem to work.

Not the hotel's fault I know, but it got pretty noisy outside 'till late and again very early in the morning when the bin-men turned up.

At 8 euro each, we decided to skip breakfast and popped across the road to the welcoming/friendly café opposite - saints I think it was called.

Parking isn't easy. You have to be lucky to find a place near the hotel and then you have to feed the meter twice each day. From 9am to 12 and then 2pm to 6pm. Not a fortune (circa 4 euro a day) but a faff.

On balance probably not a returner, but lots of positives.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bigskies2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frangins, Propriétaire at Hotel les Frangins, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Thanks for your review
In 2018-2019 new shower in bathroom
Best regards
Les Frangins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2017

We had an excellent stay at this hotel for a long weekend. The room was fine, as was the breakfast. Service was friendly and welcoming. Close to the centre of town, within easy reach of plenty of cafes, bars and restaurants. We were part of a classic car tour and we parked our gem safely and conveniently in the quiet public car park across the road, although secure garage parking is available at a small extra cost.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ianT9757XO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frangins, Gérant at Hotel les Frangins, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Thanks for you review
Les Frangins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews