We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best”
Review of La Sapiniere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Sapiniere
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Omer
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Have known La Sapiniere for many years, seeing how it has grown and developed over time.
Always a warm and friendly welcome with comforable well fitted rooms and excellent restaurant.
I find it difficult to understand the comments by other UK residents who seem to downgrade a French hotel for serving a continental breakfast, or not providing tea/coffee facilities in a bedroom, when this is not the norm in French hotels. Much of the menu reflects the food of the region, which to me is the sign of a good hotel, as I believe the chef know exactly how to prepare the local specialities.
Traveling from Brittany to Zeebrugge, this is a perfect place to break the journey, leaving an easy run to the ferry port the next day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    72
    28
    15
    6
See reviews for
31
80
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

All has been said about the beautiful location, the comfortable rooms and the superb food. I would like to add that when the patron saw that I had mobility issues, without fuss he found a ground floor chalet room closest to the main building dining room. The food was, indeed, excellent, a baked garlic and breadcrumbed langoustine dish being a highlight, and the dining was further enhanced by an excellent wine list, several in half bottles; the 2006 St Estephe was pure nectar. Although the hotel is handy to the French ports, I will regard it as a destination hotel and worth an extra day or two in the coastal area.

Room Tip: With chalet rooms you can park your car directly in front of your accommodation for easy unloading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeePascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
417 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We decided on a good meal and overnight stay before catching the ferry back home and were pleased we did.
There is a lovely dining room attached to this hotel with sweeping views as others have commented on which makes for a pleasant dining experience. The food was good and the portions generous and we would maybe use it again for a lunch stop during a day-trip to France.
Our bench-mark for restaurants in this area is le Cygne and compared to that it didn't have the flair that le Cygne has although the portions are larger.

Our room was in the original hotel and whilst being clean and comfortable, felt a little tired and old fashioned.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Four of us just spent a night at La Sapiniere to celebrate a friend's 60th. We were not disappointed. Our rooms were in the main hotel and were spacious, clean and quiet. Our welcome was good especially from the owners' small dog Gibb. The bar was well stocked and it was pleasant to sit with an aperitif before dinner with other guests. The dinner was absolutely lovely. Our starters were lobster, St Jacques and escargot, mains streak, lamb and salmon. It was quite expensive but about average for a French restaurant of this standard and well worth it. Would definitely recommend and stay again. Only about 30 minutes from the Tunnel and set in lovely groundsl.

Room Tip: We had room No 2 which had a beautiful view and a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charroux, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last night, my wife had stayed some time before and said it was good but had not eaten there. They offer a special gourmande menu with b and b and sowe decided to book up for that. It is quite expensive. It is not special though, basically you can have what ever you want off the menu but it is nothing special it is just what is always available and it actually works out more expensive than booking the room and then having the meal.

We both had lobster for starter, it was OK the sauce was good but the lobster was barely out of nappies....OK it was a starter but even so it was very small. Mains were a fish stew for my wife it did have scallops in it but was not so special I had lamb chops ...well cooked but not gourmande. both dishes came with virtually the same veg. These were quite good but I always think it is a mark of poor quality if the same veg accompany every dish. It does not happen in the best restaurants. Third course was either cheese (a good selection but not at their peak, my Blue D'Auvergene was very dry) or you could have a slection of deserts, but these were just the deserts that were available to any other dinner, and nothing inspired. So it was not special it simply meant you could choose the most expensive stuff on the menu but you were paying over the odds for it anyway.

Having said that the room was very good and the setting was good breakfast was fine and the owners were pleasant, the waitresses were inexperienced. I might go again but there are plenty of other places around. Had we not gone for the 'special' gourmande menu which was not special I might have been tempted back but after being taken advantage off then probably NO

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoitouCharentesphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

La Sapiniere truly lived up to all my expectations of a Logis hotel.

The Hotel was located in an an old and very grand manor set in beautiful gardens with long views over ground that sloped gently away toward the East. The accommodation was in wooden chalets and was a good size. There was a double bed and a single bed in each of our rooms and the bathroom was well equipped while there was a separate toilet. There was nothing grand about the accommodation but it was very comfortable and adequate for all our needs.

The hotel bar was very well stocked, very welcoming and an opportunity to look at a very varied menu. The food was outstanding. We had been in Lyon for four or five days, sampling the best food that the city could offer but La Sapiniere was the best food we had the privilege to eat while in France. Logis at its' best.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet I should think, although the abbey next door will ring its' bells pretty ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Have used La Sapiniere for the best part of 30 years as a First Night or Last Night stop- over en route for holidays.

Decided to have an longer stay this year. Have not been disappointed.

The hotel was extended a few years ago and the dining room is now a large Victorian veranda offering a superb view of St Omer.

The high point of a stay here has to be the food. We stayed Demi-Pension so our menu was restricted to the "basic" one. However, each evening we were offered an alternative choice of starter and main course other than those published in the Menu. The meals are of extremely high quality and, accompanied by a wine from the range on offer, one is guaranteed a touch of gastronomy.

Breakfasts offer a range of choices including cereals, limited charcuterie, "boil your own eggs" and the usual items expected in a Continental Breakfast.

Most of the accommodation is in two storey chalets. These are comfortable although ready for a make-over. Also, ground floor rooms can be a bit noisy if the first floor room is occupied and the guests are 'mooching about.'

The hotel can be quite busy at times and we had a coach load of French tourists visiting for part of our stay. Despite this busyness, there's a tranquil atmosphere here and we have had a really restful time.

Don't be put off by some of the negative comments - well worth staying at La Sapiniere.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank canals56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Omer
3.0 mi away
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
#1 of 12 in Saint-Omer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Saint Omer Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel les Frangins
Hotel les Frangins
#5 of 12 in Saint-Omer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
3.6 mi away
Le Bretagne
Le Bretagne
#9 of 12 in Saint-Omer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
10.2 mi away
Le Manoir Bonningues-les-Ardres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sapiniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sapiniere

Property: La Sapiniere
Address: 12 Route de Setques, 62219 Saint-Omer, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Saint-Omer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Omer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Sapiniere 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In their establishment located in a timbered park, with panoramic sight on Saint-Omer, Mr. And Mrs Delbeke will make you taste a traditional and refined kitchen made with regional products. Located in the village of Wisques near the Benedictine abbey Saint-Paul, partly work of Dom Bellot "the poet of brick" and the Abbey of Moniales (Notre Dame). The hotel is set in a green park of two hectares. Most rooms are located in small cottages. The hotel features a traditional restaurant with 3 Cocottes Logis de France, which allows you to enjoy panoramic views of Saint-Omer and the mountains of Flandre. During your stay at the hotel, you can enjoy free Wi-Fi and private parking. The hotel is located only 6 kilometers from Saint-Omer, and is close to the motorway exit Calais-Reims. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your La Sapiniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sapiniere Saint Omer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing