We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly owner”
Review of La Sapiniere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Sapiniere
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Omer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

A quiet country location with views over the surrounding areas. Chalet room quite large and functional, clean and bright. Spacious car park. Restaurant meals typical French cuisine and tasty but could have been served hotter. V good breakfast with plenty of choice. Lady of the house and waiting staff friendly and helpful. Gentleman owner/chef miserable and unfriendly - perhaps needs reminding that without us paying customers his business would not exist. No need for this attitude and would not return because of this which is a shame.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 190 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our 3rd stay at this hotel which is conveniently situated near to the channel ports but far away enough to feel French. The staff are very helpful and the service good. We were part of a party of 8 but this did not mean we had any different treatment to others staying there. The chalet rooms are beginning to look a little tired but everything worked including the heating which was just as well as it was a very cold week when we were there! The hotel is in a very small village so a car is essential, nearest town is St Omer about 10 mins away . Plenty of other places to visit nearby.

Room Tip: Try an upstairs room in a chalet , slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

After a 4 hour drive up from Dijon, through Paris (which was a pleasant experience, just follow the signs for Lille!!) this is just what we needed. As you come off the peage, stay right, go up to the roundabout, take 1st right (which looks wrong but is in fact the right road), go to the end of this road, turn left at T-junction and drive into Wisques, the hotel is the last building on the left. The town of St Omer is a further 5 minutes on and is well worth a visit, lovely shops, cafes, buildings etc. Accomodation here is either in the hotel or in a chalet. We stayed in a chalet (No 15) as we had a dog and this suited us perfectly. The chalet is quite large with a large bed and lovely shower, though no tea making facilities. We decided to have an evening meal as previous reviews had recommended and we were not let down, the food was fantastic. We decided to have the 3 courses for 23.50 euros. I have eaten in some serious establishments in my time, and this was one of the best, food was excellent and the restaurant was almost full, so it has a good reputation. There is a small field out the back to exercise the dog which is handy and car parking is safe as it is only a small village. Thoroughly recommend staying here, a wonderful and relaxing way to finish our drive up from Spain, and its only 30 minutes from Calais.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank broughmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here over night whilst just travelling round the area. Exceptional evening meal, rooms nothing to write home about but we had no complaints. Definately stay there again as the location was nice and quiet and only few mins drive away from St Omer town centre

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

It's a while since we last stayed, and the place has improved greatly.

The entrance, bar and restaurant have all been smartened up and look much more impressive. the rooms, in our case in the chalets in the grounds were clean, comfortable and reasonably spacious. The one drawback is that the guests in the room above rose early and stomped about for an hour. Tip - stay in upper room!

The restaurant is slightly pretentious but the food is good if fairly simple. The prices are not cheap but the service was good and helpful.

I'd happily go back again.

Room Tip: If in a chalet pick an upper to avoid being woken by elephants above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SinBosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

3 nights at La Sapiniere were totally enjoyed by our small party. Mum - with mobility problems - was allocated a perfect room. Food was great and good value. The location works very well with easy access to the autoroute and also for the many local attractions. Mr and Mrs Delbeke (owners) gave us a warm welcome and were attentive at all times. If you make a reservation, make certain that you confirm more than once and take proof - La Sapiniere's booking system creaks at times!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andycox52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We visited for a weekend in March. The owners and all the staff were really friendly and made us (and our dog!) feel very welcome. The hotel is in a quiet setting with lovely countryside views. Our room in the main building was clean & nicely furnished and we found it really comfortable and well equipped with plenty of towels, tolietries, hairdryer etc. Dinner in the charming conservatory restaurant was a real gourmet experience and we loved the choice of fresh seafood and other local produce accompanied with some excellent wine and followed by a generous cheese trolley. Breakfast was a self service buffet although had plenty of choice with ham, cheese and boiled eggs as well as the usual bread, cereals, fruit & yoghurts. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triciathetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Omer
3.6 mi away
Le Bretagne
Le Bretagne
#11 of 12 in Saint-Omer
177 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
#1 of 12 in Saint-Omer
748 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Le Manoir Bonningues-les-Ardres
4.6 mi away
Le Moulin de Mombreux
Le Moulin de Mombreux
#2 of 2 in Lumbres
219 reviews
9.6 mi away
Le Chateau de Cocove
Le Chateau de Cocove
#1 of 1 in Recques-sur-Hem
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sapiniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sapiniere

Address: 12 Route de Setques, 62219 Saint-Omer, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Saint-Omer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Omer
Price Range: $108 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Sapiniere 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In their establishment located in a timbered park, with panoramic sight on Saint-Omer, Mr. And Mrs Delbeke will make you taste a traditional and refined kitchen made with regional products. Located in the village of Wisques near the Benedictine abbey Saint-Paul, partly work of Dom Bellot "the poet of brick" and the Abbey of Moniales (Notre Dame). The hotel is set in a green park of two hectares. Most rooms are located in small cottages. The hotel features a traditional restaurant with 3 Cocottes Logis de France, which allows you to enjoy panoramic views of Saint-Omer and the mountains of Flandre. During your stay at the hotel, you can enjoy free Wi-Fi and private parking. The hotel is located only 6 kilometers from Saint-Omer, and is close to the motorway exit Calais-Reims. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Sapiniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sapiniere Saint Omer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing