We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad for short stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Bretagne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Bretagne
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Omer
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not bad for short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed for one night whilst stopping in St Omer. The hotel itself is a fairly dated building, but was clean and tidy. The rooms were a decent size and the beds were comfy. All the staff were very polite and helpful, and the breakfast buffet had plenty of choice. We didn't stay for dinner but the menu looked good.

Down points were it was a good 20 min walk from where most of the restaurants and shops are, but we found a nice place to eat called the Rialto which was about 5 mins walk. The building is in need of some modernising but not terrible. It's definitely a three star hotel, or at least a very high 2 star. Would happily stay again, only downside for us was it was just a bit too far from the main part of town. Fine for me and my wife, but not so good for our older relative who isn't as mobile.

Pleasant stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    58
    46
    19
    18
See reviews for
23
70
1
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Two night stay whilst on a short break. Good location if you don't mind the 10 minute walk into town. Free parking included and excellent wifi throughout the hotel which was needed by me. Refurbished rooms - ours was a good size and the bathroom was large. Down side? France beds are too small and why do they insist on blankets rather than duvets! €10 for breakfast was a little too high for my liking but the choice was good. Would stay again when in the area.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Janew662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The room we had booked was premium and our friend in the next room had standard, though it was inexpensive deal. Despite being a large hotel with no evidence of a lot of visitors, we had attic rooms far distant from lift, you had to be a miget to stand in more than one third of the room. The difference was our room had a window, our friend had a skylight only! The bedspread was extremely tired and bobbly. No idea if better rooms were available but only one or two other tables occupied at breakfast. Ask to see your room and then ask if there is anything larger if you get what we had! I could see from the fire escape plan ours were smallest floor area... And we had eaves sloping nearly to the floor. Still it was quiet so could sleep and it was only 2 nights. The bar was pleasant and the restaurant gave an average meal... Second night we found a gorgeous restaurant not to far distant that was far better. Felt like a stop for commercial travellers of a bygone age.

Room Tip: If you get a tiny room in the attic after booking online, ask for a different room, wish I had done!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vernonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed here one night when passing through whilst cycling and they were able to accomodate our bikes as well.

Staff were friendly amd it had a decent buffet breakfast - boiled eggs, bread, pastries, fruit etc, although you do have to pay extra for it. The reason for the average rating was that our room was looking a little tired and old although it was all perfectly clean.

In terms of location it is about a ten minute walk up to the main square of St Omer and easy to find when entering the town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Cubs_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Good location,on site free parking, easy to find and very close to town centre. Reasonable value. Clean and functional. Motorcycle friendly - now used this hotel twice for the start of our European bike tours. Only gripe is breakfast could be included in the room price but this seems to be the French custom.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We took a short break via the tunnel to visit La Capole near St Omer, site and exhibition centre of the V1/2 rockets during WW2. To achieve that we stayed two nights at Le Bretagne hotel - part of the Inter Hotel group. It is situated about half a mile from the main square of the town and to my relief sported it's own free car parking area immediately outside the hotel.
It is nicely furnished and appointed with a rather impersonal bar but charming and good restaurant. We arrived on a Sunday to find the restaurant closed on a Sunday! However, when open on the Monday it was very good.
Our room, via lift, was clean and well appointed and was in the tradition of a mid range French hotel. Good bathroom with shower.
A mixed quality of reception staff from very helpful to quite off hand. For example on the Sunday evening we asked where the restaurant was (this was about 7pm) and she pointed to the room. We stood there searching for sign of life before another guest informed us that it was closed on Sunday - got the picture?
Notwithstanding this we had two pleasant nights and two good breakfasts.

Room Tip: The lift serves all areas so no issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul22118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Leonards on sea
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Reasonably priced when pre booked. Very pleasant appearance on arrival. Helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable beds and functional rooms. Separate toilet and bathroom which is a great idea. Breakfast is the usual standard of a french continental style. All in all, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Omer
0.5 mi away
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
#1 of 12 in Saint-Omer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Saint Omer Centre
3.5 mi away
La Sapiniere
La Sapiniere
#3 of 12 in Saint-Omer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel les Frangins
Hotel les Frangins
#5 of 12 in Saint-Omer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
11.1 mi away
Le Manoir Bonningues-les-Ardres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bretagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bretagne

Property: Le Bretagne
Address: 2 Place du Vainquai | Place Du Vainquai, 62500 Saint-Omer, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Saint-Omer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Omer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bretagne 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Bretagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bretagne Hotel Saint-Omer
Le Bretagne Saint Omer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing