We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends what you expect.”
Review of La Coupole

La Coupole
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Saint-Omer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A secret base at the heart of Second World Wae history...A real underground town, constructed in 1943 and 1944 by the German army to go ahead with the launch V2 rockets on London, La Coupole is an exceptional site on which the destiny of Europe could have been played out...Today, it is an astonishing museum, a centre to gain an understanding of the historical and scientific stakes at play during the Second World War, from Occupation to the hidden face of space conquest. New! La Coupole now houses a revolutionary 3D planetarium. Sit insite the massive 360° room wearing your active 3D glasses and travel thtough the universe...
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Depends what you expect.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We visited La Coupole thinking it would be a museum dedicated to the prisoners who built it and the history of the V1 and V2 rockets. Instead we discovered it was a museum to World War II, focussing heavily on the treatment of Jews. Nothing wrong with this at all...not at all, but not what we had expected and though we came away informed we were also very saddened by what we had read and seen, what we felt a little unprepared for.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Trenchesfollower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    325
    65
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit.”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Once you get over the staggering size of the place and the incredible amount of materials and human labour that went into building it, it provides a good, and for me surprising, amount of facts regarding the numbers of V1/V2 fired and planned for the future. Hitler really had it in for the Brits!.

However, as informative and well presented as the exhibits are, I found the whole thing a little too manicured. I think the building should have been left in it's original condition with the museum built elsewhere.

The Blockhaus at Eperlecques has a much more realistic feeling.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank EssexSwallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing WW2 Site”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Although you probably know of the V2 abd V1 rockets this place opens your eyes to the cruelty the Germans used to build these places.
An amazing insight into the technology of the time and how well hidden it was

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank imar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caddington
Level Contributor
490 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Opens up some interesting historical facts”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A great value place to visit but to get the most out of it you need to allow at least 2.5 hours or more. Some amazing historical facts about the German V1 and V2 attacks on Britain coupled with some heart breaking stories of the occupation in the Par de Calais and the adjoining areas of France and Belgium.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east anglia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting Visit”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I liked the films best, there was rather a lot to read, but the films brought everything to life and made me aware of thing about WWII which I must have know, but did not fully realise.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank oldroydonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Coupole also viewed

Saint-Omer, Pas-de-Calais
Saint-Omer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Eperlecques, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to La Coupole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing