We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint-Omer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Omer
Certificate of Excellence
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I booked this on the strength of other reviews on Trip Advisor and wasn't disappointed. As a previous reviewer has mentioned, it's important not to be put off by the somewhat unattractive exterior of the property. It's what's inside that counts. I booked an apartment with two double rooms for my wife and I and my brother and sister-in-law. We were warmly greeted by Véronique who gave us all a complimentary drink on our arrival which was very welcome after our long journey. Véronique also provided us with a map of the town and was very helpful in giving us advice on choosing a restaurant for dinner. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable and quiet, both overlooking the garden area. We had a superb night's sleep. There are also tea & coffee making facilities in the rooms which was a bonus.

Breakfast was every bit as good as previous reviewers have said. Home made jams and yogurt and white chocolate and rhubarb cake alongside bread and croissants fresh from the bakery. Wonderful.

It's clear that Véronique and Bruno are keen to ensure their guests enjoy the stay and it shows.

The B&B is located by the canal and is in a quiet area of town. There's not much in the way of restaurants in the area (a new brasserie had just opened next door the night we stayed but we didn't try it opting instead for a restaurant that Véronique had recommended.) However, the B&B is only around 15 minutes stroll from the town centre directly up the Rue de Dunkerque.

They do have a small car park available for 3 euros a night - but the limited roof height meant that my car with a roof-box fitted could not use it. Having said that, there's free parking literally across the road by the canal where it seems quite safe to park overnight. We had no problems

I would certainly stay here again when next visiting St. Omer

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fastflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    18
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
93
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berkswell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I took the advice of the reviews on here before we booked our over night stay.
There is not a lot i can add to what has already been said, honestly, just read down the reviews.
Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale deserves to be at number 1 with 5*
The place is full of charm and character. Veronique greeted us warmly and no sooner had we arrived two welcome drinks were in front of us.
Parking is free as has been mentioned just across the road, wifi is also free.
Everywhere is spotless,clean & tidy.
We shall be visiting again thats for sure. oh, and you have to try the white chocolate yogurt along with the Rhubarb & White chocolate cake.

Book your stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mc-and-cj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were greeted with great cordiality by Mme Hautefeuille, who also offered two thirsty travellers a welcome beer. It's a grand old house but with modern, updated bathroom facilities, situated right on the canal & close to shops & restaurants. Excellent breakfast, home-made yogurt the pièce de résistance. A fine stopover, & we are returning in September.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elbasilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were greeted warmly by Veronique after a long drive from the north of England. She offered us refreshments in the conservatory overlooking the lovely garden and gave us information about the area and restaurants within easy walking distance. Parking is free across the road next to the canal. The bedroom was spacious and overlooked the canal as we had requested on booking. Tea and coffee making facilities were available. The private bathroom was down a few steps from the bedroom with a power shower and toiletries. The bed was large, comfortable with beautiful bed linen.The breakfast was plentiful and delicious consisting of bread, croissants, preserves and yoghurt and plentiful fresh tea or coffee. After breakfast, we spent time in the sun filled garden playing with super friendly 'Grey Face', Veronique and Bruno`s cat. This was a highlight for my partner! Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Veronique made us feel very welcome even though we were staying for just one night. We will definitely return to spend longer in St Omer at Cap et Marais d` Opale.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the canal but may be noisy from the road. Back rooms overlook the beautiful gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stopped overnight on our way through France. Warm welcome on arrival and offered refreshments, which were very much appreciated. Lovely home, nice room - and pleasant surpirse to find a kettle in it. Excellent breakfast set us up for the next stage of our tour.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank WheelieSlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The pleasure that our friends and we, and our daughters, took in this wonderful establishment cannot be overstated.
The rooms in this house, which was formerly a linen merchant's, have good views, overlooking either the canal or the garden.
The beds are comfortable, the showers are powerful, and the rooms are clean and appointed with zest and grace.
But the quality of the welcome here is about more than the furnishings, decor -- and delicious breakfasts.
It is better represented by the help that the Veronique and Bruno, the owners, gave us: welcoming us on our late arrival; recommending a place to hire bikes; recommending and booking a good restaurant; contacting us when we got home about a sweatshirt one of the kids left behind.
All this came for a very reasonable price: we paid, I think, 60 euros per room, per night.
We wanted a relaxing weekend within easy reach of Calais, and we found it, staying here, cycling through the woods and along the canal, and swimming at Wissant the next day.
St Omer itself is a handsome town, with a long mercantile history. It appeared to have a thriving Saturday market in the big town square, where we also sat later on, having a beer and watching the world.
I thoroughly recommend Chambres d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale, and would love to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexharri_se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
126 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

A 2 night visit to St-Omer was enhanced with our stay at this Chambres d'Hotel conveniently situated opposite the railway station and about a 10 minute walk from the town centre. The room we had was a twin over looking the rear garden and was comfortable and quiet; the en-suite had a very good drenching shower and the beds medium firm with duvets and good pillows, overall the room was spacious and nicely decorated with plain wooden floors. Breakfast was typically french with lots of well made coffee and tea plus home made yoghurt and jams. Parking opposite was excellent. Would we stay here again, a resounding yes especially since our dog was also welcomed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherryplumUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Omer
0.6 mi away
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
#1 of 12 in Saint-Omer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Sapiniere
La Sapiniere
#4 of 12 in Saint-Omer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Saint Omer Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Bretagne
Le Bretagne
#9 of 12 in Saint-Omer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel les Frangins
Hotel les Frangins
#5 of 12 in Saint-Omer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale

Property: Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale
Address: 11 quai du Commerce, 62500 Saint-Omer, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Saint-Omer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Omer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing